$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BnJW
Business
Red Wing, Minnesota
Aug 11, 2014

Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in Minneapolis, was clean, and was affordable! There is also a nice old charm to this hotel that isn't found in typical cookie-cutter chains. The only drawback for me was the plushness of the mattress. I am used to sleeping on a mattress at home which is as close to a concrete block as possible - I love a firm mattress! With that said, most people probably prefer sleeping on a cloud and would love these beds. We would strongly recommend this hotel to others who are staying in Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous restaurants on the Nicollet Mall, only 4 blocks away. Our favorite is an Irish pub/restaurant called The Local at the corner of Nicollet Mall and 10th street.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MidRivDan
Business
Iowa
Aug 1, 2014

Soft Mattress

In general, an adequate stay. The room and hotel were reasonably clean; however, the internet service was sporadic (we stayed in the back wing of the hotel) and the mattress was unusually soft (we're use to hotels having relatively firm mattresses). Good location. For the money, I considered it a pretty decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Molly's Buddy
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
Jul 31, 2014

Nicely renovated in a good location

This is an old hotel that's been renovated. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and updated. The room had lots of outlets and free wi-fi, so it was easy to get work done during my stay. Location wise, the hotel is a bit of a walk from Nicollet Mall and good restaurants. That said, the hotel restaurant is actually pretty good, if old fashioned. I arrived during a rush and the front desk staff were rushing to the point of rudeness, but the quality of the room made up for the lack of customer service at the front desk. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amie the Great
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 30, 2014

Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the front desk to their in hotel bar and restaurant. The Henry the VIII burger was delicious and so was their lemonade. The wifi left a lot to be desired, but all in all a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

A call to the front desk will keep you from having to search for local transportation online. They were able to arrange a town car for pick up in less than 15 minutes.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edgar Julio
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 30, 2014

Convenient access to Convention Center and Airport

2 blocks from light rail station (Government Plaza) that takes you to and from the airport. walking distance to convention center. Carpet was wet when I arrived and next day there was a stinky odor that eventually went away. The piano player was pleasant but there was not sitting facilities to enjoy the music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Traveler II
Business
Morgantown, WV
Jul 30, 2014

Great Place to Stay

This hotel is well located in downtown. Perfect if you don't like elevators (only four floors). It had everything we wanted at a great value. Parking availability was good and the cost was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trip to msp
Business
pittsburgh
Jul 28, 2014

Visit

very clean hotel. room was very quiet. we were able to walk to downtown area and also over the river with no problems. did not drive but they did have on site parking. limited uses for their shuttle, so be prepared for other modes of transport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of very good places within a short to moderate walk from hotel. did not have a bad meal there.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frijoles777
Business
Chicago
Jun 25, 2014

Lobby needs updating but rooms are nice

The lobby hasn't been updated since the Ford Administration, but the rooms are nice. Good value and good location downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cubfanman
Business
chicago ill
Jun 24, 2014

nice place

was in town for baseball games,couldn't ask for a better place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Granny Ginn
Business
Duluth, MN
Jun 18, 2014

Quiet elegance

Probably on of the nicest hotels that we have stayed in. Very elegant, old world service and style. They really made our stay special!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fresh squeezed orange juice was the BEST!

Back to menu Return to top