$51 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Motel 6 Duluth

1 star
200 South 27th Ave West, I-35 at Exit #254, Duluth, MN 55806
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
158 reviews
get what you pay for

It was worth the price, clean and located close to where we needed to be. Restaurant next door was... See full review

  • lady Tee1
  • Jan 1, 2014
Great place to sleep, if that's all you need it for!

If you just want somewhere to sleep this is the perfect place! Our room was clean, the beds were... See full review

  • Jess The Fabulous
  • Jul 16, 2013
Motel 6 Duluth has easy access from I-35. Just minutes away from Spirit Mountain hiking and skiing. Convenient to all summer and winter events and attractions like Grandmas Marathon, Air and Water shows, aquarium, hockey tournaments, snow cross race.

Hotel Map

46.7599 -92.1295
Nearby airports
Duluth Intl Airport, (DLH), 6.50, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Duluth also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Motel 6 Duluth Rooms

Deluxe
2 Full Beds Non-Smoking, WiFi , Free Cable

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Duluth Entertainment Center: 2.1 mi

Dining

Duluth Grill
Adjacent
Perkins
One mile
Burger King
Adjacent
Clyde Iron Works Bar And Grill
4 Blocks
T Bonz Bar And Grill
3 Blocks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Duluth

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
loves duluth
Business
minnesota
Aug 17, 2009

good price for summer

the hotel was not as bad as others had written. It was clean, did not smell in our room. Decent deal for the price. Location was not that bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kcmo
Aug 12, 2009

Never stay here!

When we arrived the first thing noticed was the beds. It looked like someone had just slept in them and the room smelled really bad. This place is a dive. They moved us to another room, didn't smell any better, but the beds looked in a little better shape. We will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mints-a-hoy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 27, 2009

good enough for the price

the sheets were clean the blankets on the other hand were stained and obviously very old...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
duluth, mn
Jul 12, 2009

Duluth July 10

Room smelled bad and was hot even though I had the a/c on the coldest setting and it was not that hot outside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tracy and Matt
Business
Grand Rapids, MN
Jul 6, 2009

This place is horrible

We go to the hotel at about 4 pm. We had to drive through a not very nice part of town. It was kind of scary. The hotel is in a good spot as far as it is close to the road, a gas station and a fast food joint. The lady at the counter was nice. When I signed up on here there was no tax added. It said it was $89 and that was all. When I got to the place it was over $100 after their 13% tax they add on. I asked for towels as we were going to take showers before we went down by the lake and I knew we would when we came back as well. I did not get them. When I called down when we came back the lady said I had to walk down to the front desk as they could not leave the desk. Inconvinient when You have spent the day walking around and just want to shower and go to sleep. The room smelled weird and the carpet had a kinda gross sticky feeling if you walked on it with bare feet. The beds were half way comfortable and not in bad repair. The room across the way had the window partially open and the screen was out like someone was planning on sneeking back in later. I called to the front desk to let them know about that and nothing was done as far as I could tell. Over all the stay its self was not bad as it was a place to sleep but it was not high no the "customer oriented" part of things. I would not stay there again if I could help it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Canal Park is just a short drive down the freeway. It was a lot of fun and there is a lot to do both down on the water and on superior street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 5, 2009

Not-so cheap for a not-so great location

I stayed one night in this motel and I booked this motel last minute booking during a holiday weekend. I wasn't surprised that there were still rooms available. The location was ok, immediately off of the highway, but I was concerned about the security of my car due to the surrounding area. Security patrol the building from 10pm-7am because of previous theft incidents. It is a 5 minute drive from downtown Duluth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

For a Holiday weekend in the Duluth, MN surrounding area, this was the cheapest place I could find. It was deceptively advertised as under $100, but when I arrived they had hiked the price up $40.00 more than the advertised price. It was a last option for a place to stay. Also, my non-smoking room smelled like it had been a smoking room at one point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 20, 2009

Fine, but nothing exciting

The hotel was nothing special. I stayed there one night for a marathon in Duluth, and it did the job. The surrounding area isn't anything to look at, but I felt safe walking around as a woman, and the hotel felt secure. The staff was very nice and helpful - let me check in early and leave my bags behind the counter after checking out for picking up later. The hotel looks a little run-down, but it's fine, and it is close to a good restaurant, the Duluth Grill, as well as some fast food places. No hairdryer, no shampoo, and no tissues. Carpet had some stains, but I think the room was actually clean. In short, not somewhere you would want to stay multiple nights, but it is a bed, and it's not too expensive. One hint - if you are running the Grandma's Marathon, this hotel is NOT one with its own shuttle stop, you'll have to taxi to the DECC or 1.2 miles south to Comfort Inn West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apple Valley, MN
Jun 20, 2009

Totally unhappy

We arrived and checked in and were put in a room that had not been cleaned yet, we went to let the check in desk staff know about this and she said she was sorry and placed us in a new room, within a 1/2 hour of being there someone walked in on us without knocking and said they thought the room was empty. We went to the desk and asked for a do not disturb sign,which they informed us they do not have any,back at the room in the mean time we had to unclog the toilet because someone had stuck a bar of soap in there stopping it from flushing. It was suppose to be a non-smoking room but the bed covers had cigarette burn holes in them, we checked out and our card was credited and found another place which was more expensive but well worth it after our experience which we had just encountered. We have stayed at Motel 6's in the past and were always previously satisfied with our stays.This particular Motel 6 was in a dumpy area, staff didn't communicate with each other as to when a room was rented, etc. Housekeeping either put the bar of soap in the toilet themselves, or they simply didn't clean the toilet. This was very apparent to us as we walked into the bathroom that something was wrong with the toilet. There was no soap offered for using the bathroom or shower, we had to go ask for that after we unclogged the toilet. After being sent to a dirty room, the staff walking in on us, and unclogging the toilet all with in the first 1/2 hour of arrival, we didn't feel like we would be very happy there for 3 more days. We also didn't feel safe leaving anything in the room while we went out sightseeing, or sleeping at night since the staff walks right in. We went to the front desk and said we were checking out, and wanted our money refunded. The front desk clerk did refund our money right away and we were out the door. Definitely NOT the place to stay, shop around ahead of time if possible and know your location of the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
duluth, mn
Jun 15, 2009

had a nice stay

we went to see our friend at the decc in duluth, mn where he had is troop farewell ceremony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Duluth

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Jun 15, 2009

Duluth Trip

We booked the room for three nights, but upon arrival were told that we would have to change rooms each night and they only had smoking left. When asked about how bad the smoking rooms were, the guy at the front desk just grimaced, and said that they were pretty bad. The whole building was in bad repair with holes rotted in the outside and the window sills/frames rotting. The room smelled (maybe paint?) and the comforters had holes burned into them. The chairs in the room were not safe to sit in as the joints had become un-glued. The carpet both in the room and halls were badly stained. The key cards didn't work for the outside doors so you had to be sure someone was at the door to let you in again. We only stayed the one night and moved to another motel for the others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top