$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
247 reviews
Quiet elegance

Probably on of the nicest hotels that we have stayed in. Very elegant, old world service and style.... See full review

  • Granny Ginn
  • Jun 18, 2014
Cozy place perfect for Twins game

Was looking for a cheap but nice place to stay for some baseball games. Lucked out with The... See full review

  • BaseballJunkie
  • Jun 7, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.9732 -93.2674
Area served
Minneapolis, MN.
Nearby airports
MSP - Minneapolis Saint Paul International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and provides easy and convenient access to the Government Center, convention center, Metrodome Stadium, Target Center, Nicollet Shopping Mall, Orchestra Hall and the Skyway System.

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2009

The Good and the NOT too good hotel stay

Arrived & ROOM NOT READY. PRICE FLUCTUATED DAILY NOT advertised by Orbitz. Bed bugs. Restuarant food was not good and had to go out to eat. Maid service does not speak english and walks right in. Not recommended if you do have children. Overall bad experience. Do not suggest and will not go back. How can one room change prices everyday? No breakfast or bell service. You will be on your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel across street Comfort Suites best breakfast. Walk to Nicolette Mall short distance for all other meals.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2009

The Good and the NOT too good hotel stay

Arrived & ROOM NOT READY. PRICE FLUCTUATED DAILY NOT advertised by Orbitz. Bed bugs. Restuarant food was not good and had to go out to eat. Maid service does not speak english and walks right in. Not recommended if you do have children. Overall bad experience. Do not suggest and will not go back. How can one room change prices everyday? No breakfast or bell service. You will be on your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel across street Comfort Suites best breakfast. Walk to Nicolette Mall short distance for all other meals.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G Gregory
Business
USA
Aug 17, 2007

disapointed

the hotel front desk staff never said good morning or even acknowledged me coming or going the entire time I was at the hotel. The tub was dirty and the bathroom looked like they were still laying tile. I had to repeatedly ask for a coffee pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sioux Falls area.
Dec 7, 2010

Great bed/Poor Service

Room was clean. Very comfortable bed. However wasn't too pleased when the day of check out I log on to my bank account to see a 50 pending transaction from the hotel itself on top of the Price Assurance of around 113.00. Called the Front Desk the lady says, "Oh they didn't tell you about the security deposit" They did not say anything about a deposit I inform her. I went down and they "tried" to have accounting put the funds back into my account but said they could not and it would be 5-12 business days to return them. If I was informed before purchasing and even at check-in I wouldn't have been as upset. Plus why a 50 dollar deposit? Why not just charge my card directly if something is missing or broken? What sense does a 50 dollar deposit make? Overall...not worth going back too. To be fair in a good location. Just disclose things please......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rock Bottom is an amazing joint for pool and Northstar beer! Freezing Walk take a cab.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 22, 2007

Not a good night's sleep

The Best Western Normandy has a very unfriendly staff. The worst part of the entire 2 night experience was the bedding, the mattress was rock hard as were the pillows. Since all I do at a hotel is sleep it is very important to me to sleep well or at the least sleep soundly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keg's bakery and grill has excellent food. The prices seem high but it is in a downtown area.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Runner not happy
Lombard, IL
Oct 4, 2010

Nice rooms, Not great service

[...] when I got back the next day, I was sent to a room that was already occupied. I then called for a late check out as I was running the Twin Cities Marathon, and no one told the front desk for the next morning and I was almost charged an extra night. When I tried to explain to the front desk what happened, they were very disrespectful to me and did not care. This hotel needs a training session in customer service and how to talk to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Target Field, about a 15 minute walk. Also, very close to numerous restaurants and shopping. Light Rail is a few blocks away which can be taken to the airport and Mall of America.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sioux Falls area.
Dec 7, 2010

Great bed/Poor Service

Room was clean. Very comfortable bed. However wasn't too pleased when the day of check out I log on to my bank account to see a 50 pending transaction from the hotel itself on top of the Price Assurance of around 113.00. Called the Front Desk the lady says, "Oh they didn't tell you about the security deposit" They did not say anything about a deposit I inform her. I went down and they "tried" to have accounting put the funds back into my account but said they could not and it would be 5-12 business days to return them. If I was informed before purchasing and even at check-in I wouldn't have been as upset. Plus why a 50 dollar deposit? Why not just charge my card directly if something is missing or broken? What sense does a 50 dollar deposit make? Overall...not worth going back too. To be fair in a good location. Just disclose things please......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rock Bottom is an amazing joint for pool and Northstar beer! Freezing Walk take a cab.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Madtown Mary
Business
Madison, WI
Oct 12, 2012

Think twice before booking

When I read the reviews, I thought this hotel would be OK. Overall, it was, but the biggest disappointment was the tepid shower in the morning. When I asked to have another room to take a hot shower, the hotel staff refused. They said it was an old building and the water just needed to run awhile to get warm. Well, I let it run for over 10 minutes, and it was tepid at best. I was not happy, especially when the outside temp was a brisk 29 degrees with a breeze, and I had to walk 8 blocks following my disappointing shower. I was not pleased, and will not stay again nor would I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sudie
Pueblo, Co.
Jul 8, 2012

Pleasure trip with friends

All of the young women at the front desk were very helpful and polite. However, the young men working the front desk were very arrogant and condescending! Actually, the young man working the evening of Saturday, June 23rd was very rude! There were two men at the front desk Monday morning, June 25th, the day we checked out. The younger one was extremely rude when we asked if the shuttle could take us to the airport. He told us the shuttle does not go to the airport, and he didn't know who would tell us that! (we had been told when we checked in that it would). The older of the two men told us he would call for a towncar for us to take us to the airport. We turned down several cabs because we were told the towncar was on its way. However, another cab (van) pulled up and asked us if we needed a ride. We told him no, we were waiting for the ride that was called for. The cab driver went inside then came back out and said he was the ride the hotel called for us. I went in to ask, and was told "yes" by the same man who told me he called for a lincoln towncar! On the second day of our stay, the elevator went out, and we were told they could not have it repaired until Monday. It was a good thing we were staying on the second floor because our friend had a broken foot and was in an orthopaedic shoe, and she had to climb the stairs. There was a female bartender/server in the lounge that was also just a bit rude. I don't remember her name, but she had very curly brown hair. However, there was a male bartender/server working Sunday night, June 24th that was extremely nice. Very, very personable! The food was average, but extremely over-priced! We ate dinner there one night, and it was $200.00 for a small pizza, fish & chips, one bowl of french onion soup, a baked chicken meal, and a six-ounce sirloin meal along with our cocktails. We ate the next night at Tony Roma's and we had an appetizer, four large dinners, and our cocktails for $165.00!! We had also eaten one night at the 8th street grill, and the price was no where near what was charged at the Normandy! All-in-all, we had a great trip and met some amazing people. We will be coming back to Minneapolis/St. Paul, but we will not be staying at the Normandy Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 22, 2009

Great Location for the price

The location was great and the rooms were clean and very roomy. The only disappointing factor was that the complimentary internet access was spotty and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top