$77 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 20, 2015 Check-out: Feb 21, 2015

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
105 reviews
Great location

The hotel is located downtown MSP. the hotel is very clean. the staff are friendly. the only thing... See full review

  • Abdul E.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Great location

The hotel is located downtown MSP. the hotel is very clean. the staff are friendly. the only thing... See full review

  • Abdul E.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Beautiful outdoor courtyard and prime downtown connection

Offering superb service and unrivaled amenities, the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is a top choice for business and leisure guests. The hotel's prime location is within blocks of city treasures like the Walker Art Center, Nicollet Mall and the Guthrie Theatre. The AAA Three Diamond rated hotel scores especially high with business travelers for its ample event space and top-notch Business Center. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, then unwind at the on-site Cafe Northstar fireplace lounge.

Highlights

  • Walking walking distance to area restaurants, entertainment and shopping
  • Connected on the seventh floor to the climate-controlled Skyway
  • Picturesque outdoor Skygarden open during Spring, Summer and Fall


Rooms

The Crowne Plaza's 222 luxurious guest rooms are dressed in a maple tones with sophisticated touches and plush beds. Rooms include high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply), ample work desk and flat-screen TV. The pretty marble bathrooms include a multi-feature shower head, Renew Botanicals bath amenities and vanity mirror. Executive Club Level rooms at the downtown Crowne Plaza Minneapolis include exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.

Features

The contemporary fitness center offers state-of-the-art facilities with aerobic and anaerobic exercise equipment, resistance training machines and free weights.Reward a workout or start an adventurous day at the on-site Cafe Northstar. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Cafe Northstar offers casual dining and a cozy fireside eating area and bar. Located on the seventh floor, the restaurant is also connected to the Minneapolis Skyway. Or visit the Krona Bar and Grill for savory American Mediterranean cuisine and be sure to check out the bountiful wine list. The Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is within 2.5 blocks of two Light Rail stations, which can take visitors to virtually anywhere in the Twin Cities, including the Mall of America and MSP Airport.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (13.1 mi /21 km)

Attractions

  • Nicollet Mall (0.5 mi /0.8 km)
  • Target Center (0.5 mi /0.75 km)
  • Metrodome (0.9 mi /1.5 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Orchestra Hall (1 mi /1.7 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (1.1 mi /1.8 km)
  • Stone Arch Bridge and St. Anthony Falls (1.9 mi /3 km)
  • Mall of America (10.8 mi /17.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (11.1 mi /17.9 km)

Business

  • 12 conference rooms
  • Business Center features two computer workstations and printing capabilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

Cafe Northstar
Located on the 7th FLoor with a full menu available for Breakfast and Lunch Daily . Casual restaurant modeled in the style of a contemporary European Scandinavian restaurant.
Krona Bar and Grill
Located on lobby level with afFull lunch and dinner menu available 7 days a week from 11am to Midnight featuring contemporary American Cuisine
Krona Lounge
Choose among a connoisseur's collection of spirits, a complete wine bar and more than 30 ales & beers in our Krona Lounge. Relax in the comfort of the newly appointed living room-style seating before a fireplace and enjoy the vibrant street scene as you s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2010

Crowne Plaza

Super friendly staff. I was able to extend check-out so I could receive a phone interview in my room. Very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sak's Outlet Shop!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
May 25, 2010

Comfortable Business Trip

Hotel was comfortable; Minneapolis is a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bismarck, ND
May 24, 2010

Great Value

Great location if you're looking for a place to stay near Target Field - if you don't mind a 5-10 minute walk. The Crowne also has lots of bar and restaurant options nearby. The hotel itself and our rooms were very clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Jim the bartender is one the more entertaining people you'll ever meet! I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
May 23, 2010

May 22, 2010

We used this hotel as a meeting spot for a night out with friends. Great location to attractions in downtown Minneapolis. Great value compared to the quality of the hotel and proximity to nightlife activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many bars, restaurants, and other activities within a 5-10 block area that easy to navigate on foot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ocasional Minnisotan
Business
Greater Philadelphia, PA
May 23, 2010

Crowne Plaza Northstar a Disappointment

This was my third stay and will be my last. Elevators require room keys which are incredibly easily demagnetized. [...] includes breakfast, but on Saturday staff was totally overwhelmed and couldn't handle demand. Had to eat elsewhere, although desk offered to refund money for voucher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just south of the Nicolette Mall, which has wonderful outdoor dining starting just two to three blocks north. Also walking distance from Target Field.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
May 7, 2010

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Enjoyed our stay, room didn't get cleaned by 4 when we returned to our rooms for the night. Cleaned up for dinner went out and still no house keeping came. Other than that it was a pleasant trip and room, 3 1/2 star I've stayed at 5 star Hotels. Would come back though. Came to see Daughter graduate from College from Southern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Masa was a foody's heaven for the pallet. couldn't get enough of their amazing flavors. 5 star Chef there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SA TX
Apr 22, 2010

Crowne Plaza, Mpls DWTN

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is near the new public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimiG
Business
Westland, MI
Apr 16, 2010

Great hotel, terrible internet service

The hotel was fine and the staff friendly and accommodating. The internet service was terrible, you have to pay Eco-stream $9.95 per day their billing worked flawlessly but I spent 3 calls and over 90 minutes on the phone with their tech support, missed my deadline for entering orders and still had no service or credit issued. I stayed on Executive Floor, was awakened at 2:45 AM by a drunk woman pounding on doors and yelling in the hall. None of these things were the fault of the local staff who were very friendly. I would probably stay here again except for the terrible internet service,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
turned 21
Business
Coon Rapids MN
Apr 11, 2010

awesome birthday celebration

had out of town guests come in to town for the roller derby at the convention center.. it was a beautiful room; clean and very spaceous!! recommend highly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Ed
Business
New Jersey
Apr 9, 2010

Very Nice

Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top