$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

The Met Hotel

3 stars
5500 Crooks Road, Troy, MI 48098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
216 reviews
love it nice

i enjoy my stay and the pool was nice and warm end See full review

  • bigbossman41
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great hotel for the price

Convenient location and a very friendly staff. The room was clean and comfortable. See full review

  • RCJJ
  • Sep 7, 2014
Where style meets comfort and convenience, in the Detroit suburbs

The Met is a first-class hotel just 25 minutes north of downtown Detroit. Situated on a lush, 18-acre site in the northern suburb of Troy, the Met offers guests both convenience and tranquility. The ambience starts with the Met's sophisticated, contemporary design, extends to the placid pool area, and ends with a good night's sleep in a spacious and stylishly decorated guest room. There's also the satisfaction of knowing that business and leisure destinations are never far away.

Highlights
  • Convenient suburban location near shopping, golf, and skiing, and less than a half hour from downtown Detroit
  • Stylish rooms feature free Wi-Fi and deluxe bath products
  • 7,440-square-foot ballroom and 13 meeting rooms for business events
Rooms

Each one of the Met Hotel's generously sized king or club-level rooms features upscale decor and furnishings. Guests enjoy deluxe amenities including cable TV, coffee maker, desk and ergonomic chair.

Features

Contemporary styling is the hallmark of the Met Hotel. The beautifully decorated lobby welcomes guests and invites them to gather in the comfortable seating areas.

 

While close to dozens of area shopping, recreational, and business destinations, guests have plenty to do right at the hotel. They can swim in the indoor pool and work out in the well-equipped fitness center.

 

The hotel accommodates business meetings and functions in its well-appointed event facilities, where catering services are available.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (40 mi/64 km)
  • Bishop International Airport, Flint (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Amtrak, Detroit (20 mi/32 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Somerset Collection shopping center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Cobo Convention Center (23.6 mi/38 km)
Business
  • In-room work desk
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities and services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Met Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Met Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Duluxe room with two double beds
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King Bedroom
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
King room with pullout sofa

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With over 23,000 square feet of meeting function space, the hotel is one of Michigan's top meeting and convention sites. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, 7,440 square foot ballroom, 13 different meeting rooms, largest room seats 1000 people.

Dining

Loccino's Italian Restaurant .1 miles
Loccino's Italian Restaurant .1 miles
Red Robin - .3 miles
Red Robin - .3 miles
Nobana Shushi - .3 miles
Nobana Shushi - .3 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for The Met Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy guest 1213
Business
ohio
Dec 30, 2013

It use to be nice

I had 2 nights prepaid and opted to stay at my mother due to conditions. My husband stayed the second night but checked out super early. Not the best anymore. They didn't even have lotion in the bathroom or at the front desk for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KPGI
Business
Troy, MI
Jan 21, 2014

Only 2 nights. . . thank goodness

I needed to stay in the Troy area for just 2 nights so I decided to try this hotel. When I arrived around 8:00 pm, there were only about a dozen cars parked around the entrance. The parking lot had not been plowed and was full of snow. When I arrived in the room, the heat was blasting. It really dried up the room and made it difficult to breathe. The room seemed clean, but there were bathroom issues. The tub drain must have been clogged because the water began filling the tub during my shower and took a long time to drain once I finished. The water temp went cool several times during my shower. There were only 2 bath towels which were very thin and scratchy. Even though this site states they offer a continental breakfast, when I inquired at the front desk in the morning, they acted like I was crazy and asked who told me they provided breakfast. I noticed that a review posted just a week or so before my stay mentioned that the continental breakfast was not good, so apparently they used to offer if. I got a very cheap rate on my 2 nights stay, but I learned that you get what you pay for. That will be my last time staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BLT
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 28, 2010

My stay

Went from hotel to work and back to hotel. This was the worse hotel visit that I had at this location. Since I was there last the restaurant and bar area within the hotel had closed and there was nothing comparable within walking distance. Addittionally, I wanted a coke one evening and of the three machines on premise, two were broken and one was out of sodas completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slm2
Business
The Villages, FL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Met Team strikes out

First, they put us in a room that was drying out via large fan and a dehumidifier hooked up to an extension cord in the middle of the room. Next , they put us in another room it had no clothes hangers, the tub's drain didn't work, two days (out of five) the plastic door keys would not work. First floor ice machine not working for days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Happy2Hike
Business
Grand Rapids, Mi
May 5, 2013

Where's the remote?

