$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
170 reviews
Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in... See full review

  • BnJW
  • Aug 11, 2014
Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the... See full review

  • Amie the Great
  • Jul 30, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls area.
Dec 7, 2010

Great bed/Poor Service

Room was clean. Very comfortable bed. However wasn't too pleased when the day of check out I log on to my bank account to see a 50 pending transaction from the hotel itself on top of the Price Assurance of around 113.00. Called the Front Desk the lady says, "Oh they didn't tell you about the security deposit" They did not say anything about a deposit I inform her. I went down and they "tried" to have accounting put the funds back into my account but said they could not and it would be 5-12 business days to return them. If I was informed before purchasing and even at check-in I wouldn't have been as upset. Plus why a 50 dollar deposit? Why not just charge my card directly if something is missing or broken? What sense does a 50 dollar deposit make? Overall...not worth going back too. To be fair in a good location. Just disclose things please......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rock Bottom is an amazing joint for pool and Northstar beer! Freezing Walk take a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, NE
Nov 15, 2010

Conference Trip

Was there for a conference in the downtown area. Was within easy walking distance of Conference, food, shopping, and any entertainment that we desired in the evenings. Comfortable room with space and large TV. Pool, hottub, and sauna are open until 10pm. The parking is extremely reasonable and easily accessable to the hotel. A 24 hour fitness area available. Good experience and would stay here over again in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places within walking distance that will satisfy your food wants, needs, and desires.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mansfield, PA.
Nov 7, 2010

fine for the price

Overall friendly service Free nightly cookies and milk (literally!) was a nice touch. Maybe for those traveling with children it would be better to make the snack available before 10 pm tho'. Appreciated the free shuttle service to a neighboring hotel where my conference took place. For the price, a good "deal!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

While the hotel had its own restaurant, I did not dine there. Many choices for eating are available within a mile walk or less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hibbing.,mn.
Oct 26, 2010

great location

Went to see a Broadway production.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livermore CA
Oct 25, 2010

Normandy Inn

I enjoyed usinf the pool, jacuzi and sauna. Ice was available only on even numbered floors, which was a small irritation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grubber
Business
de forest wi
Oct 22, 2010

very nice, & great location

very injoyable, great location for the george strait concert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Oct 19, 2010

Great location and hotel!

I saw this online here and after reading some of the reviews it seemed more were positive and for the price, it seemed like a good deal. When we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised- it was much more modern and newer than the reviews implied. Granted, the building might not have been just built last year, but it's certainly not as old as most "downtown" mo/hotels are. Inside was definitely up to date as any modern hotel, as were the rooms, bathrooms, television, etc. Some people mentioned a musty smell- I never noticed such a thing at all. Maybe prior to renovation? Not an issue at all now. A very nice amenity was the indoor pool/ spa area. I had no idea it would be this cool. Probably 30 foot ceilings, stoney tile around the pool, comfortably hot spa pool next to the big pool- it was rad!! We hung out a bit there- so nice to relax after a long day of slaving away. Only thing that struck me out of the norm and it wasn't limited to just the hotel, was the lack of people ANYWHERE. It felt like we were the only ones there- in and OUT side of the hotel. Downtown Minneapolis has to be THE most deserted/ quiet downtown I've ever been to in my life... The bar/ restaurant downstairs we had breakfast one morning in- good food, def worth a try. The bar was nice as well, never minding the "ghost- town" ambience. Strange. The Normandy Inn definitely gets my vote of approval. Highly recommended. AAAA for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Keys cafe/ bakery on O'shays" was the bomb. Great food, drinks, and 3 PBR tall cans all day. Great atmosphere, not too hoity- toity and not too lowlife, either. Few blocks down 8th?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south dakota
Oct 18, 2010

good time

great location. clean large room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

to the metrodome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 7, 2010

A Hidden Gem

Quiet and charming. I attended a large conference at another hotel within an easy walking distance. Hotel is at the fringe of the part of town to stay in, don't want to go past this in the direction away from town. Hotel has a restaurant I'm told is good but did not experience. Many restaurants and stores are within walking distance, also train station close by, also bus routes. This was a nice escape. Not for folks that want slick and sophisticated, but a great and less expensive alternative if you like country style-rock/stone and wood decor. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Quiet climate controlled 4 story atrium houses the small pool, nice relatively large jacuzzi and a dry sauna. Free computers and internet access, a working piano, fresh cookies at 10 pm, fireplace with large chairs and a chessboard....I had reserved a regular room, was pleasantly surprised with a quiet small suite with fridge, microwave and bathroom all out of sight (and sound) of the sleeping area, a great arrangement. I loved this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Runner not happy
Business
Lombard, IL
Oct 4, 2010

Nice rooms, Not great service

[...] when I got back the next day, I was sent to a room that was already occupied. I then called for a late check out as I was running the Twin Cities Marathon, and no one told the front desk for the next morning and I was almost charged an extra night. When I tried to explain to the front desk what happened, they were very disrespectful to me and did not care. This hotel needs a training session in customer service and how to talk to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Target Field, about a 15 minute walk. Also, very close to numerous restaurants and shopping. Light Rail is a few blocks away which can be taken to the airport and Mall of America.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top