$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

The Met Hotel

3 stars
5500 Crooks Road, Troy, MI 48098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
175 reviews
Great visit

It was great...staff very accommodating although I didn't get any consideration when I stayed an... See full review

  • Jay burat
  • Aug 21, 2014
Father and son getaway

Good customer service and the room was nice but need a coffee maker in room but everything else was... See full review

  • bigbossman41
  • Aug 8, 2014
Where style meets comfort and convenience, in the Detroit suburbs

The Met is a first-class hotel just 25 minutes north of downtown Detroit. Situated on a lush, 18-acre site in the northern suburb of Troy, the Met offers guests both convenience and tranquility. The ambience starts with the Met's sophisticated, contemporary design, extends to the placid pool area, and ends with a good night's sleep in a spacious and stylishly decorated guest room. There's also the satisfaction of knowing that business and leisure destinations are never far away.

Highlights
  • Convenient suburban location near shopping, golf, and skiing, and less than a half hour from downtown Detroit
  • Stylish rooms feature free Wi-Fi and deluxe bath products
  • 7,440-square-foot ballroom and 13 meeting rooms for business events
Rooms

Each one of the Met Hotel's generously sized king or club-level rooms features upscale decor and furnishings. Guests enjoy deluxe amenities including cable TV, coffee maker, desk and ergonomic chair.

Features

Contemporary styling is the hallmark of the Met Hotel. The beautifully decorated lobby welcomes guests and invites them to gather in the comfortable seating areas.

 

While close to dozens of area shopping, recreational, and business destinations, guests have plenty to do right at the hotel. They can swim in the indoor pool and work out in the well-equipped fitness center.

 

The hotel accommodates business meetings and functions in its well-appointed event facilities, where catering services are available.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (40 mi/64 km)
  • Bishop International Airport, Flint (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • Amtrak, Detroit (20 mi/32 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Somerset Collection shopping center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Cobo Convention Center (23.6 mi/38 km)
Business
  • In-room work desk
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities and services

Hotel Map

42.6004 -83.1689
Area served
Troy
Nearby airports
Detroit Metropolitan Airport and Bishop International Airport
Area description
The hotel is located in Southeastern Lower Michigan, 25 miles north of Downtown Detroit, and 35 miles northeast of Detroit Metropolitan/Wayne County Airport. Approaching from the north or south, take interstate 75 to exit number 72, which is Crooks Road exit. At the traffic light make a right hand turn. The MET HOtel will be the first driveway on the right hand side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Met Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Met Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Duluxe room with two double beds
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King Bedroom
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
King room with pullout sofa

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With over 23,000 square feet of meeting function space, the hotel is one of Michigan's top meeting and convention sites. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, 7,440 square foot ballroom, 13 different meeting rooms, largest room seats 1000 people.

Dining

Loccino's Italian Restaurant .1 miles
Loccino's Italian Restaurant .1 miles
Red Robin - .3 miles
Red Robin - .3 miles
Nobana Shushi - .3 miles
Nobana Shushi - .3 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for The Met Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tc traveler 18
Traverse City
Aug 7, 2014

Cheap, gross hotel

Me and my fiancé were returning home from vacation. Our flight didn't get till Detroit till late so we wanted to get a cheap hotel just to get some rest. Totally regret it. Our room was gross and we were reading other reviews and I guess they have had issues with bed bugs. I would not stay there again unless I absolutely had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very close to everything. Somerset mall is like 5 minutes away at the maximum and there are so many dining options close by and it's right off the highway

Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tickedoffwearytraveler
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 3, 2014

how do you run a business like this

Made reservation for one night at the Met. My family and I have stayed there before and really liked the hotel and the price couldn't be beat. Well my pregnant wife and I get to the hotel to find out the hotel was full and they weren't going to honor our reservation. It was after midnight and we drove out of our way to stay there. Long story short, I won't be staying at the Met again. I work for a hotel and when we overbook, we give our inconvenienced guests an upgrade at the closest possible hotel for their inconvenience. Was offered nothing from the staff at the Met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SmooshVille
Business
Texas
Aug 2, 2014

