$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
247 reviews
Quiet elegance

Probably on of the nicest hotels that we have stayed in. Very elegant, old world service and style.... See full review

  • Granny Ginn
  • Jun 18, 2014
Cozy place perfect for Twins game

Was looking for a cheap but nice place to stay for some baseball games. Lucked out with The... See full review

  • BaseballJunkie
  • Jun 7, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

44.9732 -93.2674
Area served
Minneapolis, MN.
Nearby airports
MSP - Minneapolis Saint Paul International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and provides easy and convenient access to the Government Center, convention center, Metrodome Stadium, Target Center, Nicollet Shopping Mall, Orchestra Hall and the Skyway System.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 247
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
5
Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 22, 2011

nice stay

The hotel had some outside facade work going on, but it did not interfere with my stay at all....the room was great and the staff even greater....I would say there again and I recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I ate at Manny's Steak House which is in the W Hotel, a few blocks away....like a Peter Luger's...a little pricey, but absolutely great.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 22, 2011

nice stay

The hotel had some outside facade work going on, but it did not interfere with my stay at all....the room was great and the staff even greater....I would say there again and I recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I ate at Manny's Steak House which is in the W Hotel, a few blocks away....like a Peter Luger's...a little pricey, but absolutely great.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebraska traveler
Lincoln, NE
May 11, 2011

Nice location, helpful staff

We stayed at the Normandy to attend a family graduation. We definitely would stay there again. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms had been updated since our last stay about 10 years ago. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is extremely helpful. When possible, we enjoy staying at local hotels that aren't the "cookie cutter" types like most national chains. This is an older hotel that has been nicely updated and has a certain charm. We also enjoyed the hotel's restaurant, the Normandy Kitchen, which is a hidden gem amid the hip new venues in downtown Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We found great happy hour appetizer and drink prices at the Black Bamboo, just across the street north of the hotel.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebraska traveler
Lincoln, NE
May 11, 2011

Nice location, helpful staff

We stayed at the Normandy to attend a family graduation. We definitely would stay there again. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms had been updated since our last stay about 10 years ago. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is extremely helpful. When possible, we enjoy staying at local hotels that aren't the "cookie cutter" types like most national chains. This is an older hotel that has been nicely updated and has a certain charm. We also enjoyed the hotel's restaurant, the Normandy Kitchen, which is a hidden gem amid the hip new venues in downtown Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We found great happy hour appetizer and drink prices at the Black Bamboo, just across the street north of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top