$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
170 reviews
Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in... See full review

  • BnJW
  • Aug 11, 2014
Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the... See full review

  • Amie the Great
  • Jul 30, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amyp
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Good place to stay close to convention center

The check-in process was slow. The front desk clerk was rude but got us checked in with no issues. The rooms were not attractive but were VERY clean and the beds were very comfy. Large flat screen TV, desk, chair, ottoman, desk, 2 queen beds, bath, etc. Pretty typical Best Western. It was however VERY clean. I even moved the night table to access the plug and there was no dust or grossness ;-) They have an over-priced restaurant and bar downstairs but there are many more restaurants in downtown Minneapolis worth visiting first. Room service charges a 17% fee + 3.00 service charge. Ridiculous. It is cozy, kind of dark but that is because it is a "theme" hotel that I think is supposed to look like a old european inn. Not really sure. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a car the cheapest way to get here from airport is to take the light rial from Humphrey terminal to the Gov't Plaza stop. 1.75 per person. Hotel is three blocks away. Also, Minneapolis has over a hundred Easy Ride bike terminals. Visitors can rent a bike for $5 per day (not available in the winter) and explore the city easily! The city is REALLY flat and the #2 bike-friendly city in the U.S. This was the best part of our trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camo Guy
Business
Arkansaw, Wisconsin
Aug 25, 2011

Nice Hotel

Hotel was very nice, comfortable rooms with all the amentites needed. Location was pretty good. About 4 block walk to downtown Restaurants. Fairly close to Convention Center also. Staff was very polite and efficient. Nice Bar and Restaurant in hotel also. I would definetly stay again. Only complaint was Maid was cleaning a room right across from ours at 5:30 in the morning. Vacuuming and clanging dishes. Could have picked a better time!! Check-in and Check-out was quick and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment and Restaurants are a short 4 block walk so location is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
foxracer21
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Downtown

Hotel location was perfect. I had no problems with the staff or room cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rhonda
Business
Grayson, GA 30017, USA
Aug 12, 2011

GREAT!!!

Our room was nice and cozy. The location was perfect...being near to restaurants, mall, and metrorail. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis mn
Aug 1, 2011

Fun

We got ready to go out on the town then had people come back to the room to hang out then bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and clubs down town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 23, 2011

Great Hotel!!

The hotel was very nice inside and outside. It was within walking distance of a lot of cool places in Downtown Minneapolis. We went there for a Twins game and they had a free shuttle to the game which was great. The only downfalls were that our room overlooked the pool and you couldn't really see anything else but that. Also, it was a little bit noisy at times with the pool there. One of the plugs in our room wasn't working so we had no reading light next to the chair in the room. Those were really minor inconveniences though. We ate quite a few of our meals in the hotel restaurant which was awesome! Great food!! All in all I would recommend this hotel. Very friendly people and the price was pretty reasonable. We will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a light rail train that ran to many destinations in and around Minneapolis such as Mall of America and Target Field. The price was 1.75 per person during non rush hours and 2.25 per person during rush hour. It was 3 blocks from our hotel. It is a great way to get around without having to drive and find parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 22, 2011

nice stay

The hotel had some outside facade work going on, but it did not interfere with my stay at all....the room was great and the staff even greater....I would say there again and I recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I ate at Manny's Steak House which is in the W Hotel, a few blocks away....like a Peter Luger's...a little pricey, but absolutely great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winona MN
Jul 18, 2011

One of the best!

This is the second time we have staid here. The employees are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely updated. The décor of our room was great nice furniture and great art work on the walls. Comfy bed and pillows, I specify loved the comforter. Nice indoor pool area. It's in a great location to do anything downtown; we were there for a concert at the Target center. This will be our go to hotel every time we need to stay in Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frankye185
Business
Mocksville NC
Jul 15, 2011

Excellent Stay

The hotel room was very,very nice and the people were also nice. When ask a question, they helped. They called for taxi's for us and saved us money helping us with different things we could do. I would tell anyone that this is a very nice place to stay and the food was awesome as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2011

Minneapolis Stay

Awesome. Very Quiet and clean. Though the pool area can get noisy in the morning depending what time you went to bed. Centrally located. A few blocks from the Metrodome. Mile walk to Target Center and Field. Very easy. Metro line the same, get to the Mall of America in 15 minutes. A local map would be more conveniant. Streets are very confusing and no signs on buildings to see what stores or restaraunts are inside. This was a great trip overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top