$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
169 reviews
Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in... See full review

  • BnJW
  • Aug 11, 2014
Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the... See full review

  • Amie the Great
  • Jul 30, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

44.9732 -93.2674
Area served
Minneapolis, MN.
Nearby airports
MSP - Minneapolis Saint Paul International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and provides easy and convenient access to the Government Center, convention center, Metrodome Stadium, Target Center, Nicollet Shopping Mall, Orchestra Hall and the Skyway System.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family ties
Conshohocken, PA
Aug 27, 2012

Family time

We had a great experience @ the Best Western in downtown Minneapolis. The staff was lovely and they made great recommendations for local places to eat. We plan to stay there next time we head to Minnesota.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hells Kitchen - make sure to get state fair cheese curds!

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jean beans21
chicago, il
Aug 17, 2014

great place for a Twins game!

girls weekend getaway! great location to walk the city! close to target field :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BnJW
Red Wing, Minnesota
Aug 11, 2014

Loved our stay!

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. It is close to everything we wanted to see and do in Minneapolis, was clean, and was affordable! There is also a nice old charm to this hotel that isn't found in typical cookie-cutter chains. The only drawback for me was the plushness of the mattress. I am used to sleeping on a mattress at home which is as close to a concrete block as possible - I love a firm mattress! With that said, most people probably prefer sleeping on a cloud and would love these beds. We would strongly recommend this hotel to others who are staying in Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous restaurants on the Nicollet Mall, only 4 blocks away. Our favorite is an Irish pub/restaurant called The Local at the corner of Nicollet Mall and 10th street.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MidRivDan
Iowa
Aug 1, 2014

Soft Mattress

In general, an adequate stay. The room and hotel were reasonably clean; however, the internet service was sporadic (we stayed in the back wing of the hotel) and the mattress was unusually soft (we're use to hotels having relatively firm mattresses). Good location. For the money, I considered it a pretty decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Molly's Buddy
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
Jul 31, 2014

Nicely renovated in a good location

This is an old hotel that's been renovated. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and updated. The room had lots of outlets and free wi-fi, so it was easy to get work done during my stay. Location wise, the hotel is a bit of a walk from Nicollet Mall and good restaurants. That said, the hotel restaurant is actually pretty good, if old fashioned. I arrived during a rush and the front desk staff were rushing to the point of rudeness, but the quality of the room made up for the lack of customer service at the front desk. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amie the Great
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 30, 2014

Well done!

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful from the front desk to their in hotel bar and restaurant. The Henry the VIII burger was delicious and so was their lemonade. The wifi left a lot to be desired, but all in all a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

A call to the front desk will keep you from having to search for local transportation online. They were able to arrange a town car for pick up in less than 15 minutes.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edgar Julio
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 30, 2014

Convenient access to Convention Center and Airport

2 blocks from light rail station (Government Plaza) that takes you to and from the airport. walking distance to convention center. Carpet was wet when I arrived and next day there was a stinky odor that eventually went away. The piano player was pleasant but there was not sitting facilities to enjoy the music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Traveler II
Business
Morgantown, WV
Jul 30, 2014

Great Place to Stay

This hotel is well located in downtown. Perfect if you don't like elevators (only four floors). It had everything we wanted at a great value. Parking availability was good and the cost was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trip to msp
pittsburgh
Jul 28, 2014

Visit

very clean hotel. room was very quiet. we were able to walk to downtown area and also over the river with no problems. did not drive but they did have on site parking. limited uses for their shuttle, so be prepared for other modes of transport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of very good places within a short to moderate walk from hotel. did not have a bad meal there.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frijoles777
Business
Chicago
Jun 25, 2014

Lobby needs updating but rooms are nice

The lobby hasn't been updated since the Ford Administration, but the rooms are nice. Good value and good location downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cubfanman
chicago ill
Jun 24, 2014

nice place

was in town for baseball games,couldn't ask for a better place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search