$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Aloft Minneapolis

3 stars
900 Washington Avenue South, 900 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55415
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
65 reviews
weekend getaway success

Very upscale beautiful detailing , the room was sheik and comfortable See full review

  • redkitty
  • Mar 17, 2014
Prime downtown location

Good base for exploring downtown Minneapolis. Nice decor and atmosphere. Staff of variable quality... See full review

  • Erkunder
  • Jul 29, 2014
Loft-inspired digs in trendy Mill District

Aloft Minneapolis is a Mill City newcomer in the bedrock of Minneapolis culture and history. Steps from hip hangouts, funky eateries and scenic parks along the Mississippi River, Aloft offers a fresh, loft-inspired twist on urban travel. Rooms feature platform beds, walk-in showers and tech-savvy touches: plug and play docking station, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Stop by Aloft's gourmet pantry for self-serve snacks, swim in the indoor pool or chill out over a fresh watermelon martini, the on-site bar's signature elixir.

Highlights

  • Play pool or shuffleboard in the lounge
  • Indoor parking available (fees apply)
  • PumpOne a-workouts -- customizable multimedia workout programs -- available for download onto laptops and handheld devices (fees apply)

Rooms

The modern decor at Aloft Minneapolis has a light-hearted urban vibe. Rooms include premium bedding, wall-mounted LCD TV, extra large windows, free Internet and mini-fridge. Aloft's grand bathrooms include designer Bliss Spa toiletries and oversized showerheads. Upgrade to a suite for a funky living room with highback chairs and couch, dining table and a separate bedroom.

Features

A vision from W Hotels, Aloft Minneapolis is abuzz with an on-the-go cafe and lobby bar. Pair a cappuccino with a savory snack at re:fuel by Aloft cafe, or grab a pint at w xyz bar. Stay in shape day or night at the on-site gym and pool. With free 24-7 keycard access to re:charge gym, enjoy a work out with Life Fitness stationary bikes, treadmills, stairclimbers and elliptical machines. The inviting space here includes yoga mats, strength machines, free weights and a stretching zone. Cool down at splash, the Aloft Minneapolis indoor pool. And it's cool to bring a laptop -- the pool area includes free wireless Internet access.

Transportation

  • Downtown East/Metrodome Light Rail Station (0.1 mi /0.2 km)
  • Amtrak (5.2 mi /8.4 km)
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.6 mi /15.5 km)

Attractions

  • Guthrie Theater (0.2 mi /0.2 km)
  • Mill City Museum (0.2 mi /0.4 km)
  • Open Book Literary Arts Center (0.3 mi /0.5 km)
  • Metrodome (0.4 mi /0.6 km)
  • St. Anthony Falls Heritage Trail (0.5 mi /0.8 km)
  • Weisman Art Museum (1.1 mi /1.8 km)
  • Target Center (1.3 mi /2.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts (2 mi /3.2 km)
  • Walker Art Center (2.2 mi /3.6 km)
  • Science Museum of Minnesota (8.8 mi /14.1 km)

Business

  • Free 24-hour business center with computers and printers
  • Private business meeting rooms available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

44.9766 -93.2558
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Minneapolis-St Paul International Airport, (MSP), 9.66, KM;
Area description
Airport, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aloft Minneapolis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aloft Minneapolis Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Express check in
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Guthrie Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.2 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 1 mi
  • Target Center: 1 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Target Field: 1.2 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.2 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.5 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.2 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 1 mi
  • Target Center: 1 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Target Field: 1.2 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.2 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.5 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 1.5 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.5 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.5 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.7 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.7 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 4.1 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 4.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.5 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5.1 mi

Dining

re:fuel by Aloft(SM)
Grab and go at re:fuel, our self-serve gourmet eatery full of mix-and-match meals, make-your-own cappuccinos, and more. Available 24-7 for the ultimate convenience, it’s the perfect place to refuel when you need a quick pick-me-up!
w xyz(SM) bar
Clink! Meet, mix, and mingle over cocktails at our ever-abuzz, never-a-dull-moment w xyz bar. The fun flows freely with everything from pints to Pinot Noirs to specialty sippers, plus a snack-attack menu, mood music, and can’t-miss events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Aloft Minneapolis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florence, SC
Jan 18, 2010

Great location and great hotel!!!!

Hotel was superb and Metrodome was within walking distance which was the main reason we chose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ and PV, Minneapolis rookies
Atlanta, GA
Dec 9, 2009

Very cool hotel!