Convention. One business traveler

Horrific. Shabby hotel that needs to be bulldozed or a major renovation. Very depressing. Toilet paper holder on counter and not a single roll to be found. There is nothing positive to share. Avoid this place like the plague

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler Tommy
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 17, 2014

Needs a ton of upgrades

price is ok but needs a ton of upgrades especially a flat screen .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KPGI
Business
Troy, MI
Jan 21, 2014

Only 2 nights. . . thank goodness

I needed to stay in the Troy area for just 2 nights so I decided to try this hotel. When I arrived around 8:00 pm, there were only about a dozen cars parked around the entrance. The parking lot had not been plowed and was full of snow. When I arrived in the room, the heat was blasting. It really dried up the room and made it difficult to breathe. The room seemed clean, but there were bathroom issues. The tub drain must have been clogged because the water began filling the tub during my shower and took a long time to drain once I finished. The water temp went cool several times during my shower. There were only 2 bath towels which were very thin and scratchy. Even though this site states they offer a continental breakfast, when I inquired at the front desk in the morning, they acted like I was crazy and asked who told me they provided breakfast. I noticed that a review posted just a week or so before my stay mentioned that the continental breakfast was not good, so apparently they used to offer if. I got a very cheap rate on my 2 nights stay, but I learned that you get what you pay for. That will be my last time staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy guest 1213
ohio
Dec 30, 2013

It use to be nice

I had 2 nights prepaid and opted to stay at my mother due to conditions. My husband stayed the second night but checked out super early. Not the best anymore. They didn't even have lotion in the bathroom or at the front desk for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unpleasant adventure
troy Michigan
Dec 1, 2013

cleanliness

During my stay at the met hotel, I was not pleased after arriving at my room at 1am to see the room had not been cleaned with some type of fruit nets or flys in the bathroom. After complaining to the front desk they moved me to a room closer with a not so awful smell. I won't stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LIA1111
AMERICA
Oct 22, 2013

DONT GO

WORST HOTEL IVE EVER BEEN TO ! THE DELUXE KING ROOM IS ACTUALLY A BIG ROOM WITH A TWIN BED. THE TVS ARE OLD BOX TVS THAT THE IMAGE IS SUPER BLURRY. I DIDNT HAVE A REMOTE SO I CALLED FOR ONE AND IT NEVER CAME! EVERYONEWAS COMPLAINING ON DIFFERENT THINGS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MDHodge
Stafford, VA
Oct 20, 2013

Never Again

I am so disappointed with this hotel, and some of the previous reviews as well. The only good thing about this hotel is the staff at the front desk. I arrived at this hotel at about 8PM, after driving all day with two kids (my son and a friends daughter) and was looking forward to laying down, but it did not go that way. Based off previous reviews I expected to arrive to a hotel that I would be comfortable in. The problems with the room are ENDLESS, but I will list a few: sticky stuff on the tables and tv, stains on the carpet, broken sliding door that won't close (it's 37 degrees out, therefor it is 37 degrees in our room), the beds fold in half which makes it near impossible to sleep, stains on the carpets, leaks in the ceiling, toilet lid that doesn't even fit the toilet, smelly sheets on the bed, no microwave, and no fridge. Problems with the hotel are mainly just the breakfast they offered, which really was not worthy of being called breakfast. Upon realizing there was multiple issues with the room I called the front desk. Instead of switching our room they sent a young guy upstairs who just cleaned the unknown sticky stuff up. I am so disappointed in this hotel, I would NEVER recommend it. This hotel was not worth the $110 a night I paid, I am not sure I would even pay $40 a night for it. The only good thing about this dump is the nice night staff. DO NOT STAY HERE...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart, Target, and Meijers close by for last minute needs

Review of The Met Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laura E S
Business
Townsend, MA
Jun 27, 2013

Dirty...needs maintenance

Fitness center.dirty, no cups for water, tv s not working, emergency phone not working Room: longest walk from to elevator Smell Not enough hangers asked 3 times never brought them Requested wake up call never got it Poor room service I would not rec. nor stay here ever again Even if it was free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search