$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

Traverse City MI Travelodge

2 stars
704 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
96 reviews
Great quick and cheap stay

Was very packed and busy. Walls are pretty thin, but hotel is a great value. Big flat screen, clean... See full review

  • Gregory77
  • Jun 20, 2014
Great Place!

Very nice and accomodating staff. Had to change to a first floor room, because "Dog" was scared of... See full review

  • John S. from Michigan
  • Aug 2, 2013
Traverse City hotel is a hop, skip and a jump from the airport and bay

The Traverse City Michigan Travelodge is conveniently located minutes from the Cherry Capital Airport and only steps from the Grand Traverse Bay. Guests start the day with a complimentary continental breakfast before exploring Northern Michigan sights, including downtown Traverse City, Torch Lake and Sleeping Bear Dunes. Traverse City Travelodge guests also enjoy the hotel's heated outdoor pool and whirlpool. Parking is free and pets are allowed (fees apply). Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

Highlights
  • Close to the Cherry Capital airport and Grand Traverse Bay
  • Complimentary Bear Bites Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool
Rooms

The Traverse City MI Travelodge provides non-smoking guest rooms accessed via exterior corridors. Guests choose between one king or two queen beds. Standard room amenities include televisions with premium cable channels, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, a coffee-maker and a hair-dryer. Refrigerators are available upon request and pets are allowed (fees apply). Guest rooms with Jacuzzi baths are available, as well as suites with kitchenettes.

Features

Traverse City Michigan Travelodge features a seasonal, heated outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool. Parking is free. Guests enjoy a free Bear Bites Breakfast each morning. Popular restaurants are located nearby.

 

A worthwhile daytrip is to the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. Known for its forests, beaches, and dramatic dune formations, the lakeshore also contains many must-see attractions including the 1871 South Manitou Island Lighthouse, three former Coast Guard Stations, and an extensive rural historic farm district.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (262 mi/422 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (26.8 mi/43.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting room
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Business services
Policies and fees

Pets allowed at a fee of $10 USD per pet per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

44.7561 -85.5748
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse City MI Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse City MI Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
qualos
Metro Detroit area
Jan 21, 2013

Short stay for the snowshoe race

I only needed to be in Traverse City for one night and had a pretty tight budget. This was exactly what I needed: Cheap, close to down town, and a decent complimentary breakfast. I will likely be staying there again next year for the same race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Brew is an awesome coffee shop/bar/restaurant down town. Good atmosphere and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nox41
Business
Ravenna MI
Sep 2, 2013

Family get away

Location of hotel was excellent. Room was clean however the bed was uncomfortable and the sheets were a poor fit and kept coming off through out the night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Exhausted 51
Business
Florida
Aug 26, 2013

Parents 60th wedding anniversary

Rooms were VERY small!! Cleanliness was just good enough! Stayed there only for price and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. MA
Business
Grosse Pointes, MI
Aug 15, 2013

Terrible place to stay with children

Hotel had outdoor pool which was clean and appropriate for young children. Parking was accessible from room. Continental breakfast provided several options (cereal, bagels, oatmeal, fresh fruits, and waffles; milk, coffee, juice were also included). The staff was pleasant. The rooms (we reserved 2) were terribly dirty and smelly. The walls and doors had feet and shoes print on them. The carpet was stained and sticky. The rooms had a musty odor to them that was intolerable. Wifi did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When in town, try Northern Peak and Mackinaw Brewing Companies. Excellent Michigan micro brews and restaurants. Pangea is a great pizza parlor that is worth the wait. Bubba is a great burger joint. Moomers, which is shirt 5 mile drive from downtown is a wonderful ice scream attraction for children. Keep watch for evening outdoor activities and venues on the lake front (ie, outdoor movies and concerts). Try to catch a movie as well during the Traverse City Film Festival. Winery tours are also wonderful when without children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John S. from Michigan
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 2, 2013

Great Place!

Very nice and accomodating staff. Had to change to a first floor room, because "Dog" was scared of open stairs. Staff transferred right away and got us a ground floor room in minutes, even with a full house. Also good selection of breakfast items. Great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like pizza, you need to try Paesanos pizza downtown. Also lots to see downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shannan16
Business
Traverse City, Mi
Jul 2, 2013

Travelodge

For the price, this hotel was very nice and clean. I would definitely recommend a night's stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
qualos
Business
Metro Detroit area
Jan 21, 2013

Short stay for the snowshoe race

I only needed to be in Traverse City for one night and had a pretty tight budget. This was exactly what I needed: Cheap, close to down town, and a decent complimentary breakfast. I will likely be staying there again next year for the same race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Brew is an awesome coffee shop/bar/restaurant down town. Good atmosphere and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mark A.
Business
St. Louis
Oct 31, 2012

Not Worth The Stop

The furniture in the room was very worn and tired. The mattress was terrible. We were so dissatisfied that we didn't spend the night but moved to another motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best restaurant in Traverse City is Stella Tratoria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
miss Sher
Business
Brighton Michigan
Sep 10, 2012

family weekend

upon checking in was first given a room that was already occupied by others.....had to go back to desk to correct the problem.....so delayed when tired and wanting to get in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler45789
Business
Lapeer, MI
Aug 24, 2012

Not Good

Gray sludge shot out of the jacuzzi jets. Several lights in the room did not work. Fan in the bathroom was filthy, very loud, and ran all night. Blanket had holes in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse City MI Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashleyohtori
Business
MI
Aug 17, 2012

Overpriced during high season

The staff was nice, the room was mediocre, but this is a $40/ night hotel that is way way overpriced during the summer season. The location is close enough to downtown Traverse City. If you need a place to sleep, then its fine. If your looking for luxury, then I would highly suggest looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grand Traverse Pie Company is great! Its located downtown TC and open early in the morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top