$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Aloft Minneapolis

3 stars
900 Washington Avenue South, 900 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55415
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
65 reviews
Great for business travelers.

Clean, Comfortable, Close to University of MN. I would recommend for Business Travelers. See full review

  • tcartervols
  • Oct 8, 2014
weekend getaway success

Very upscale beautiful detailing , the room was sheik and comfortable See full review

  • redkitty
  • Mar 17, 2014
Loft-inspired digs in trendy Mill District

Aloft Minneapolis is a Mill City newcomer in the bedrock of Minneapolis culture and history. Steps from hip hangouts, funky eateries and scenic parks along the Mississippi River, Aloft offers a fresh, loft-inspired twist on urban travel. Rooms feature platform beds, walk-in showers and tech-savvy touches: plug and play docking station, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Stop by Aloft's gourmet pantry for self-serve snacks, swim in the indoor pool or chill out over a fresh watermelon martini, the on-site bar's signature elixir.

Highlights

  • Play pool or shuffleboard in the lounge
  • Indoor parking available (fees apply)
  • PumpOne a-workouts -- customizable multimedia workout programs -- available for download onto laptops and handheld devices (fees apply)

Rooms

The modern decor at Aloft Minneapolis has a light-hearted urban vibe. Rooms include premium bedding, wall-mounted LCD TV, extra large windows, free Internet and mini-fridge. Aloft's grand bathrooms include designer Bliss Spa toiletries and oversized showerheads. Upgrade to a suite for a funky living room with highback chairs and couch, dining table and a separate bedroom.

Features

A vision from W Hotels, Aloft Minneapolis is abuzz with an on-the-go cafe and lobby bar. Pair a cappuccino with a savory snack at re:fuel by Aloft cafe, or grab a pint at w xyz bar. Stay in shape day or night at the on-site gym and pool. With free 24-7 keycard access to re:charge gym, enjoy a work out with Life Fitness stationary bikes, treadmills, stairclimbers and elliptical machines. The inviting space here includes yoga mats, strength machines, free weights and a stretching zone. Cool down at splash, the Aloft Minneapolis indoor pool. And it's cool to bring a laptop -- the pool area includes free wireless Internet access.

Transportation

  • Downtown East/Metrodome Light Rail Station (0.1 mi /0.2 km)
  • Amtrak (5.2 mi /8.4 km)
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.6 mi /15.5 km)

Attractions

  • Guthrie Theater (0.2 mi /0.2 km)
  • Mill City Museum (0.2 mi /0.4 km)
  • Open Book Literary Arts Center (0.3 mi /0.5 km)
  • Metrodome (0.4 mi /0.6 km)
  • St. Anthony Falls Heritage Trail (0.5 mi /0.8 km)
  • Weisman Art Museum (1.1 mi /1.8 km)
  • Target Center (1.3 mi /2.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts (2 mi /3.2 km)
  • Walker Art Center (2.2 mi /3.6 km)
  • Science Museum of Minnesota (8.8 mi /14.1 km)

Business

  • Free 24-hour business center with computers and printers
  • Private business meeting rooms available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aloft Minneapolis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aloft Minneapolis Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Express check in
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Guthrie Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.2 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 1 mi
  • Target Center: 1 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Target Field: 1.2 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.2 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.5 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.2 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 1 mi
  • Target Center: 1 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Target Field: 1.2 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.2 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.5 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 1.5 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.5 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.7 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.7 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 4.1 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 4.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.5 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5.1 mi

Dining

re:fuel by Aloft(SM)
Grab and go at re:fuel, our self-serve gourmet eatery full of mix-and-match meals, make-your-own cappuccinos, and more. Available 24-7 for the ultimate convenience, it’s the perfect place to refuel when you need a quick pick-me-up!
w xyz(SM) bar
Clink! Meet, mix, and mingle over cocktails at our ever-abuzz, never-a-dull-moment w xyz bar. The fun flows freely with everything from pints to Pinot Noirs to specialty sippers, plus a snack-attack menu, mood music, and can’t-miss events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Aloft Minneapolis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waynesville NC
Aug 19, 2009

Hip Hotels

Stayed one night before early morning flight. We were surprised that the hotel didn't have a parking lot. It was very modern and hip, extremely comfortable bed. Could have used more than one chair in the room. Room was very quiet, & we loved the TV wake-up call with music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from the light rail, which seems to go almost everywhere, including MSP airport, and looks to run from 4 AM until late night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimAnne
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Aloft Minneapolis

