$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jul 29, 2010

Good Hotel

The price was cheaper compared to others in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,TX
Jul 27, 2010

Weekend Getaway

Convenient location. Missed the cookies in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock Bottom Brewery was not too far, reasonably priced and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RatherBeCooking
Business
Racine, WI
Jul 27, 2010

location GREAT!

We chose this hotel based on price and availability and were not displeased. Located walking blocks from great restaurants, city sites, Nicolet Mall (which on Thurs in the summer has a fabulous market!!), we didn't spend much of our 24 hours inside the hotel. Hotel was clean and friendly, but it was difficult not to be unsettled by the moldy smell in the lobby and the bathrooms. Old building, yes, but this needs to be rectified.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

While in Minneapolis check out, literally, the bicycle rental kiosks situated all over town, including the campus areas. For less than $15 for two of us, we grabbed 2 bikes and rode for 3 hours around town. What a bike friendly city, and we were able to explore much in a limited amount of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cherie
Business
Long Island, New York
Jul 25, 2010

Tastefully Simple Convention

My experience at the hotel was very nice. We were disappointed in the restaurant during Happy Hour. When ordering a drink we didn't know that there is an additional charge for juice. When ordering a mixed drink, it is often common to mix it with juice. We thought it was strange to charge a fee for the juice since the drink, like a bay breeze or sea breeze are made with juice. Other than that our experience was very nice. The waiter at the restaurant, [...] was very helpful, courteous and fun. Excellent characteristics for service personnel. Ofcourse, we love the chocolate cookies and milk at night. Hmmm, never can get enough of those. Please don't take them away.:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Jul 22, 2010

Nostalgic and Classy

It was fun. Very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

This is perfect for Target Field. It cost $7 bucks to park there, which you are going to pay just for staying and by the time you walk back to the Hotel, the traffic has cleared up, and you zip right back onto the interstate and home you go!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
silasmp
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jul 13, 2010

Funky & Quaint, but Clean & Convenient

Had to find a room in Minneapolis on short notice due to slight scheduling mishaps. Sought something downtown, walking distance to the pedestrian mall, so this funky hotel fit the bill. We checked in with our infant daughter, had lots of bags, and received no offer of assistance with our luggage. However, the staff woman that checked us in was very nice, and the rooms were clean and spacious. The funky "Norman" style--not quite sure how it differs from American Swiss chalet style--was bizarre. We prefer something a little more contemporary, but the cookies and milk at 10 o'clock were a nice touch. I'd also bet that the hotel feels pretty cozy in the cold Minnesota winter. All in all, the hotel met our needs, but we probably won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining choices on the pedestrian mall, just a 6-block walk from the hotel. Also, Minneapolis has these ambassadorial guys in neon green that roam around downtown and offer invaluable assistance to tourists. Very cool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 2, 2010

A step back in time

Place was centrally located in downtown Mpls - because of this doesn't have "easy" access to freeway system. Surrounded by one way streets which makes getting there difficult if unfamiliar with the area. Drove by the place and around the block several times trying to find the way to get into the hotel and parking area. Very dated looking, but clean. Staff was friendly for the most part, but not exceptional. On top of room rate are forced to pay a per day rate to park in their lot - this is ridiculous and should be included in room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beresford, SD
Jun 30, 2010

Unbeatable location at a great price

An enjoyable 15 min. walk to Target Field to watch the Minnesota Twins play ball.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good breakfast menu in attached restaurant, "The Normandy Kitchen." Great selection of dining, shopping, and more nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Typical Mom
Business
Fargo, ND
Jun 30, 2010

Good Location

Location is about the best thing about this hotel. It is close to Twins, Vikings & U of M. The rooms were fine in a generic way. I booked & paid on-line, then had to pay extra to park at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jun 24, 2010

Nice hotel with good kitchen

If you stay there, make sure to take some pancakes in the morning. Actually, don't even stay there, just go get pancakes. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was all clean. The only reproach I could make is that it was awfully hot in MN that day, and I had to set the AC on most of the time, which was connected to the outside... in the pool covered area. I could hear some people in the pool but nothing too noisy. Being French from Normandy, I found it funny to see this decor from home. The note was a bit forced sometimes (you know, we don't have bricks under the torchis at home), but it was fun and original.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go check out Peter's Grill, they have friendly staff and I liked their steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top