$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
View map of 2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
53 reviews
Great Location in Traverse City

The hotel doesn't have all the amenities that the bigger hotels have, but we felt safe and the... See full review

  • Randi W.
  • Jun 27, 2015
sweet place

sweet place ... I've stayed several times ... Great staff See full review

  • Just Gone Fishing
  • Oct 28, 2014

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Property features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

★★
$79
3.6 / 5 68 reviews
★★
$69
3.7 / 5 76 reviews
★★
$55
2.9 / 5 80 reviews
★★
$80
3.0 / 5 25 reviews
★★
$52
3.3 / 5 94 reviews
★★
$74
3.2 / 5 15 reviews
★★
$74
3.2 / 5 39 reviews
★★
$99
4.4 / 5 27 reviews

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Suite
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Walk in to a large Living Room with LCD TV, Fireplace, and Kitchen. King Bedroom and Queen Bedroom with 2nd and 3rd TV are both off of Living area. This suite is all on the ground level and has the largest Living Area of any room we offer.
1 Queen Studio
Our Studio Rooms are upstairs and have 1 Queen Bed. They are perfect for 1 or 2 people and provide economical, enjoyable space for a pleasant stay in Traverse City. This room has a kitchen but is not a suite like most of our other rooms. We have just two Studios to offer.
One Queen Bed
1 queen bed with shared bath
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Our Jacuzzi Suites walk in to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Off the hall is the Queen Bedroom with 2nd TV as well as the bath. Upstairs is the King Bedroom with 3rd TV and 2 person Jacuzzi.
Two Double Bed Non-Smokin
2 double beds nonsmoking with shared bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Amical
Nearby
Boones Long Lake Inn
Nearby
Dons Drive Inn
Nearby
North Peak Brewing Co
Nearby
Red Mesa Grill
Nearby
Tratitoria Stell
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 53
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger
Couples
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Enjoyed our stay

Nice hotel for the price. Enjoyed the kitchenette. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. People were friendly and helpful. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fitzpatricks
Couples
Perry, Michigan
Jun 26, 2014

Reasonably priced and comfortable

The room was clean and comfy. We arrived late but I called ahead and they had an envelope with a welcome letter and room key waiting for us when we got there. The staff in the morning was friendly and cheerful and reminded us to check out the Farmer's Market in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpartySAM
Couples
Haslett, MI
Jun 21, 2014

Nice room, tiny bathrooms, great staff

Traverse City is one of our favorite destinations for a trip. Over time, we have checked out many of the hotels/motels. We discovered Traverse Bay Inn a few years ago and it remains one of our favorite motels. This is a family run motel. It is not fancy but it offers an interesting mix of rooms. Some rooms consist of an upper and lower story with the upper story having a jacuzzi; others are single story (the upper story door is closed). They offer the basic amenities (stove, full frig, sink, couch, TV), a minimum of three rooms (a combination living room/kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom). The rooms are on the small size - warning the bathroom is absolutely tiny. They are clean, basic, and well maintained. The staff is great. If you are looking for low cost, low frills, convenient lodging in the Traverse City that offers easy access to Traverse City (the hotel is located on US31), then there is a lot to like about this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of restaurant chains in the Traverse City area. However, Traverse City is developing a reputation as a foodie destination. Next time, you are in Traverse City, go to the west end of Front Street. There, you will find a number of small great local restaurants. You will Bubba - the home of truly great homemade burgers and the such (also great beer). You will also find Georgina's - a very small restaurant that offers truly great food that fuses Latin and Asian styles for a great price. Travel a bit from downtown but enjoy a lot.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy C2
Couples
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one more day. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. It was about a 10 minute drive from downtown Traverse City, but the price made up for the distance. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Traverse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niki1216
Couples
Grand Rapids, Mi.
Apr 19, 2014

Anniversary in Traverse City

This was our 4th Anniversary, had no real idea what to do. I have lived in Michigan almost all my life and I have never been to Traverse City. I started looking at Hotels, I found one near the casino, at a price that fit my budget. I called and asked the receptionist at the Traverse Bay Inn; what was near the hotel that my husband and I could. Due to the fact it was their off season, a lot was still closed. We were referred to the wineries, and breweries. That was something that interested by my husband and myself. The staff was friendly and helpful. The staff made sure our stay was good and that we were having fun. Our room was huge. It had a kitchenette, a loft with an extra room. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel also has a pool and a hot tub, but it was the off season. Had a great time at Turtle Creek Casino, but the wineries had to be the best. Driving around the peninsula, looking for the wineries, we saw some amazing sites. The staff at the wineries were friendly and fun. They had some great tasting wine. We will go back again. I thanked the staff when we left. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy the scenery on the peninsula, its breath taking, and not far from town.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swiss mami
Couples
San Francisco
Apr 6, 2014

Great accommodations

We loved the kitchen and living room combo in addition to having a bedroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suztom
Couples
Caro, mi
Dec 12, 2013

Anniversary get-away

Last minute decision to go to Traverse City to.celebrate our anniversary. Got the room(s) for$39!!! Two BRs, kitchenette, new bath, quiet, cedars in snow out back window...perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

State Theater downtown...good films, lovely theater, cheap popcorn!

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trafford Boy
Couples
Trafford
Sep 11, 2013

Great Place, Best in TC for the price.

Great place, big room, everything works, quiet, comfortable, clean as can be, I can't say enough about the place. Not a resort, no beach, no mini bar, ...just a great place to stay overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick marine
Couples
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Jun 3, 2013

Great place to stay

From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out the staff was friendly and accommodating. Telling my girlfriend and I the fun places to go in town and also telling us about the bike trail behind the hotel that would take you all the way into town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is going to the traverse city area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba's burgers best burger in town and also the aerie restaurant if you don't mind spending some money for a great meal..

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
banjo6
Couples
Winchester, VA, USA
May 28, 2013

Loved it!

Really enjoyed this property and they even have bikes you can take out to enjoy. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top