$70 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

The Met Hotel

3 stars
View map of 5500 Crooks Road, Troy, MI 48098

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
266 reviews
wondeful

I was visiting my boyfriend and we had a great experience. Great staff and rooms were clean and... See full review

  • Travelling couple96
  • Apr 10, 2015
I had a great time

I loved my room. It was safe and romantic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Cleandra H.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Where style meets comfort and convenience, in the Detroit suburbs

The Met is a first-class hotel just 25 minutes north of downtown Detroit. Situated on a lush, 18-acre site in the northern suburb of Troy, the Met offers guests both convenience and tranquility. The ambience starts with the Met's sophisticated, contemporary design, extends to the placid pool area, and ends with a good night's sleep in a spacious and stylishly decorated guest room. There's also the satisfaction of knowing that business and leisure destinations are never far away.

Highlights
  • Convenient suburban location near shopping, golf, and skiing, and less than a half hour from downtown Detroit
  • Stylish rooms feature free Wi-Fi and deluxe bath products
  • 7,440-square-foot ballroom and 13 meeting rooms for business events
Rooms

Each one of the Met Hotel's generously sized king or club-level rooms features upscale decor and furnishings. Guests enjoy deluxe amenities including cable TV, coffee maker, desk and ergonomic chair.

Features

Contemporary styling is the hallmark of the Met Hotel. The beautifully decorated lobby welcomes guests and invites them to gather in the comfortable seating areas.

 

While close to dozens of area shopping, recreational, and business destinations, guests have plenty to do right at the hotel. They can swim in the indoor pool and work out in the well-equipped fitness center.

 

The hotel accommodates business meetings and functions in its well-appointed event facilities, where catering services are available.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (40 mi/64 km)
  • Bishop International Airport, Flint (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Amtrak, Detroit (20 mi/32 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Somerset Collection shopping center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Cobo Convention Center (23.6 mi/38 km)
Business
  • In-room work desk
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities and services

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Met Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Met Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Duluxe room with two double beds
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King Bedroom
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
King room with pullout sofa

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Dining

Loccino's Italian Restaurant .1 miles
Loccino's Italian Restaurant .1 miles
Red Robin - .3 miles
Red Robin - .3 miles
Nobana Shushi - .3 miles
Nobana Shushi - .3 miles

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With over 23,000 square feet of meeting function space, the hotel is one of Michigan's top meeting and convention sites. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, 7,440 square foot ballroom, 13 different meeting rooms, largest room seats 1000 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Met Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 266
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jess
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

you get what you pay for

The room and pool were not the cleanest and decor was outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cleandra H.
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

I had a great time

I loved my room. It was safe and romantic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tresa
Business
Detroit
Feb 18, 2015

get away

I had a good stay other than the tv being out dated and the tub dirt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jayfin226
Business
louisville
Feb 4, 2015

stay

Have stayed here many time and have always enjoyed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WC.512
Business
Falls Church
Jan 15, 2015

Good place to stay with family

This hotel used to be a major label hotel. They have gone out on their own and it is an a bit of a mixed bag. Some of the hotel upkeep is struggling, but for the most part its fine. Its not the best hotel I have stayed in, but it is well worth what we paid. The other thing is that I go there with my family. We are looking for a clean and safe hotel room with enough space in the rooms. We were happy staying here and we are likely to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Afsha
Business
Lincolnwood
Jan 5, 2015

Don't stay here, the worst hotel experience!

Where should I begin with this place? Came on Christmas Day for hotel reservations for Wedding I was attending in Detroit. Although this place is advertised as Hotel, it's definitely not, it's a hotel. I had booked two rooms for two nights but they had lost one of my reservations. The desk person was really nice to fix it but I had to wait almost 30 minutes from checking in to finally get to my room. The room itself was not good. The room smelled of stale smoke and mold. The ceilings were cracked and patched up, and appeared of water leaking from them. The heater was not working either, so the room remained cold, especially since it was 20 degrees at night. My room didn't have a functional TV and remote control was missing, and also their FREE wifi doesn't apply to in-room because wifi didn't work there. I called front desk to fix it but they just wanted me to move rooms. The second room they gave me was even worst than my current room. It ceiling damage and water leaked allover the bed. However my breaking point with this place was on our last morning, where the alarm went off. The building is so old and dingy that there wasn't any proper indication of it was in fact the fire alarm (no proper lighting was being emitted in the hallways). The front desk couldn't be reached to verify and no one came to my room to evacuate us or let us know what was going on. After running out of my hotel room to the outside area, noticed everyone was going back to main lobby. Only then we found that it was False Alarm. The reason they couldn't warn us was because they were short-staffed and couldn't leave their desk, Overall, I would not recommend staying at this hotel, instead stay at well known hotel chain such as Hilton or Marriott. You'll get a clean and comfortable room with great service, instead of what I had to deal with at the Met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay at Marriott or Hilton Hotel Chain, instead of this hotel. They cost the same but are much better in cleanliness and service of stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sally Ann soccer mom
Business
toronto
Nov 30, 2014

older hotel but price was good

Hotel is older needs updating however price was good and staff extremely helpful. Location good easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
digseac
Business
Wasilla, AK
Oct 31, 2014

Could easily be so much more

A nice easy to find facility just off the 75 freeway. Lots of parking. It was a great value but they failed on several levels. Housekeeping saved me $5 a day on four of the days by not cleaning and picking up the tip on my pillow. If you aren't out the door by the time housekeeping comes by (one day at 1120, and two others before 1030#, don't expect your room to be cleaned. The room was clean upon arrival then was only cleaned twice after that on a six night stay. One day I left an empty toilet paper roll and rod on the bathroom counter and when I returned that evening the empty rod had been replaced. And that was one of the two days I recieved cleaning service. Three times I had to go down and get fresh towels. On the fourth day the unoperable refrigerator was finally replaced. Everybody I spoke with was very pleasant, just not necessarily effective. My room was very spacious and comfortable. The pool #50x25) and gym are very nice but undermarketed ammenities at the property. This property has sooooo much potential, just needs either more personnel or more personnel that care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hunter S
Business
Chicago
Oct 29, 2014

Good deal

Interesting place -- a former Hilton in a downturned business park. Sculptures, nice beds, but fraying on all the edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy day mimi
Business
Troy mi
Oct 21, 2014

Nice

Inexpensive hotel that didn't have everything the high price hotels have but the staff was so friendly ill go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top