$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Traverse City MI Travelodge

2 stars
704 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Great quick and cheap stay

Was very packed and busy. Walls are pretty thin, but hotel is a great value. Big flat screen, clean... See full review

  • Gregory77
  • Jun 20, 2014
Great Place!

Very nice and accomodating staff. Had to change to a first floor room, because "Dog" was scared of... See full review

  • John S. from Michigan
  • Aug 2, 2013
Traverse City hotel is a hop, skip and a jump from the airport and bay

The Traverse City Michigan Travelodge is conveniently located minutes from the Cherry Capital Airport and only steps from the Grand Traverse Bay. Guests start the day with a complimentary continental breakfast before exploring Northern Michigan sights, including downtown Traverse City, Torch Lake and Sleeping Bear Dunes. Traverse City Travelodge guests also enjoy the hotel's heated outdoor pool and whirlpool. Parking is free and pets are allowed (fees apply). Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

Highlights
  • Close to the Cherry Capital airport and Grand Traverse Bay
  • Complimentary Bear Bites Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool
Rooms

The Traverse City MI Travelodge provides non-smoking guest rooms accessed via exterior corridors. Guests choose between one king or two queen beds. Standard room amenities include televisions with premium cable channels, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, a coffee-maker and a hair-dryer. Refrigerators are available upon request and pets are allowed (fees apply). Guest rooms with Jacuzzi baths are available, as well as suites with kitchenettes.

Features

Traverse City Michigan Travelodge features a seasonal, heated outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool. Parking is free. Guests enjoy a free Bear Bites Breakfast each morning. Popular restaurants are located nearby.

 

A worthwhile daytrip is to the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. Known for its forests, beaches, and dramatic dune formations, the lakeshore also contains many must-see attractions including the 1871 South Manitou Island Lighthouse, three former Coast Guard Stations, and an extensive rural historic farm district.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (262 mi/422 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (26.8 mi/43.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Business services
Policies and fees

Pets allowed at a fee of $10 USD per pet per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse City MI Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse City MI Travelodge

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashleyohtori
Business
MI
Aug 17, 2012

Overpriced during high season

The staff was nice, the room was mediocre, but this is a $40/ night hotel that is way way overpriced during the summer season. The location is close enough to downtown Traverse City. If you need a place to sleep, then its fine. If your looking for luxury, then I would highly suggest looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grand Traverse Pie Company is great! Its located downtown TC and open early in the morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ritzz
Business
49112
Aug 2, 2012

Avoid this one!!!

Awful! Upon walking into the room, I noticed the flooring peeling up and stained carpet. I used the toilet and it barely flushed and there was only 1 towel in the room. Looking around the room some more, something didn't seem right, then I noticed the mini fridge was missing and a dusty dirty mess was in it's place. Went to the front desk and told the clerk, an she acted like she wasn't aware the fridge was gone, but she did give us another room. Room #2 was a little better, but the carpet was even worse. Stained and sticky feeling. I wasn't sure if I wanted to take my shoes off or not. The AC in the room was cool, but it wasn't pulling any humidity from the air. The sheets felt damp and there was a funny smell. The curtains were too long, so when you turned on the AC, they blew up in the air, so they no longer covered the window completely. The solution was to stuff them in the sill. The shower temp went from cool to hot at random times. There was only 1 anti slip strip in the tub, my wife almost fell twice. This place is a dump in a serious need of a renovation. There are a lot of hotels in TC to pick from, just don't pick this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Appleye
Business
michigan
Jul 7, 2012

Weekend get away

Hotel was just what we wanted, not to far away from city center. The price was what got us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Holiday Inn has great beach deck with good prices. Check out fruit platter for $6 enough for 2 or 3 people

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal Daddy
Business
Traverse City, MI
Jun 18, 2012

Good Experience

The location was central. The pool was nice. The room was clean and suitable for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Mrs G
Business
Southfield, MI
May 25, 2012

Just a motel

Nothing special for the value. Good location if going there in summer. State park near and like the lake. Air unit only give off cool air, so when we needed a low heat, got more cool air...reported the problem in morning when leaving. Morning Breakfest could be must better..needs to worked on. Small bathroom !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Mrs G
Business
Southfield, MI
May 25, 2012

A Good Value

The Travelodge room was acceptable for an overnight stay. The bathroom was very small, but a hair dryer, coffee maker, ironing board and iron were available. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We watched television, and my husband was able to hook up to his ipad. My husband took advantage of the free breakfast. He said that the orange juice was sour, the waffle was tasteless, and the bagels and fruit did not look fresh. We both maintain, though, that we certainly got our money's worth ($60), and we were not unhappy about the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GRJB
Business
Grand Rapids, Mi
Jan 3, 2012

Great Value

Great vallue! We stayed there in December, if they could only find a way to cover the hot tub to keep it open year round, it would be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lodie
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Dec 31, 2011

winter getaway

We really enjoyed our experience here and the staff in the lobby were very helpful. It's a short driving distance from downtown, although too far to walk. There are some nearby stores within walking distance to take care of any needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Right Brain Brewery. We really enjoyed this brewery. It's a bring-your-own food sort of an affair, but there's a nice eatery (Xylo) down the hall that will deliver a carry out to you while you drink your beer at Right Brain Brewery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zlinaircraft
Business
Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada
Dec 3, 2011

Great Black Friday retreat

Excellent place to stay for a Black Friday shopping trip. Will keep this one on my list for our annaul shopping get away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ESmith48197
Business
Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Mehhh

Not too bad, anywhere else this would have been a $30/night motel, but for $77/night I would have expected better, even in downtown TC. One thing to know - there are few available plugs for phone chargers, laptops, etc, and the light switches turn off some of those you can get to - found out the hard way with a dead phone in the morning when I turned off the light to go to bed :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Trattoria Stella - The restaurant is located on a compound that used to be the grounds for an insane asylum. Great food, interesting location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top