$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
247 reviews
Quiet elegance

Probably on of the nicest hotels that we have stayed in. Very elegant, old world service and style.... See full review

  • Granny Ginn
  • Jun 18, 2014
Cozy place perfect for Twins game

Was looking for a cheap but nice place to stay for some baseball games. Lucked out with The... See full review

  • BaseballJunkie
  • Jun 7, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.9732 -93.2674
Area served
Minneapolis, MN.
Nearby airports
MSP - Minneapolis Saint Paul International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and provides easy and convenient access to the Government Center, convention center, Metrodome Stadium, Target Center, Nicollet Shopping Mall, Orchestra Hall and the Skyway System.

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 29, 2008

Good Value Friendly Staff

I am from the Minneapolis area and we decided to give my family a break and have a little vacation by staying at a Downtown Hotel. We are so happy we did. This was a great stay at avery clean, pretty well maintained facility. We had fun walking a few blocks to some great eating joints and downtown shopping. We will definitely do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
foxracer21
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Downtown

Hotel location was perfect. I had no problems with the staff or room cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winona MN
Jul 18, 2011

One of the best!

This is the second time we have staid here. The employees are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely updated. The décor of our room was great nice furniture and great art work on the walls. Comfy bed and pillows, I specify loved the comforter. Nice indoor pool area. It's in a great location to do anything downtown; we were there for a concert at the Target center. This will be our go to hotel every time we need to stay in Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bingomama
Sioux Falls SD
May 29, 2009

Great location and very clean and quiet

We were able to take the shuttle to the Twins game on Tues. night and Wed. noon game. Where we were dropped off was perfect. The walk back to the Normandy was not bad at all. The staff is very friendly and helpful if you need directions. We had a great night's sleep. The bed and pillows were so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in a Twins game. the Dome is close by.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
south dakota
Oct 18, 2010

good time

great location. clean large room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

to the metrodome

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BaseballJunkie
Duluth, MN
Jun 7, 2014

Cozy place perfect for Twins game

Was looking for a cheap but nice place to stay for some baseball games. Lucked out with The Normandy. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Target field close by

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 7, 2010

A Hidden Gem

Quiet and charming. I attended a large conference at another hotel within an easy walking distance. Hotel is at the fringe of the part of town to stay in, don't want to go past this in the direction away from town. Hotel has a restaurant I'm told is good but did not experience. Many restaurants and stores are within walking distance, also train station close by, also bus routes. This was a nice escape. Not for folks that want slick and sophisticated, but a great and less expensive alternative if you like country style-rock/stone and wood decor. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Quiet climate controlled 4 story atrium houses the small pool, nice relatively large jacuzzi and a dry sauna. Free computers and internet access, a working piano, fresh cookies at 10 pm, fireplace with large chairs and a chessboard....I had reserved a regular room, was pleasantly surprised with a quiet small suite with fridge, microwave and bathroom all out of sight (and sound) of the sleeping area, a great arrangement. I loved this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigfork Viking Fan
Bigfork MN
Sep 3, 2013

Didn't want to leave!!

This is the best hotel I've stayed at. Staff was very friendly and we were in good proximity to our event. The room was beautiful and the beds were so very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to stay when taking in a Vikings game!

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 20, 2007

Cozy & Comfortable

The Best Western Normandy Inn provided a well appointed and spacious room with a comfortable bed that slept extremely well. Nice furnishings, very clean, friendly staff, and a great value. The wide, flat-screen TV in the living area was very nice and the TV in the bedroom was convenient. The large shower was also a nice feature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metrodome close by.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lima, *
Aug 4, 2008

Business

We stayed at the Best WEstern Normandy for buisness. However, I would not hesitate to stay there with my family should the occasion arise. We were very pleased with the service, accommodations, and cleanliness of the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to the light railway that will enable a guest to travel to the Mall of America with little effort.

Back to menu Return to top