$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
181 reviews
Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in... See full review

  • BnJW
  • Aug 11, 2014
Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the... See full review

  • Amie the Great
  • Jul 30, 2014

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2009

The Good and the NOT too good hotel stay

Arrived & ROOM NOT READY. PRICE FLUCTUATED DAILY NOT advertised by Orbitz. Bed bugs. Restuarant food was not good and had to go out to eat. Maid service does not speak english and walks right in. Not recommended if you do have children. Overall bad experience. Do not suggest and will not go back. How can one room change prices everyday? No breakfast or bell service. You will be on your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel across street Comfort Suites best breakfast. Walk to Nicolette Mall short distance for all other meals.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 22, 2007

Not a good night's sleep

The Best Western Normandy has a very unfriendly staff. The worst part of the entire 2 night experience was the bedding, the mattress was rock hard as were the pillows. Since all I do at a hotel is sleep it is very important to me to sleep well or at the least sleep soundly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keg's bakery and grill has excellent food. The prices seem high but it is in a downtown area.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scribemjhf
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 7, 2012

Good and bad

Good: Staff was attentive, though not always helpful. Great location for being in downtown Minneapolis. Bad: Biggest problem was with Internet access. It took 24 hours for them to figure out how to grant me access to their wireless network. As a business traveler that is not good. I was supposed to host a webinar while staying at this hotel, but because of the problems with the Internet, I had to make other arrangement. And they did not offer to compensate me for this lack of access to the Internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seven is a great place for sushi in downtown Minneapolis. It is about a ten minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sudie
Business
Pueblo, Co.
Jul 8, 2012

Pleasure trip with friends

All of the young women at the front desk were very helpful and polite. However, the young men working the front desk were very arrogant and condescending! Actually, the young man working the evening of Saturday, June 23rd was very rude! There were two men at the front desk Monday morning, June 25th, the day we checked out. The younger one was extremely rude when we asked if the shuttle could take us to the airport. He told us the shuttle does not go to the airport, and he didn't know who would tell us that! (we had been told when we checked in that it would). The older of the two men told us he would call for a towncar for us to take us to the airport. We turned down several cabs because we were told the towncar was on its way. However, another cab (van) pulled up and asked us if we needed a ride. We told him no, we were waiting for the ride that was called for. The cab driver went inside then came back out and said he was the ride the hotel called for us. I went in to ask, and was told "yes" by the same man who told me he called for a lincoln towncar! On the second day of our stay, the elevator went out, and we were told they could not have it repaired until Monday. It was a good thing we were staying on the second floor because our friend had a broken foot and was in an orthopaedic shoe, and she had to climb the stairs. There was a female bartender/server in the lounge that was also just a bit rude. I don't remember her name, but she had very curly brown hair. However, there was a male bartender/server working Sunday night, June 24th that was extremely nice. Very, very personable! The food was average, but extremely over-priced! We ate dinner there one night, and it was $200.00 for a small pizza, fish & chips, one bowl of french onion soup, a baked chicken meal, and a six-ounce sirloin meal along with our cocktails. We ate the next night at Tony Roma's and we had an appetizer, four large dinners, and our cocktails for $165.00!! We had also eaten one night at the 8th street grill, and the price was no where near what was charged at the Normandy! All-in-all, we had a great trip and met some amazing people. We will be coming back to Minneapolis/St. Paul, but we will not be staying at the Normandy Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Madtown Mary
Business
Madison, WI
Oct 12, 2012

Think twice before booking

When I read the reviews, I thought this hotel would be OK. Overall, it was, but the biggest disappointment was the tepid shower in the morning. When I asked to have another room to take a hot shower, the hotel staff refused. They said it was an old building and the water just needed to run awhile to get warm. Well, I let it run for over 10 minutes, and it was tepid at best. I was not happy, especially when the outside temp was a brisk 29 degrees with a breeze, and I had to walk 8 blocks following my disappointing shower. I was not pleased, and will not stay again nor would I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Runner not happy
Business
Lombard, IL
Oct 4, 2010

Nice rooms, Not great service

[...] when I got back the next day, I was sent to a room that was already occupied. I then called for a late check out as I was running the Twin Cities Marathon, and no one told the front desk for the next morning and I was almost charged an extra night. When I tried to explain to the front desk what happened, they were very disrespectful to me and did not care. This hotel needs a training session in customer service and how to talk to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Target Field, about a 15 minute walk. Also, very close to numerous restaurants and shopping. Light Rail is a few blocks away which can be taken to the airport and Mall of America.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls area.
Dec 7, 2010

Great bed/Poor Service

Room was clean. Very comfortable bed. However wasn't too pleased when the day of check out I log on to my bank account to see a 50 pending transaction from the hotel itself on top of the Price Assurance of around 113.00. Called the Front Desk the lady says, "Oh they didn't tell you about the security deposit" They did not say anything about a deposit I inform her. I went down and they "tried" to have accounting put the funds back into my account but said they could not and it would be 5-12 business days to return them. If I was informed before purchasing and even at check-in I wouldn't have been as upset. Plus why a 50 dollar deposit? Why not just charge my card directly if something is missing or broken? What sense does a 50 dollar deposit make? Overall...not worth going back too. To be fair in a good location. Just disclose things please......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rock Bottom is an amazing joint for pool and Northstar beer! Freezing Walk take a cab.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 22, 2009

Great Location for the price

The location was great and the rooms were clean and very roomy. The only disappointing factor was that the complimentary internet access was spotty and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G Gregory
Business
USA
Aug 17, 2007

disapointed

the hotel front desk staff never said good morning or even acknowledged me coming or going the entire time I was at the hotel. The tub was dirty and the bathroom looked like they were still laying tile. I had to repeatedly ask for a coffee pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt C.
Business
New York, NY
Aug 23, 2014

Good location but old

I stayed a the Normandy to 2 nights. Location is good close to everything downtown. The hotel is pretty old and needs a serious renovation. Besides the bathroom which was new I guess, the rest of my suite would require an upgrade.... Good place if you are looking for a central place for an Ok price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Burch restaurant

Back to menu Return to top