$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

The Met Hotel

3 stars
5500 Crooks Road, Troy, MI 48098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
233 reviews
great place to stay

Everything was great beautiful hotel! Everyone had a great time would stay again in the future. See full review

  • Brian B.
  • Jan 25, 2015
great location

convenient to all Troy/Birmingham activities with multiple dining venues available See full review

  • JoeCW
  • Jan 14, 2015
Where style meets comfort and convenience, in the Detroit suburbs

The Met is a first-class hotel just 25 minutes north of downtown Detroit. Situated on a lush, 18-acre site in the northern suburb of Troy, the Met offers guests both convenience and tranquility. The ambience starts with the Met's sophisticated, contemporary design, extends to the placid pool area, and ends with a good night's sleep in a spacious and stylishly decorated guest room. There's also the satisfaction of knowing that business and leisure destinations are never far away.

Highlights
  • Convenient suburban location near shopping, golf, and skiing, and less than a half hour from downtown Detroit
  • Stylish rooms feature free Wi-Fi and deluxe bath products
  • 7,440-square-foot ballroom and 13 meeting rooms for business events
Rooms

Each one of the Met Hotel's generously sized king or club-level rooms features upscale decor and furnishings. Guests enjoy deluxe amenities including cable TV, coffee maker, desk and ergonomic chair.

Features

Contemporary styling is the hallmark of the Met Hotel. The beautifully decorated lobby welcomes guests and invites them to gather in the comfortable seating areas.

 

While close to dozens of area shopping, recreational, and business destinations, guests have plenty to do right at the hotel. They can swim in the indoor pool and work out in the well-equipped fitness center.

 

The hotel accommodates business meetings and functions in its well-appointed event facilities, where catering services are available.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (40 mi/64 km)
  • Bishop International Airport, Flint (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Amtrak, Detroit (20 mi/32 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Somerset Collection shopping center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Cobo Convention Center (23.6 mi/38 km)
Business
  • In-room work desk
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities and services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Met Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Met Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Duluxe room with two double beds
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King Bedroom
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
King room with pullout sofa

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With over 23,000 square feet of meeting function space, the hotel is one of Michigan's top meeting and convention sites. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, 7,440 square foot ballroom, 13 different meeting rooms, largest room seats 1000 people.

Dining

Loccino's Italian Restaurant .1 miles
Loccino's Italian Restaurant .1 miles
Red Robin - .3 miles
Red Robin - .3 miles
Nobana Shushi - .3 miles
Nobana Shushi - .3 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for The Met Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 233
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WC.512
Business
Falls Church
Jan 15, 2015

Good place to stay with family

This hotel used to be a major label hotel. They have gone out on their own and it is an a bit of a mixed bag. Some of the hotel upkeep is struggling, but for the most part its fine. Its not the best hotel I have stayed in, but it is well worth what we paid. The other thing is that I go there with my family. We are looking for a clean and safe hotel room with enough space in the rooms. We were happy staying here and we are likely to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Afsha
Business
Lincolnwood
Jan 5, 2015

Don't stay here, the worst hotel experience!

Where should I begin with this place? Came on Christmas Day for hotel reservations for Wedding I was attending in Detroit. Although this place is advertised as Hotel, it's definitely not, it's a hotel. I had booked two rooms for two nights but they had lost one of my reservations. The desk person was really nice to fix it but I had to wait almost 30 minutes from checking in to finally get to my room. The room itself was not good. The room smelled of stale smoke and mold. The ceilings were cracked and patched up, and appeared of water leaking from them. The heater was not working either, so the room remained cold, especially since it was 20 degrees at night. My room didn't have a functional TV and remote control was missing, and also their FREE wifi doesn't apply to in-room because wifi didn't work there. I called front desk to fix it but they just wanted me to move rooms. The second room they gave me was even worst than my current room. It ceiling damage and water leaked allover the bed. However my breaking point with this place was on our last morning, where the alarm went off. The building is so old and dingy that there wasn't any proper indication of it was in fact the fire alarm (no proper lighting was being emitted in the hallways). The front desk couldn't be reached to verify and no one came to my room to evacuate us or let us know what was going on. After running out of my hotel room to the outside area, noticed everyone was going back to main lobby. Only then we found that it was False Alarm. The reason they couldn't warn us was because they were short-staffed and couldn't leave their desk, Overall, I would not recommend staying at this hotel, instead stay at well known hotel chain such as Hilton or Marriott. You'll get a clean and comfortable room with great service, instead of what I had to deal with at the Met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay at Marriott or Hilton Hotel Chain, instead of this hotel. They cost the same but are much better in cleanliness and service of stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
digseac
Business
Wasilla, AK
Oct 31, 2014

