$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mandah
Business
Cottage Grove, MN, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Great City Hotel

I stayed here with a friend so we could have a night on the town. It is right in the center of all the awesome Minneapolis night life. It also has a pretty cool outside sky garden and a great view. The bed and bathtub were huge too! will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Fly, Gay 90's, and Drink are all great bars/clubs to check out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eagan, MN
Aug 7, 2011

Good location, not great rooms

Went to Twins game and enjoyed downtown nightlife. Trip was good oveall. Room spelled old/smoker's room We were given a handicap room, shower was very awkward. We were travelling as a couple and received 2 double beds instead of a king. Not the greatest for comfort Did like that they provided linen spray on for you to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to most fun night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glens Falls, NY
Aug 1, 2011

Great way to pamper yourself

I found the Crown Plaza Hotel-Minneapolis (Northstar) to be a very nice hotel. It was clean and the restaurant and bar had very good food. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. Also, the hotel is close to the light-rail and downtown Minneapolis. I will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayrdub
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 6, 2011

Quality Big City Hotel

My wife ran in the Minneapolis Marathon and the hotel was more than accommodating. The hotel recognized the special circumstances behind running in a marathon and allowed for a much later check out. The hotel is well within walking distance of everything that downtown has to offer, as well as being close to the excellent public transportation hubs. Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant and the rooms are nice. I am recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty to do and just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MPLS 4 LIFE 21 Yrs old
Business
Minneapolis
May 22, 2011

Great Value, close to events

I was there with some friends to party and head over to first avenue to the bars. They had an AWESOME balcony with a view of the historic Foshay tower, and the rooms were very classy. The value was perfect. The parking charges were a little out of whack tho, $11 a night after they validate. Should be free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 20, 2011

Did The Trick!

I stayed here while in town for baseball games. Great price for being in the heart of downtown and walking distance to everything. Can get noisy later on in the evenings, but I was usually out till the wee hours anyway and had no problems getting to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Omaha, NE
Mar 20, 2011

Repeat Goodness

I came to Minneapolis as part of a spring break trip. I have stayed here before with friends so I knew that it would be quality. I liked that the hotel was close to public transportation and shopping and entertainment without having the noise right outside the door. The room was clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable for me. If you are looking for a great hotel at a decent price, stop here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TryingToCatchUpOnSleep
Business
Montevideo, MN
Mar 6, 2011

Nice facility, but NOISY

We were 'lucky enough' to be put on a floor that had several rooms reserved by a group of 20-25 year olds. The partying, door banging, loud TVs and music began at 10:30pm. I complained at 11:30, and 12:30, and 1:30am. At 3:00am, security was making the rounds but there was no way they were going to get control. My wife went down to the desk to inform them that we would not be paying for this room. FINALLY, they offered to move us to another floor, which we did...at 3:30am. Since we had to be up at 7:00 that was a MISERABLE night's stay. Mind you, I have no complaints about the hotel and rooms. They were very nice. But my complaint is that they would allow SEVERAL rooms on one floor to be reserved by young people. Go ahead and take their money, but then don't put an unassuming couple on the same floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to "Block E" restaurants and bars. Good if you want to go there, bad if you're on a floor full of 30-40 drunken 20-somethings. (The bars are open 'til 2:00am)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad I wasted my chips
Business
Ohio
Jan 3, 2011

pubic hairs all over the towels

rooms were not that nice for the price. no pool or special things to do..rude desk rude parking rude bar..I hated the crown plaza wish Id stayed at the motel 6 ...saved up to spend a quality week and eneded up spending alot for less than a little. Downtown Minneapolis worst hotel..northstar crown plaza!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

skywalk was better than hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA visitor
Business
CA
Dec 30, 2010

Perfect

Check in and out took less than 6 minutes combined... The room was very clean and pretty. I liked the pillows, comforter and general room layout. Good amenities- black out eye mask, lavender pillow mist and ear plugs- didn't use them but thought that was nifty. We had a king and it was roomy and comfy. Shower pressure was good and stayed hot until the end. The only complaint I would make was the heater was either difficult to work or didn't work well... I thought it was on and it sounded like something was happening but it never got that toasty... coming from CA I was tiny bit chilly but the comforter and sheets were enough. Still that was in no way a deal breaker I would stay here next time no questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top