$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Traverse Bay Inn

2 stars
2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one... See full review

  • Amy C2
  • Jun 19, 2014
Fantastic Traverse City Value

While not on the water, it's right across the street from it. This is a two room suite with a full... See full review

  • Tlsss11
  • Jan 2, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Suite
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Description not provided
1 Queen Studio
Description not provided
Two Double Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
One Queen Bed
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Shower
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.746 -85.5307
Area served
Grand Rapids, Detroit, Traverse City, Petoskey, Kalkaska, Mackinaw City, Leland
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 3.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jun 6, 2010

Hot Water Would Be Nice

Was in town to run the Bayshore Half Marathon. Close location to the race start was perfect. However, the fact that there was never hot water to take a shower outweighed any other positives. Tried varying times of day, and shower was always cold...which is unacceptable. The staff never apoligized when we notified them, and simply told us they didn't have hot water to clean with either. Will not be recommending anyone to stay here - and will definitely give my fellow runners a heads-up for next year's race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sun lover
Michigan
Aug 22, 2010

Okay for a night

Okay place to stay for a night. The room could use a serious update. Didn't realize the room was actually up a flight of very small inclosed stairs, a bit odd. Also the room door wasn't very secure. The room was clean, but the bathroom could have used an extra cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jun 6, 2010

Hot Water Would Be Nice

Was in town to run the Bayshore Half Marathon. Close location to the race start was perfect. However, the fact that there was never hot water to take a shower outweighed any other positives. Tried varying times of day, and shower was always cold...which is unacceptable. The staff never apoligized when we notified them, and simply told us they didn't have hot water to clean with either. Will not be recommending anyone to stay here - and will definitely give my fellow runners a heads-up for next year's race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tipton, IN
Jan 18, 2010

Not Bad!

Hotel was good, room was clean, bed was little hard for my liking but fine. I saw many other nicer hotels in the area advertizing at same price so I would check around but still good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Michigan
Jul 11, 2010

Good For Family, Nice Location & Value,

The staff at this hotel was very nice & gracious! The pool area was great for my son to play in. The kitchenettes & suites are very well suited for Family Travel, but be aware, the AC units are in the bedroom, so the living area can get warm if the bedroom door is shut. They even have a gas grill that you can use to cook your dinner after hitting the beach. Bikes are also available for use on the TART trail adjacent to the hotel. I imagine it's a challenge to keep the floors clean in a beach motel so my only suggestion would be for the management to invest in better carpet cleaning equipment. My feet were black on the first day after walking on the carpet. For the rest of our stay we wore socks or shoes because the floors were so dirty. I saw the cleaning staff working in another room and it looks like they have a vacuum from 1950!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
plymouth, michigan
Mar 23, 2010

great location

The pool is outdoor & it was winter time. The only thing to do at night was watch t.v. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tipton, IN
Jan 18, 2010

Not Bad!

Hotel was good, room was clean, bed was little hard for my liking but fine. I saw many other nicer hotels in the area advertizing at same price so I would check around but still good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
plymouth, michigan
Mar 23, 2010

great location

The pool is outdoor & it was winter time. The only thing to do at night was watch t.v. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rudyard, MI
Mar 9, 2011

Good Value

I arrived late and left the hotel early on a business trip. Positive: Comfortable beds and convenient location to the airport and several eating establishments. Affordable rate. Comfortable bed. Negative: No 24 hour desk offering service to the traveler. No heater vent in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Michigan
Jul 11, 2010

Good For Family, Nice Location & Value,

The staff at this hotel was very nice & gracious! The pool area was great for my son to play in. The kitchenettes & suites are very well suited for Family Travel, but be aware, the AC units are in the bedroom, so the living area can get warm if the bedroom door is shut. They even have a gas grill that you can use to cook your dinner after hitting the beach. Bikes are also available for use on the TART trail adjacent to the hotel. I imagine it's a challenge to keep the floors clean in a beach motel so my only suggestion would be for the management to invest in better carpet cleaning equipment. My feet were black on the first day after walking on the carpet. For the rest of our stay we wore socks or shoes because the floors were so dirty. I saw the cleaning staff working in another room and it looks like they have a vacuum from 1950!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top