$41 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
56 reviews
sweet place

sweet place ... I've stayed several times ... Great staff See full review

  • Just Gone Fishing
  • Oct 28, 2014
Spotless

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. Although older, it's well-maintained, and the room was... See full review

  • Fifty States
  • Oct 2, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

44.746 -85.5307
Area served
Near Traverse Area Recreation Trail
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 3.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Suite
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Walk in to a large Living Room with LCD TV, Fireplace, and Kitchen. King Bedroom and Queen Bedroom with 2nd and 3rd TV are both off of Living area. This suite is all on the ground level and has the largest Living Area of any room we offer.
1 Queen Studio
Our Studio Rooms are upstairs and have 1 Queen Bed. They are perfect for 1 or 2 people and provide economical, enjoyable space for a pleasant stay in Traverse City. This room has a kitchen but is not a suite like most of our other rooms. We have just two Studios to offer.
One Queen Bed
1 queen bed with shared bath
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Our Jacuzzi Suites walk in to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Off the hall is the Queen Bedroom with 2nd TV as well as the bath. Upstairs is the King Bedroom with 3rd TV and 2 person Jacuzzi.
Two Double Bed Non-Smokin
2 double beds nonsmoking with shared bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Amical
Nearby
Boones Long Lake Inn
Nearby
Dons Drive Inn
Nearby
North Peak Brewing Co
Nearby
Red Mesa Grill
Nearby
Tratitoria Stell
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 56
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Gone Fishing
Business
la, CA
Oct 28, 2014

sweet place

sweet place ... I've stayed several times ... Great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fifty States
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 2, 2014

Spotless

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. Although older, it's well-maintained, and the room was spotless. The unit was a two bedroom townhouse with a small kitchen and living room. Check in was a breeze, and the office manager was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee V
Business
Yale, MI
May 27, 2014

Excellent place to Stay in Traverse City

The room was well priced, conveniently located and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OSU Grad
Business
Odenton, MD
Oct 7, 2012

Unexpected surprise

Booked a couple nights at the Traverse Bay Inn based on prior reviews and I completely agree with their sentiments. Upon checking in, I felt like I stepped back in time. While the place is older & in need of some refurbishment, I found to be very comfy & cozy. I've been on the road 10 days now & had the best nite's sleep there. If you're looking for upscale amenities, this is definitely not your place...but, if you want to feel like your home, this is it. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Courier
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jun 9, 2012

Fabulous!

The clerk at the hotel was extremely pleasant, the room was much nicer then I imagined it would be for the price - could not be happier with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentBiker
Business
West Michigan
Jun 8, 2012

Confortable stay at a great price

This motel is an older style place but wasn't outdated. Since all the rooms are first floor parking is convenient right outside your door. The room had a small, well-supplied kitchen area (pans, dishes, silverware etc) with a living area in front with flat-screen TV and a dining table off to the side. The bathroom was small but very functional, plenty of hot water and towels. The bedroom is in the back with a comfortable bed and another TV. The room has 2 closets and amenities like ironing board, toaster, microwave, hair dryer etc. The motel has a small heated pool and adjoining hot tub. The motel is located about 4 miles east of downtown right on the main road. There are 2 miniature golf courses nearby and a couple of parks (including a state park). The TART bike trail is located just behind the motel and the motel provides bikes for use free of charge. The motel also provides free Wi-Fi (good signal) in rooms and by the pool. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and was full of local information. One drawback for some people is that the office is generally only staffed 8AM to 10PM so it could be a hassle arriving late or checking out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Green House Cafe in downtown Traverse City has great breakfasts and lunches. You may also want to try the pizza at G's Pizzeria just west of the motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andie L.
Business
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Jun 4, 2012

Wish I had stayed here sooner!

I was at the hotel for one night (off-season), but I wish I would have stayed there my entire vacation. Staff was extremely friendly, lots of space (especially for a single traveler) and I loved the "suite" feel at an absolutely bargain price. Very clean and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ddavidd
Business
Traverse City, MI
May 27, 2012

Great value room

Stayed one night for $55. Great value - clean room with the basics: queen bed in bedroom separate from a main living area with couch, TV , fridge, small table, and sink. Did not have a pet but it is pet-friendly for an additional fee. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Michigan
Jun 3, 2011

Excellent value for the money,very clean

Enjoyed my one night stay, the unit is so much more than just the standard motel room. It was very well equipped and very clean, I stay in Traverse City about one night a month while visiting my sister, who is in a nursing home there. I definitely will stay there again, it would also be a perfect base for a family to stay and enjoy all that Traverse City offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several restaurants in the vicinity of the motel make dining an easy drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
giantrabbit
Business
Gobles, MI
Oct 23, 2010

Great Value

I am a frequent visitor to Traverse City and this motel suits me perfectly. Clean, comfortable, and quiet, yet a short distance to everything Traverse City has to offer-amazing food, shopping, beaches, scenery and miles and miles of trails to walk or bicycle. The bed was comfortable, lots of closet space,the kitchen was a great convenience and the beautiful east bay is right across the street. A great value in an area of high priced resort motels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Check out the trail systems. From the crosstown paved TART trail to the numerous nature trails, there's something for every level of activity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top