$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
172 reviews
Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in... See full review

  • BnJW
  • Aug 11, 2014
Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the... See full review

  • Amie the Great
  • Jul 30, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 172
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sheeb
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Great hotel

This hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. We stayed at it for a concert that was at the Target Center, a little bit of a walk but not bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jean beans21
Business
chicago, il
Aug 17, 2014

great place for a Twins game!

girls weekend getaway! great location to walk the city! close to target field :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BaseballJunkie
Business
Duluth, MN
Jun 7, 2014

Cozy place perfect for Twins game

Was looking for a cheap but nice place to stay for some baseball games. Lucked out with The Normandy. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Target field close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Hibbideedibbidee
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 27, 2014

Perfect location for downtown

This location worked out great for my friends and I hitting the bars and clubs in downtown Mpls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sjthielbar
Business
West Metro, Mn
Sep 26, 2012

Nice Stay

Enjoyed our stay. We were downtown for a concert and this place worked great. Clean and very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sudie
Business
Pueblo, Co.
Jul 8, 2012

Pleasure trip with friends

All of the young women at the front desk were very helpful and polite. However, the young men working the front desk were very arrogant and condescending! Actually, the young man working the evening of Saturday, June 23rd was very rude! There were two men at the front desk Monday morning, June 25th, the day we checked out. The younger one was extremely rude when we asked if the shuttle could take us to the airport. He told us the shuttle does not go to the airport, and he didn't know who would tell us that! (we had been told when we checked in that it would). The older of the two men told us he would call for a towncar for us to take us to the airport. We turned down several cabs because we were told the towncar was on its way. However, another cab (van) pulled up and asked us if we needed a ride. We told him no, we were waiting for the ride that was called for. The cab driver went inside then came back out and said he was the ride the hotel called for us. I went in to ask, and was told "yes" by the same man who told me he called for a lincoln towncar! On the second day of our stay, the elevator went out, and we were told they could not have it repaired until Monday. It was a good thing we were staying on the second floor because our friend had a broken foot and was in an orthopaedic shoe, and she had to climb the stairs. There was a female bartender/server in the lounge that was also just a bit rude. I don't remember her name, but she had very curly brown hair. However, there was a male bartender/server working Sunday night, June 24th that was extremely nice. Very, very personable! The food was average, but extremely over-priced! We ate dinner there one night, and it was $200.00 for a small pizza, fish & chips, one bowl of french onion soup, a baked chicken meal, and a six-ounce sirloin meal along with our cocktails. We ate the next night at Tony Roma's and we had an appetizer, four large dinners, and our cocktails for $165.00!! We had also eaten one night at the 8th street grill, and the price was no where near what was charged at the Normandy! All-in-all, we had a great trip and met some amazing people. We will be coming back to Minneapolis/St. Paul, but we will not be staying at the Normandy Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
howestock
Business
mchenry il
Mar 28, 2012

girls weekend

Great hotel especially for the price. Nice staff !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
foxracer21
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Downtown

Hotel location was perfect. I had no problems with the staff or room cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis mn
Aug 1, 2011

Fun

We got ready to go out on the town then had people come back to the room to hang out then bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and clubs down town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 4, 2011

NYE

Enjoyed dinner and drinks at the Restaurant. The room was very comfortable and I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top