$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
165 reviews
Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in... See full review

  • BnJW
  • Aug 11, 2014
Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the... See full review

  • Amie the Great
  • Jul 30, 2014
The Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is a 100% Smoke-Free Hotel centrally located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. We provide easy and convenient access to the Government Center, convention center, Metrodome Stadium, Target Center, Target Field, Nicollet Shopping Mall, Orchestra Hall and the Skyway System. An abundance of exciting activities, nightlife, arts and entertainment are all within walking distance. For your convenience, free shuttle service is provided between the hotel and the Minneapolis Convention Center. Free shuttles to Target Field for Twins games is also available, guest must sign up at check-in, shuttles begin 2 hours prior to game start. Each of our spacious rooms have been carefully designed with the business and leisure guest in mind. You will find large work tables, comfortable lounging areas, electronic locks and many extras that will make your stay with us comfortable and pleasurable. Take time for a refreshing swim in our indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or relax in the sauna. Our location is easily accessible from all major freeways and 3 blocks from the light rail train serving the MSP airport and Mall of America. Note: Our pool area will be close for remodeling December 2-23, 2013. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may cause.

Hotel Map

44.9732 -93.2674
Area served
Minneapolis, MN.
Nearby airports
MSP - Minneapolis Saint Paul International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and provides easy and convenient access to the Government Center, convention center, Metrodome Stadium, Target Center, Nicollet Shopping Mall, Orchestra Hall and the Skyway System.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Jul 23, 2011

Great Hotel!!

The hotel was very nice inside and outside. It was within walking distance of a lot of cool places in Downtown Minneapolis. We went there for a Twins game and they had a free shuttle to the game which was great. The only downfalls were that our room overlooked the pool and you couldn't really see anything else but that. Also, it was a little bit noisy at times with the pool there. One of the plugs in our room wasn't working so we had no reading light next to the chair in the room. Those were really minor inconveniences though. We ate quite a few of our meals in the hotel restaurant which was awesome! Great food!! All in all I would recommend this hotel. Very friendly people and the price was pretty reasonable. We will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a light rail train that ran to many destinations in and around Minneapolis such as Mall of America and Target Field. The price was 1.75 per person during non rush hours and 2.25 per person during rush hour. It was 3 blocks from our hotel. It is a great way to get around without having to drive and find parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 22, 2011

nice stay

The hotel had some outside facade work going on, but it did not interfere with my stay at all....the room was great and the staff even greater....I would say there again and I recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I ate at Manny's Steak House which is in the W Hotel, a few blocks away....like a Peter Luger's...a little pricey, but absolutely great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winona MN
Jul 18, 2011

One of the best!

This is the second time we have staid here. The employees are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely updated. The décor of our room was great nice furniture and great art work on the walls. Comfy bed and pillows, I specify loved the comforter. Nice indoor pool area. It's in a great location to do anything downtown; we were there for a concert at the Target center. This will be our go to hotel every time we need to stay in Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frankye185
Mocksville NC
Jul 15, 2011

Excellent Stay

The hotel room was very,very nice and the people were also nice. When ask a question, they helped. They called for taxi's for us and saved us money helping us with different things we could do. I would tell anyone that this is a very nice place to stay and the food was awesome as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2011

Minneapolis Stay

Awesome. Very Quiet and clean. Though the pool area can get noisy in the morning depending what time you went to bed. Centrally located. A few blocks from the Metrodome. Mile walk to Target Center and Field. Very easy. Metro line the same, get to the Mall of America in 15 minutes. A local map would be more conveniant. Streets are very confusing and no signs on buildings to see what stores or restaraunts are inside. This was a great trip overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, WI
Jun 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel, wonderful time

I was in town for business decided to make a vacation out of the trip. The location was great -- close to Nicollet Mall dining and other downtown attractions, and close enough to the highways to easily get to the Minnesota Zoo, the Mall of America, and the Walker Art Center, etc. The Normandy was charming, clean, and extremely comfortable. Very quiet for downtown Mpls. It sits on the edge of downtown, which probably makes it even more quiet, but also very convenient. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub (especially at night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
@brianlarsen970
wisconsin
May 13, 2011

Great place to stay for visiting UMN

It was very central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very short drive to the University of Minnesota campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebraska traveler
Lincoln, NE
May 11, 2011

Nice location, helpful staff

We stayed at the Normandy to attend a family graduation. We definitely would stay there again. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms had been updated since our last stay about 10 years ago. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is extremely helpful. When possible, we enjoy staying at local hotels that aren't the "cookie cutter" types like most national chains. This is an older hotel that has been nicely updated and has a certain charm. We also enjoyed the hotel's restaurant, the Normandy Kitchen, which is a hidden gem amid the hip new venues in downtown Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We found great happy hour appetizer and drink prices at the Black Bamboo, just across the street north of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Albert L
Business
stockton, ca
May 2, 2011

Great value and nice amenities

Stayed here for 4 nights. It is a about 4 blocks from the convention center, but there is a free hotel shuttle to take you there! They also allowed you to borrow umbrellas if it rained. Cookies and milk at 10pm nightly were a nice amenity. The hotel was clean and the room was as well. Overall, very good value. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Free hotel shuttle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cazenovia, WI
Mar 28, 2011

Good Location in Downtown Minneapolis

I arrived on a wintery night in Minneapolis and was a little taken aback buy the small, outdoor parking lot, that leads you into the hotel. From the outside appearrance of the hotel my first thought was, "What have I gotten myself into?!" Don't let the appearance fool you though, the interior to the hotel is very classy and clean. I was greeted warmly and immediately and checked in without delays. I stayed in the King Suite which has a bedroom seperate from the small living area and wetbar. It has a pullout sofa for an extra guest if need be. The carpeting and interior was fresh, clean, and recently updated, so there were no issues there. I met friends at the Normandy Restraunt Bar which was a nicely done, friendly place to have a drink and chat. Didn't eat at the restraunt but it seemed well run and offerred top flight cuisine. Location was within walking distance of everything the downtown has to offer as the city is attached by walkways to get you anywhere you want to go. Overall a great stay and will gladly stay there again. If you are trying to find this hotel on your own and not in a cab, make sure you have a GPS unit as it can be easily overlooked when you are trying to navigate all the one-ways in downtown Minny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search