$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
170 reviews
Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in... See full review

  • BnJW
  • Aug 11, 2014
Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the... See full review

  • Amie the Great
  • Jul 30, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squeaky Wallet
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 4, 2010

Great place in the downtown area.

I had a 4 day conference at another downtown hotel where the "special conference rate" was double the rate at the Normandy. The Normandy is 5 blocks away which is a 10 minute walk. To stay at the Normandy was a "no brainer", unless spending is not a issue for you. The only complaint I have is that one night a small group was noisey into the wee hours, but that can happen anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining in great places is nearby...if you prefer to eat away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
Oct 3, 2010

Twins stay

It was a little hard to find as it doesn't have a big sign in the down town area. All the staff is real friendly. The room had a lot of space. The restraruant attached had very chatty servers. The food was fresh, but otherwise forgettable. They had some cleaning in the pool area that was distracting. The shuttle van to the Twins game was helpful, but the driver didn't seem to be as engaged as I have seen better shuttle drivers be. Overall, this hotel had a nice homey feeling that was relatively close to most everything. I checked in a bit early and the cleaning staff hasn't finished yet and there seemed to be trash int he hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Access to all the sporting venues

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MedFreqTraveler
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Sep 27, 2010

Good Price - just OK

Super Shuttle driver insisted I get confirmation of hotel I was staying at (his records showed a different hotel). After reaching staff they couldn't easily confirm my reservation and insisted on having me "hold" on my cell phone with a surly driver unwilling to drive me to the "wrong hotel." This put me in an uncomfortable situation. I'll never book Super Shuttle with [...] again.Restaurant is conveniently located just off the lobby. Scrambled eggs were undercooked. Really? Just after the big egg recall of 2010?? Eat breakfast at Hells Kitchen! That place is really good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mora, Mn
Aug 30, 2010

Anniversery

Anniversary. Sight seeing and relaxing in room, pool and hot tub. Great warm cookies and cold milk!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short and long walking. Very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 22, 2010

Unbeatle location for the price!

Great experience at the hotel. Old building with a decor of old European charm. Easy access from airport to downtown via the Light Rail System. Closest exit: Government Plaza, walk 2 or 3 blocks. Very close to Guthrie Theater, Nicolette Mall, restaurants, etc. Hotel is very clean. Large LCD Televisions for viewing pleasure. Indoor pool. Walls are thin, however, the building is quiet. I do not have a car. If you have a car, front desk will tell you that you are automatically charged daily parking fees per night. Please check with hotel. Please note that your credit or debit card will be placed on hold for incidentals such as movies or room damage. If you're on a tight budget bring along two credit cards. If you do not use any services and the room is o.k., the hold will be released by the bank which will take 1-5 business days for credit cards and 10-15 days on debit cards. There again this depends on your bank according to Best Western. Cash will not be accepted for incidentals. According to Best Western, it's the same for other hotels. headaches. Room-service menus are not up-to-date. It closes at 11:00 p.m. not 12:00 a.m. Check in experience: the gentlemen who helped me was new and superb at customer service; however, the other staff person was not discreet at all. I felt the force behind my back, anxiously running to tell me that he was new and in passing told the gentlemen that he needs to swipe my card knowing that I prepaid my account ahead of time. He should have pulled him aside and corrected him in private. That did not strike to well with me. I'm sure the guy felt like an idiot and me a suspect of not paying the bill when it was already paid! This hotel has a potential of being a five star hotel but due to management and hidden problems and what occurred it merits a 4. However, I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to downtown via Light Rail - Government Plaza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
best dad
Business
minnesota
Aug 16, 2010

fabulous

Great staff. Nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk to major dinning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Aug 10, 2010

Great experience

Hotel is comfortable. Old fashion feeling. They have cookies and milk at 10 pm for guests. Perfect small town feeling in the middle of downtown Minneapolis. No stressed, hurried, business people talking out loud on the cell phones. I found friendly faces, with a laid back atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fogo de Chao is a Brazilian Steak House. Its located about six blocks from the Hotel. Perfect food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fargo, ND
Aug 4, 2010

Pretty Good Hotel

Really nice place. Has a little smell to it once u walk in and in the hallways but besides that, everything else was superb! The rooms were nice and clean and i enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Jul 29, 2010

Great Location

Easy access to downtown and metro train. Service was excellent. Convenient with nice indoor pool. Would be a delight for kids and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Paul's Grill for reasonable breakfast and family dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jul 29, 2010

Good Hotel

The price was cheaper compared to others in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top