So many things went wrong with this one night stay. I called in advance to request a featherless room and was told they only had down pillows so after driving all day we had to stop at the mall to get pillows for us to sleep on. As we entered the Hotel we were immediately hit with a most distasteful aroma. Musty/stale air with a tinge of garbage! Next we went to our room to find there was no remote - called desk clerk who brought use one. Went to clean up to find no wash clothes and only 2 bath towel - again clerk was willing to bring us some. Next morning in the daylight we saw the horrible condition of the blood stained carpet!! When I mentioned our dissatisfaction with having to buy pillows the desk clerk responded: Oh we have non feather pillows, I guess the night people didn't know. And when I mentioned the other issues she said: Well I see you paid online, thank you! She paid no attention to our complaints!! The hotel appears to have once been a very nice place but is no longer therefore I would NOT recommend staying at the Met Troy even at such a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Inn Season vegetarian restaurant in Royal Oak!! Excellent food and service!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
6 Hours until Home
Business
Rochester New York
May 19, 2013

A 1 star pretending to be a 5 star

From the pictures and the reviews it seemed nice enough. And for only $65 deal it seemed like an okay try for a hotel claiming to be 4 star hotel. The entryway is beautiful, but never judge a book by it's cover. I've been to nicer rooms before. At least the bedding was clean and comfy. The shower and bathroom however were disgusting!! Shower looked like the only way to get the dirt off would be with oven cleaner! I opted not to take a shower while I stayed here. Cobwebs and black widow spiders! I couldn't sleep thinking I would be bit in the night. Also, when I handed my card to set an authorization for the hotel. Did the staff double check it before processing it? I accidentally handed him a gift card which he authorized the room too. However, now I can't use this gift card because it's now tied up with hotel and gift card red tape. He didn't even double check to ask if I handed him the right card. My fiancee and I wandered the grounds. Not only have the potholes taken over the parking lot, so have the geese. You couldn't step anywhere without ruining your shoes, with goose leavings. The stage in the yard for weddings is falling apart and hasn't been maintenance in some time. If you are planning an event or thinking of having a business meeting here. SKIP IT! It'll save you trouble later. Save your money and go to a quality inn. You are getting better service with a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lakeside Mall is a short drive from here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Imschloss
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 27, 2013

BUYER BEWARE

I was charged me the agreed to price of $62.07 for the 1 night stay. The hotel checked me in and then charged my credit card $196.87. On the next day at check-out, I was charged an additional $80.00. This one-night "Internet Special" was an Incredible Amount = $338.94. The hotel staff are less than helpful. There was an emergency and I tried to call 911. The phone systems do not work in the hotel. YOU CANNOT dial 911 for an emergency. YOU CANNOT call the front desk for assitance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
girlsnightout
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 24, 2013

Motel feel in outdated hotel

Rooms are old and outdated. Every square inch of the bathroom is caulked. Vanity is old and stained. This 'hotel' might be a good value, but it should be advertised as a MOTEL, not a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laura E S
Business
Townsend, MA
Jun 27, 2013

Dirty...needs maintenance

Fitness center.dirty, no cups for water, tv s not working, emergency phone not working Room: longest walk from to elevator Smell Not enough hangers asked 3 times never brought them Requested wake up call never got it Poor room service I would not rec. nor stay here ever again Even if it was free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MDHodge
Business
Stafford, VA
Oct 20, 2013

Never Again

I am so disappointed with this hotel, and some of the previous reviews as well. The only good thing about this hotel is the staff at the front desk. I arrived at this hotel at about 8PM, after driving all day with two kids (my son and a friends daughter) and was looking forward to laying down, but it did not go that way. Based off previous reviews I expected to arrive to a hotel that I would be comfortable in. The problems with the room are ENDLESS, but I will list a few: sticky stuff on the tables and tv, stains on the carpet, broken sliding door that won't close (it's 37 degrees out, therefor it is 37 degrees in our room), the beds fold in half which makes it near impossible to sleep, stains on the carpets, leaks in the ceiling, toilet lid that doesn't even fit the toilet, smelly sheets on the bed, no microwave, and no fridge. Problems with the hotel are mainly just the breakfast they offered, which really was not worthy of being called breakfast. Upon realizing there was multiple issues with the room I called the front desk. Instead of switching our room they sent a young guy upstairs who just cleaned the unknown sticky stuff up. I am so disappointed in this hotel, I would NEVER recommend it. This hotel was not worth the $110 a night I paid, I am not sure I would even pay $40 a night for it. The only good thing about this dump is the nice night staff. DO NOT STAY HERE...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart, Target, and Meijers close by for last minute needs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top