$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 7, 2010

A Hidden Gem

Quiet and charming. I attended a large conference at another hotel within an easy walking distance. Hotel is at the fringe of the part of town to stay in, don't want to go past this in the direction away from town. Hotel has a restaurant I'm told is good but did not experience. Many restaurants and stores are within walking distance, also train station close by, also bus routes. This was a nice escape. Not for folks that want slick and sophisticated, but a great and less expensive alternative if you like country style-rock/stone and wood decor. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Quiet climate controlled 4 story atrium houses the small pool, nice relatively large jacuzzi and a dry sauna. Free computers and internet access, a working piano, fresh cookies at 10 pm, fireplace with large chairs and a chessboard....I had reserved a regular room, was pleasantly surprised with a quiet small suite with fridge, microwave and bathroom all out of sight (and sound) of the sleeping area, a great arrangement. I loved this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squeaky Wallet
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 4, 2010

Great place in the downtown area.

I had a 4 day conference at another downtown hotel where the "special conference rate" was double the rate at the Normandy. The Normandy is 5 blocks away which is a 10 minute walk. To stay at the Normandy was a "no brainer", unless spending is not a issue for you. The only complaint I have is that one night a small group was noisey into the wee hours, but that can happen anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining in great places is nearby...if you prefer to eat away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Runner not happy
Business
Lombard, IL
Oct 4, 2010

Nice rooms, Not great service

[...] when I got back the next day, I was sent to a room that was already occupied. I then called for a late check out as I was running the Twin Cities Marathon, and no one told the front desk for the next morning and I was almost charged an extra night. When I tried to explain to the front desk what happened, they were very disrespectful to me and did not care. This hotel needs a training session in customer service and how to talk to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Target Field, about a 15 minute walk. Also, very close to numerous restaurants and shopping. Light Rail is a few blocks away which can be taken to the airport and Mall of America.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
Oct 3, 2010

Twins stay

It was a little hard to find as it doesn't have a big sign in the down town area. All the staff is real friendly. The room had a lot of space. The restraruant attached had very chatty servers. The food was fresh, but otherwise forgettable. They had some cleaning in the pool area that was distracting. The shuttle van to the Twins game was helpful, but the driver didn't seem to be as engaged as I have seen better shuttle drivers be. Overall, this hotel had a nice homey feeling that was relatively close to most everything. I checked in a bit early and the cleaning staff hasn't finished yet and there seemed to be trash int he hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Access to all the sporting venues

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MedFreqTraveler
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Sep 27, 2010

Good Price - just OK

Super Shuttle driver insisted I get confirmation of hotel I was staying at (his records showed a different hotel). After reaching staff they couldn't easily confirm my reservation and insisted on having me "hold" on my cell phone with a surly driver unwilling to drive me to the "wrong hotel." This put me in an uncomfortable situation. I'll never book Super Shuttle with [...] again.Restaurant is conveniently located just off the lobby. Scrambled eggs were undercooked. Really? Just after the big egg recall of 2010?? Eat breakfast at Hells Kitchen! That place is really good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mora, Mn
Aug 30, 2010

Anniversery

Anniversary. Sight seeing and relaxing in room, pool and hot tub. Great warm cookies and cold milk!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short and long walking. Very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2010

Unbeatle location for the price!

Great experience at the hotel. Old building with a decor of old European charm. Easy access from airport to downtown via the Light Rail System. Closest exit: Government Plaza, walk 2 or 3 blocks. Very close to Guthrie Theater, Nicolette Mall, restaurants, etc. Hotel is very clean. Large LCD Televisions for viewing pleasure. Indoor pool. Walls are thin, however, the building is quiet. I do not have a car. If you have a car, front desk will tell you that you are automatically charged daily parking fees per night. Please check with hotel. Please note that your credit or debit card will be placed on hold for incidentals such as movies or room damage. If you're on a tight budget bring along two credit cards. If you do not use any services and the room is o.k., the hold will be released by the bank which will take 1-5 business days for credit cards and 10-15 days on debit cards. There again this depends on your bank according to Best Western. Cash will not be accepted for incidentals. According to Best Western, it's the same for other hotels. headaches. Room-service menus are not up-to-date. It closes at 11:00 p.m. not 12:00 a.m. Check in experience: the gentlemen who helped me was new and superb at customer service; however, the other staff person was not discreet at all. I felt the force behind my back, anxiously running to tell me that he was new and in passing told the gentlemen that he needs to swipe my card knowing that I prepaid my account ahead of time. He should have pulled him aside and corrected him in private. That did not strike to well with me. I'm sure the guy felt like an idiot and me a suspect of not paying the bill when it was already paid! This hotel has a potential of being a five star hotel but due to management and hidden problems and what occurred it merits a 4. However, I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to downtown via Light Rail - Government Plaza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
best dad
Business
minnesota
Aug 16, 2010

fabulous

Great staff. Nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk to major dinning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Aug 10, 2010

Great experience

Hotel is comfortable. Old fashion feeling. They have cookies and milk at 10 pm for guests. Perfect small town feeling in the middle of downtown Minneapolis. No stressed, hurried, business people talking out loud on the cell phones. I found friendly faces, with a laid back atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fogo de Chao is a Brazilian Steak House. Its located about six blocks from the Hotel. Perfect food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fargo, ND
Aug 4, 2010

Pretty Good Hotel

Really nice place. Has a little smell to it once u walk in and in the hallways but besides that, everything else was superb! The rooms were nice and clean and i enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top