Could easily be so much more

A nice easy to find facility just off the 75 freeway. Lots of parking. It was a great value but they failed on several levels. Housekeeping saved me $5 a day on four of the days by not cleaning and picking up the tip on my pillow. If you aren't out the door by the time housekeeping comes by (one day at 1120, and two others before 1030#, don't expect your room to be cleaned. The room was clean upon arrival then was only cleaned twice after that on a six night stay. One day I left an empty toilet paper roll and rod on the bathroom counter and when I returned that evening the empty rod had been replaced. And that was one of the two days I recieved cleaning service. Three times I had to go down and get fresh towels. On the fourth day the unoperable refrigerator was finally replaced. Everybody I spoke with was very pleasant, just not necessarily effective. My room was very spacious and comfortable. The pool #50x25) and gym are very nice but undermarketed ammenities at the property. This property has sooooo much potential, just needs either more personnel or more personnel that care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hunter S
Business
Chicago
Oct 29, 2014

Good deal

Interesting place -- a former Hilton in a downturned business park. Sculptures, nice beds, but fraying on all the edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy day mimi
Business
Troy mi
Oct 21, 2014

Nice

Inexpensive hotel that didn't have everything the high price hotels have but the staff was so friendly ill go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MoMo Michell
Business
Canton, MI
Oct 20, 2014

Wedding Location

I got an unbelievable deal on this hotel and the room was totally acceptable. I just have 2 issues I was unhappy with. First, the front desk staff did not always answer the phone. Then, when we requested a cot for our room we were told they do not allow cots in the double rooms because it is a fire hazard. That issue may not have totally been their fault but I've been in smaller hotel rooms w/ far much more furniture. The cot would have fit without creating a hazard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie Swim Dad
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Oct 20, 2014

Excellent hotel, Excellent value

I was sceptical when booking this hotel. On arrival I felt like I had struck gold. This hotel is quite clean, with all the basics you could ask for, given the price. There are a few minor maintenance items that I could see, and yes it is a little dated with the decor. But who cares, when you have a very comfortable and clean room, for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast is not included, but there are the typical breakfast on the go places just up the road within minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tigersbite
Business
Lexington, KY
Oct 14, 2014

Good for the price

For the price paid (on average $45/night) the Met is a good deal. You can tell it's starting to show its age, but the rooms are clean enough, and if you are just looking for a place to sleep it's just right. The parking lot is dark and remote from the hotel. No breakfast service. The biggest complain would be some of the other guests. A lot of loitering around entrances, noise, and smoking in the hallways Pros: Friendly front desk staff, clean room, comfortable bed, good location, decent gym/pool/sauna facilities Cons: Cigarette smoke smell in hallways, rooms show age, no breakfast, poor lighting in parking lots, long distance to parking lot, poor sound proofing (room to hallway), limited tv station choices (many are fuzzy), climate control not accurate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Since the hotel is surrounded by business parks, there are not many close restaurants/stores. There are no refrigerators in the rooms, so buy non-perishable snacks and foods you may want before you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Mom65
Business
Madison Heights, Michigan
Oct 6, 2014

Disappointed Returning Guest

We have stayed numerous times at this hotel and was always treated well, and any problems were handled immediately. This time, very, very disappointed. Our TV's remote did not work, the TV's reception had snowy picture on each channel. The room was very rundown. And, I was charged some ridiculous fee for reserving room through a third party. Have, never, ever got charged a fee and have booked numerous times through a third party. Will think twice, about staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super misled
Business
SF, ca
Sep 7, 2014

Bad stay

This hotel room was horrible. Our bed sheets were dirty and stained. The headboard was broken, we were not provided with any soap or shampoo and the bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned for days. To top it off the staff was rude. I thought It would be safer to stay away from downtown Detroit, but honestly I think I would have been better to stay downtown. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top