$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Traverse City MI Travelodge

2 stars
View map of 704 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
104 reviews
Weekend get away

We stayed here to do a wine tour and it was perfect! The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice.... See full review

  • Kelsy and Casey
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great quick and cheap stay

Was very packed and busy. Walls are pretty thin, but hotel is a great value. Big flat screen, clean... See full review

  • Gregory77
  • Jun 20, 2014
Traverse City hotel is a hop, skip and a jump from the airport and bay

The Traverse City Michigan Travelodge is conveniently located minutes from the Cherry Capital Airport and only steps from the Grand Traverse Bay. Guests start the day with a complimentary continental breakfast before exploring Northern Michigan sights, including downtown Traverse City, Torch Lake and Sleeping Bear Dunes. Traverse City Travelodge guests also enjoy the hotel's heated outdoor pool and whirlpool. Parking is free and pets are allowed (fees apply). Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

Highlights
  • Close to the Cherry Capital airport and Grand Traverse Bay
  • Complimentary Bear Bites Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool
Rooms

The Traverse City MI Travelodge provides non-smoking guest rooms accessed via exterior corridors. Guests choose between one king or two queen beds. Standard room amenities include televisions with premium cable channels, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, a coffee-maker and a hair-dryer. Refrigerators are available upon request and pets are allowed (fees apply). Guest rooms with Jacuzzi baths are available, as well as suites with kitchenettes.

Features

Traverse City Michigan Travelodge features a seasonal, heated outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool. Parking is free. Guests enjoy a free Bear Bites Breakfast each morning. Popular restaurants are located nearby.

 

A worthwhile daytrip is to the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. Known for its forests, beaches, and dramatic dune formations, the lakeshore also contains many must-see attractions including the 1871 South Manitou Island Lighthouse, three former Coast Guard Stations, and an extensive rural historic farm district.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (262 mi/422 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (26.8 mi/43.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Business services
Policies and fees

Pets allowed at a fee of $10 USD per pet per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse City MI Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Traverse City MI Travelodge

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 104
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hannah91
Business
Mundelein, Illinois
Jul 12, 2014

Average Accomodations

I have stayed here before. The pro's this time are the new beds and the place has been painted. Also the staff couldn't have been nicer. Everyone was very friendly. They allow dogs which is great. The Con's are the food; not a good selection for breakfast. (only two cold cereals, not high quality.) There was no bread for toast. Waffles were good and coffee was never hot and old fashioned brewing process. Didn't try the pool. Used it as a place to sleep and go visit friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
West Coast Vacationer
Business
Corning, Ca
May 18, 2014

Relaxing getaway

I had a fantastic time, my room was clean, they were very accommodating to my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ESmith48197
Business
Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Mehhh

Not too bad, anywhere else this would have been a $30/night motel, but for $77/night I would have expected better, even in downtown TC. One thing to know - there are few available plugs for phone chargers, laptops, etc, and the light switches turn off some of those you can get to - found out the hard way with a dead phone in the morning when I turned off the light to go to bed :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Trattoria Stella - The restaurant is located on a compound that used to be the grounds for an insane asylum. Great food, interesting location.

Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michee
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Good Summer Family Getaway

clean, comfortable, staff VERYpleasant and accomidating. The Travel Lodge, Traverse City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Highly recommend downtown Traverse City and West Grand Traverse Bay

Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
davison, mi
Feb 22, 2011

Traverse travelodge

I thought this were good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown traverse was about a mile awat

Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fish Monger
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 29, 2010

Bottom of the barrel

Never having been to Northern Michigan, I was looking for something on the water with easy access to the Leelenau Peninsula, and Mackinaw City, over the bridge to St. Ignace. Choosing a hotel on Traverse Bay was perfect. The Park Shore Resort was very nice, clean room,nice ()but small) balcony overlooking lake. I would come back again but would stay on first floor with patio. You feel very safe here, I was alone a few nights after my daughter left and was not concerned for my safety. My one huge complaint is the breakfast buffet. Sure they have the typical waffle iron like everyone else but the buffet is boring, sausage gravy terrible, could not get english muffin to brown in toaster, watered down oj. On a good note, the coffee was good. But you know, with such great coffee roasters in the area couldn't they serve a great coffee? The lounge was quiet during the week, Friday night was packed with a great dj.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You have to visit the town beach in Empire, it is spectacular! You have dune bluffs within an easy walk both north and south of the beach. The water is aqua and turquoise. I spent my last afternoon here before heading back to Lake Erie and was very sad to leave.

Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fish Monger
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 29, 2010

Bottom of the barrel

Never having been to Northern Michigan, I was looking for something on the water with easy access to the Leelenau Peninsula, and Mackinaw City, over the bridge to St. Ignace. Choosing a hotel on Traverse Bay was perfect. The Park Shore Resort was very nice, clean room,nice ()but small) balcony overlooking lake. I would come back again but would stay on first floor with patio. You feel very safe here, I was alone a few nights after my daughter left and was not concerned for my safety. My one huge complaint is the breakfast buffet. Sure they have the typical waffle iron like everyone else but the buffet is boring, sausage gravy terrible, could not get english muffin to brown in toaster, watered down oj. On a good note, the coffee was good. But you know, with such great coffee roasters in the area couldn't they serve a great coffee? The lounge was quiet during the week, Friday night was packed with a great dj.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You have to visit the town beach in Empire, it is spectacular! You have dune bluffs within an easy walk both north and south of the beach. The water is aqua and turquoise. I spent my last afternoon here before heading back to Lake Erie and was very sad to leave.

Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crawfordsville, IN
Sep 7, 2009

Traverse City MI Travelodge

Hotel was fine. Had a nice breakfast setup every morning. Coffee was fresh all day. Whirlpool in room was large and filled up fast. Water was very HOT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ypsilanti
Jun 8, 2008

Nice Value

I picked the Traverse City MI Travelodge because of its location, and it has a pool and hot tub. There were two free beaches within 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Deno's museum was a delightful place to visit. Their current traveling display featured 3D art.

Back to menu Return to top