$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fargo, ND
Aug 4, 2010

Pretty Good Hotel

Really nice place. Has a little smell to it once u walk in and in the hallways but besides that, everything else was superb! The rooms were nice and clean and i enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Jul 29, 2010

Great Location

Easy access to downtown and metro train. Service was excellent. Convenient with nice indoor pool. Would be a delight for kids and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Paul's Grill for reasonable breakfast and family dining.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jul 29, 2010

Good Hotel

The price was cheaper compared to others in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Jul 29, 2010

Great Location

Easy access to downtown and metro train. Service was excellent. Convenient with nice indoor pool. Would be a delight for kids and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Paul's Grill for reasonable breakfast and family dining.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin,TX
Jul 27, 2010

Weekend Getaway

Convenient location. Missed the cookies in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock Bottom Brewery was not too far, reasonably priced and fun.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RatherBeCooking
Business
Racine, WI
Jul 27, 2010

location GREAT!

We chose this hotel based on price and availability and were not displeased. Located walking blocks from great restaurants, city sites, Nicolet Mall (which on Thurs in the summer has a fabulous market!!), we didn't spend much of our 24 hours inside the hotel. Hotel was clean and friendly, but it was difficult not to be unsettled by the moldy smell in the lobby and the bathrooms. Old building, yes, but this needs to be rectified.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

While in Minneapolis check out, literally, the bicycle rental kiosks situated all over town, including the campus areas. For less than $15 for two of us, we grabbed 2 bikes and rode for 3 hours around town. What a bike friendly city, and we were able to explore much in a limited amount of time.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cherie
Business
Long Island, New York
Jul 25, 2010

Tastefully Simple Convention

My experience at the hotel was very nice. We were disappointed in the restaurant during Happy Hour. When ordering a drink we didn't know that there is an additional charge for juice. When ordering a mixed drink, it is often common to mix it with juice. We thought it was strange to charge a fee for the juice since the drink, like a bay breeze or sea breeze are made with juice. Other than that our experience was very nice. The waiter at the restaurant, [...] was very helpful, courteous and fun. Excellent characteristics for service personnel. Ofcourse, we love the chocolate cookies and milk at night. Hmmm, never can get enough of those. Please don't take them away.:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cherie
Business
Long Island, New York
Jul 25, 2010

Tastefully Simple Convention

My experience at the hotel was very nice. We were disappointed in the restaurant during Happy Hour. When ordering a drink we didn't know that there is an additional charge for juice. When ordering a mixed drink, it is often common to mix it with juice. We thought it was strange to charge a fee for the juice since the drink, like a bay breeze or sea breeze are made with juice. Other than that our experience was very nice. The waiter at the restaurant, [...] was very helpful, courteous and fun. Excellent characteristics for service personnel. Ofcourse, we love the chocolate cookies and milk at night. Hmmm, never can get enough of those. Please don't take them away.:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Jul 22, 2010

Nostalgic and Classy

It was fun. Very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

This is perfect for Target Field. It cost $7 bucks to park there, which you are going to pay just for staying and by the time you walk back to the Hotel, the traffic has cleared up, and you zip right back onto the interstate and home you go!!!

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
silasmp
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jul 13, 2010

Funky & Quaint, but Clean & Convenient

Had to find a room in Minneapolis on short notice due to slight scheduling mishaps. Sought something downtown, walking distance to the pedestrian mall, so this funky hotel fit the bill. We checked in with our infant daughter, had lots of bags, and received no offer of assistance with our luggage. However, the staff woman that checked us in was very nice, and the rooms were clean and spacious. The funky "Norman" style--not quite sure how it differs from American Swiss chalet style--was bizarre. We prefer something a little more contemporary, but the cookies and milk at 10 o'clock were a nice touch. I'd also bet that the hotel feels pretty cozy in the cold Minnesota winter. All in all, the hotel met our needs, but we probably won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining choices on the pedestrian mall, just a 6-block walk from the hotel. Also, Minneapolis has these ambassadorial guys in neon green that roam around downtown and offer invaluable assistance to tourists. Very cool!

Back to menu Return to top