We visited several relatives in friends and took in the sights of Minneapolis and St. Paul, MN. The hotel locaton was excellent for our needs. Staff were friendly and helpful and room was comfortable. We wanted to be able to walk from the hotel to a sitdown breakfast, but there were no locations very close to the hotel. Even driving it was hard to find a place for breakfast. For some reason, the sheets on the bed kept coming off at night. I have never had this happen in a decent hotel before. Maybe they just didn't fit the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was an easy walk to several of the Minneapolis historal sights; e.g. Flour mills and stone arch bridge. We also were able to walk to a location to get a segway tour of the area. Great fun and good information about the city history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Iowa
Aug 9, 2009

Great for going to the Guthrie

We're from out of town and had evening Guthrie tickets. The location is great in that you can park and walk to the theater, dinner, and the hotel. The room was great - very "lofty". Only downside was there was an evening Twins game and the fans were really, really noisy in the hallways. Recommend the hotel saves the top floor as a "quiet" floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Guthrie, great restaurants in the Mill District, and the river - what more could you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 7, 2009

We loved this hotel.

A lovely modern room supplied with lots of towels and terrific bath products. The gym was well-equipped. The bar was lively. Service at the front desk was good. We walked to the Guthrie and several good restaurants nearby. Parking was extra, but cheap by big city standards. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 29, 2009

New Hotel Concept - a Winner!

First time visit to the Minneapolis area for vacation, worth a return trip. Historic area, wonderful walking and bike riding paths. A stone throw to the Gurtrie Theatre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Jul 6, 2009

Unique Location with lots to see

We were there for 4th of July and watched the fireworks on the beautiful Mississippi River. Also took a tour of the walking distance bars as well as drove earlier to Azia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Azia Restaurant and Sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Culture Foodie
Business
Pasadena, CA
May 27, 2009

Great hotel, great location, great price

My first visit to Minneapolis was great because the terrific Aloft hotel was 2 steps to the Guthrie Theater, several amazing restaurants, "Cue" at the Guthrie and especially, Kin Dee (thai restaurant)across from the Guthrie and hotel located 2 blocks from the light rail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several outstanding restaurants 2 short blocks from the hotel next to; inside and across the street from the Guthrie Theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
-res-
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2009

Highly Recommended!

aLoft is really close to the Hiawatha Light Rail so coming from the airport to the Metrodome Station to the hotel was super easy and convenient. The hotel lobby is ultra modern with the WXYZ bar in the adjacent corner. A dj was spinning some mellow beats which dictated the atmosphere. The room was modern minimal with very comfortable beds with a light down comforter. The HD tv was perfect to watch the NBA eastern and western conference finals on. The showers and toilet are in the same closet. The only gripe I had with my stay was that the hotel did not serve any food besides finger bar food. We were given menus, but pizza gets a little old almost every night. Great experience, friendly staff and a non-pretentious vibe. Next time I visit Minneapolis, I'm definitely staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To get to the downtown warehouse district, take the light rail south about 4 exits and all the restaurants and bars are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex and Jeff
Business
Chicago
May 26, 2009

Lovely hotel, centrally located

My boyfriend and I really loved this hotel. We booked it through Orbitz and it was very reasonably priced, especially considering the quality of the place. The decor is hip, there's a bar on the first floor, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. They were always willing to find answers to any questions we had and help us get to where we wanted to go. The hotel is a pretty good location for exploring the city- it's right by the Metrodome (where the Twins/Vikings play) and near downtown. Uptown is about three miles away, and University of Minnesota/Dinkytown is just across the river. We walked almost the whole time; although we were exhausted when we got back home, it was definitely doable, and we got to see all sorts of great stuff along our routes. Grumpy's is a bar right down the street from the hotel; they have a very extensive jukebox, cool bartenders, and a Simpsons pinball machine, but the drinks were somewhat pricey. The hotel was also by the light rail, which will take you to the airport, Mall of America, and Minnehaha Falls, a really nice park about 20 minutes outside downtown. We were very satisfied with the accommodations, and Minneapolis is a great place to visit for a long weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Bryant-Lake Bowl; their food is amazing (especially breakfast), there's a full bar with awesome Bloody Marys, and they have self-score bowling alleys in the back. On Mondays they have date night: two entrees, wine, and bowling for about $30.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wi
May 25, 2009

aloft

Close to Metrodome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Metrodome short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top