$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
98 reviews
was Good

Great price for the location. Staff was friendly and rooms were comfy. Building is connected to the... See full review

  • Rybrrrrrrr
  • Aug 31, 2014
Great!!

Perfect location and great confort. Unfortunatelly breakfast and internet are not incuded. See full review

  • lucazalu
  • Oct 14, 2013
Beautiful outdoor courtyard and prime downtown connection

Offering superb service and unrivaled amenities, the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is a top choice for business and leisure guests. The hotel's prime location is within blocks of city treasures like the Walker Art Center, Nicollet Mall and the Guthrie Theatre. The AAA Three Diamond rated hotel scores especially high with business travelers for its ample event space and top-notch Business Center. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, then unwind at the on-site Cafe Northstar fireplace lounge.

Highlights

  • Walking walking distance to area restaurants, entertainment and shopping
  • Connected on the seventh floor to the climate-controlled Skyway
  • Picturesque outdoor Skygarden open during Spring, Summer and Fall


Rooms

The Crowne Plaza's 222 luxurious guest rooms are dressed in a maple tones with sophisticated touches and plush beds. Rooms include high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply), ample work desk and flat-screen TV. The pretty marble bathrooms include a multi-feature shower head, Renew Botanicals bath amenities and vanity mirror. Executive Club Level rooms at the downtown Crowne Plaza Minneapolis include exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.

Features

The contemporary fitness center offers state-of-the-art facilities with aerobic and anaerobic exercise equipment, resistance training machines and free weights.Reward a workout or start an adventurous day at the on-site Cafe Northstar. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Cafe Northstar offers casual dining and a cozy fireside eating area and bar. Located on the seventh floor, the restaurant is also connected to the Minneapolis Skyway. Or visit the Krona Bar and Grill for savory American Mediterranean cuisine and be sure to check out the bountiful wine list. The Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is within 2.5 blocks of two Light Rail stations, which can take visitors to virtually anywhere in the Twin Cities, including the Mall of America and MSP Airport.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (13.1 mi /21 km)

Attractions

  • Nicollet Mall (0.5 mi /0.8 km)
  • Target Center (0.5 mi /0.75 km)
  • Metrodome (0.9 mi /1.5 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Orchestra Hall (1 mi /1.7 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (1.1 mi /1.8 km)
  • Stone Arch Bridge and St. Anthony Falls (1.9 mi /3 km)
  • Mall of America (10.8 mi /17.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (11.1 mi /17.9 km)

Business

  • 12 conference rooms
  • Business Center features two computer workstations and printing capabilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

Cafe Northstar
Casual restaurant modeled in the style of a contemporary European Scandinavian restaurant.
Krona Lounge
Choose among a connoisseur's collection of spirits, a complete wine bar and more than 30 ales & beers in our Krona Lounge. Relax in the comfort of the newly appointed living room-style seating before a fireplace and enjoy the vibrant street scene as you s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
May 7, 2010

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Enjoyed our stay, room didn't get cleaned by 4 when we returned to our rooms for the night. Cleaned up for dinner went out and still no house keeping came. Other than that it was a pleasant trip and room, 3 1/2 star I've stayed at 5 star Hotels. Would come back though. Came to see Daughter graduate from College from Southern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Masa was a foody's heaven for the pallet. couldn't get enough of their amazing flavors. 5 star Chef there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SA TX
Apr 22, 2010

Crowne Plaza, Mpls DWTN

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is near the new public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimiG
Business
Westland, MI
Apr 16, 2010

Great hotel, terrible internet service

The hotel was fine and the staff friendly and accommodating. The internet service was terrible, you have to pay Eco-stream $9.95 per day their billing worked flawlessly but I spent 3 calls and over 90 minutes on the phone with their tech support, missed my deadline for entering orders and still had no service or credit issued. I stayed on Executive Floor, was awakened at 2:45 AM by a drunk woman pounding on doors and yelling in the hall. None of these things were the fault of the local staff who were very friendly. I would probably stay here again except for the terrible internet service,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
turned 21
Business
Coon Rapids MN
Apr 11, 2010

awesome birthday celebration

had out of town guests come in to town for the roller derby at the convention center.. it was a beautiful room; clean and very spaceous!! recommend highly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Ed
Business
New Jersey
Apr 9, 2010

Very Nice

Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I LOVE digitalDoorkeep
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 6, 2010

Lovely Rooms

Was nice, but the 9th floor did not have much of a view (looking into a neighboring office, and they looking back at me).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food within building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 3, 2010

A nice Place to Stay

I was pleased with the parking and location of the Hotel. I still have to get used to the skyways connecting all the indoor plazas and shopping. A quiet, clean, comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 28, 2010

Great Price and Location!

In town for baseball game. Great location and the staff was more than helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Espo
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 28, 2010

Executive King

we really thought [...] was great!! (executive lounge)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mission Bar and Grill has wonderful happy hour apps!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 22, 2010

About what we expected

We have always wanted to go to the Mall of America. We chose a downtown hotel because we thought there would be more to do. The hotel met our expectations. Rooms were very nice perhaps a little smaller than I expected. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was top notch. As you would expect in mid-February, not many guest so it was quite. Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Skyway system is very convenient but for first time users it can be confusing. It took us a couple of tries to get our bearings. For those of you who do not know the "Skyway" is a system of walkways that connect the various buildings in downtown Minneapolis. Also, I don't know if it was because it was winter but the little walk in restaurants around our hotel closed after lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top