$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2011

Minneapolis Stay

Awesome. Very Quiet and clean. Though the pool area can get noisy in the morning depending what time you went to bed. Centrally located. A few blocks from the Metrodome. Mile walk to Target Center and Field. Very easy. Metro line the same, get to the Mall of America in 15 minutes. A local map would be more conveniant. Streets are very confusing and no signs on buildings to see what stores or restaraunts are inside. This was a great trip overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Jun 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel, wonderful time

I was in town for business decided to make a vacation out of the trip. The location was great -- close to Nicollet Mall dining and other downtown attractions, and close enough to the highways to easily get to the Minnesota Zoo, the Mall of America, and the Walker Art Center, etc. The Normandy was charming, clean, and extremely comfortable. Very quiet for downtown Mpls. It sits on the edge of downtown, which probably makes it even more quiet, but also very convenient. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub (especially at night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
@brianlarsen970
Business
wisconsin
May 13, 2011

Great place to stay for visiting UMN

It was very central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very short drive to the University of Minnesota campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebraska traveler
Business
Lincoln, NE
May 11, 2011

Nice location, helpful staff

We stayed at the Normandy to attend a family graduation. We definitely would stay there again. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms had been updated since our last stay about 10 years ago. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is extremely helpful. When possible, we enjoy staying at local hotels that aren't the "cookie cutter" types like most national chains. This is an older hotel that has been nicely updated and has a certain charm. We also enjoyed the hotel's restaurant, the Normandy Kitchen, which is a hidden gem amid the hip new venues in downtown Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We found great happy hour appetizer and drink prices at the Black Bamboo, just across the street north of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Albert L
Business
stockton, ca
May 2, 2011

Great value and nice amenities

Stayed here for 4 nights. It is a about 4 blocks from the convention center, but there is a free hotel shuttle to take you there! They also allowed you to borrow umbrellas if it rained. Cookies and milk at 10pm nightly were a nice amenity. The hotel was clean and the room was as well. Overall, very good value. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Free hotel shuttle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cazenovia, WI
Mar 28, 2011

Good Location in Downtown Minneapolis

I arrived on a wintery night in Minneapolis and was a little taken aback buy the small, outdoor parking lot, that leads you into the hotel. From the outside appearrance of the hotel my first thought was, "What have I gotten myself into?!" Don't let the appearance fool you though, the interior to the hotel is very classy and clean. I was greeted warmly and immediately and checked in without delays. I stayed in the King Suite which has a bedroom seperate from the small living area and wetbar. It has a pullout sofa for an extra guest if need be. The carpeting and interior was fresh, clean, and recently updated, so there were no issues there. I met friends at the Normandy Restraunt Bar which was a nicely done, friendly place to have a drink and chat. Didn't eat at the restraunt but it seemed well run and offerred top flight cuisine. Location was within walking distance of everything the downtown has to offer as the city is attached by walkways to get you anywhere you want to go. Overall a great stay and will gladly stay there again. If you are trying to find this hotel on your own and not in a cab, make sure you have a GPS unit as it can be easily overlooked when you are trying to navigate all the one-ways in downtown Minny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee
Mar 14, 2011

out of the ordinary and very reasonable

Nice big parking lot only adds $7 to your bill(vice $10-$12 at other Minneapolis hotels) - nice indoor pool - and nice old Normandy Kitchen dining room with menu breakfast (no breakfast buffet) running $20-$25 for a couple. Bed was comfortable and the room was pleasant enough. Only complaint was forced air vent blower running on its own sending cool air into the room when we wanted to be a little warmer. (Visited in mid march 2010 two nights - basic charge for room was half of what other newer Minneapolis hotels nearby were asking.[...])

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bismarck, ND
Feb 1, 2011

Normandy Inn Cookie Fest

Great Hotel and overall experience. Free cookies each night. Discount on parking now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 4, 2011

NYE

Enjoyed dinner and drinks at the Restaurant. The room was very comfortable and I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin Rapids WI
Dec 14, 2010

great down town location

great location for going to games @ the metradome ...will use for our next game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top