The hotel itself is very nice - cool, trendy and modern with a friendly, helpful and responsive staff. The free shuttle rides available (certain hours apply) was a great perk and helped us save some money on local transportation! When we arrived we were very pleased with the atmosphere of the hotel. The location was great too - just two blocks from the Metrodome stadium and the Light Rail train station, which can take you to the Mall of America, airport, downtown and more for a cheap fare! This was a very convenient feature. The hotel is located in the trendy, artsy district of the city and you feel right at home in the loft-style hotel to match all the loft-style homes in the area. While we were here we discovered a few nearby places we'd highly recommend. For restaurants, about a block away is The Old Spaghetti Factory - yum! About a block in the other direction are Grumpy's Bar (great place to get some pub food, hang out, play pool, darts, video games or just chill and have a drink and listen to the music!), Maxwell's (american food pub and bar....excellent food and they offer the option of fresh veggies with certain entrees instead of fries or chips) and Sarpino's (pizza place - great gourmet pizzas and free delivery). Also within a short walking distance is The Depot ice skating rink and also a liquor store, if partying outside of the bar scene is more your thing. The few things we didn't like about the hotel: not much storage at all for clothes and personal items - we used our suitcases as our "dresser" for the week because there are only a few (open) shelves in the bathroom area to store your things. Also, the bed was not comfortable - very hard with no give. Finally, the bedding is annoying here...they don't use fitted sheets and I thought this comment that another visitor made about the sheets not fitting was silly, but they actually make a good point! The sheet kept coming off and didn't stay in place that well and that sort of thing drove me nuts. Overall, this was a very cool hotel and I'm glad we stayed here. The wxyz bar in the lobby was neat, free pool table, board games and shuffle board were a plus and the re:fuel snack and beverage bar, open 24/7, in the lobby was convenient. The only reason I wouldn't stay here again is because my back is still sore from the hard bed....otherwise, this is a great pick!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grumpy's, Maxwell's, The Old Spaghetti Factory, Sawatdee (thai restaurant), deli in the gas station (Mobil or Amoco?) about a block (north) past Maxwell's....worth the walk, very tasty and open really late!

Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jourdepaye
Minnesota
Dec 1, 2009

location location location

The lobby/bar area was so open and inviting - very friendly relaxed atmosphere. ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metrodome just a few blocks away

Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chisholm, mn
Nov 23, 2009

Vikes game

Great staff and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fargo
Oct 24, 2009

very uptown

Fun atmosphere, nice rooms. Parking was easier because I'd read reviews and expected it to be around the corner from front door. Restaurants close by but the most fun was the farmers market a block away on Sat. morning - it was fabulous spot for goat cheese omelet, cardamon donuts, fresh veggies, fresh cheese and wonderful (cheap!) flowers....definately on the list of places to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk along the river on the trails is really a good start to the day. And shopping downtown Mpls is really fun - Walleye sandwich at Hell's Kitchen is worth a plane ticket.

Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vikings #1 Fan
Brainerd, MN
Oct 13, 2009

Overnight while at the DOME

Hotel location and rooms were great. Best location for a Monday Night Football game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only two blocks from the Dome. Perfect location.

Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Sep 8, 2009

.

Very nice hotel, I wore jeans into the hotel and felt very underdressed. Very noisy, work was being done and you could hear an alarm in the next room at 7am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, WI
Sep 8, 2009

Not your same old hotel experience

Very modern and eclectic setting. Beds are very comfortable and 42 inch HDTV is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great location for walking with it's proximity to the Mill Ruins area along the Mississippi River. Walk the Heritage Trail that takes you over the river via stone pedestrian bridge to a quant area of restaurants and cafes with outdoor seating.

Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 3, 2009

Great Hotel, Friendly Staff

Great hotel in a good location near the UMN campus. First time stay and glad we happened upon this hotel through the Orbitz listings. Large, clean rooms. Lively lobby and lounge. I expected to be required to pay an extra fee for our pet. Instead we got first class service without any extra cost. In fact, soon after check-in the staff arrived with feeding bowls and treats for our small dog! Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again during our future vists to the UMN campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aloft Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waynesville NC
Aug 19, 2009

Hip Hotels

Stayed one night before early morning flight. We were surprised that the hotel didn't have a parking lot. It was very modern and hip, extremely comfortable bed. Could have used more than one chair in the room. Room was very quiet, & we loved the TV wake-up call with music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from the light rail, which seems to go almost everywhere, including MSP airport, and looks to run from 4 AM until late night.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search