$41 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
View map of 2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
57 reviews
sweet place

sweet place ... I've stayed several times ... Great staff See full review

  • Just Gone Fishing
  • Oct 28, 2014
Spotless

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. Although older, it's well-maintained, and the room was... See full review

  • Fifty States
  • Oct 2, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Top hotels

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Suite
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Walk in to a large Living Room with LCD TV, Fireplace, and Kitchen. King Bedroom and Queen Bedroom with 2nd and 3rd TV are both off of Living area. This suite is all on the ground level and has the largest Living Area of any room we offer.
1 Queen Studio
Our Studio Rooms are upstairs and have 1 Queen Bed. They are perfect for 1 or 2 people and provide economical, enjoyable space for a pleasant stay in Traverse City. This room has a kitchen but is not a suite like most of our other rooms. We have just two Studios to offer.
One Queen Bed
1 queen bed with shared bath
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Our Jacuzzi Suites walk in to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Off the hall is the Queen Bedroom with 2nd TV as well as the bath. Upstairs is the King Bedroom with 3rd TV and 2 person Jacuzzi.
Two Double Bed Non-Smokin
2 double beds nonsmoking with shared bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Amical
Nearby
Boones Long Lake Inn
Nearby
Dons Drive Inn
Nearby
North Peak Brewing Co
Nearby
Red Mesa Grill
Nearby
Tratitoria Stell
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sun lover
Business
Michigan
Aug 22, 2010

Okay for a night

Okay place to stay for a night. The room could use a serious update. Didn't realize the room was actually up a flight of very small inclosed stairs, a bit odd. Also the room door wasn't very secure. The room was clean, but the bathroom could have used an extra cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 6, 2010

Hot Water Would Be Nice

Was in town to run the Bayshore Half Marathon. Close location to the race start was perfect. However, the fact that there was never hot water to take a shower outweighed any other positives. Tried varying times of day, and shower was always cold...which is unacceptable. The staff never apoligized when we notified them, and simply told us they didn't have hot water to clean with either. Will not be recommending anyone to stay here - and will definitely give my fellow runners a heads-up for next year's race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Consumer Review
Business
Northville, MI
Jun 27, 2012

Traverse Bay Inn Review

I stayed in a jacuzzi suite. It was very spacious and clean. I did appreciate and use the full size refrigerator in the suite. The only issue was that the funiture and appliances need to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kipp andPhyllis
Business
Roodhouse IL.
Aug 4, 2012

Great Week for us!

The housecleaning staff was so friendly. The rooms were comfortable size and had an upstairs bedroom with a jacuzzi. Would be great if we had taken the grandkids with us. Next year! The location was good except hard to get out on main road when it was busy but that was probably anywhere. Loved having bikes available for free to ride and trail was right behind hotel. Wished it had been on lake side but we could just walk across street to reach beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bay View Inn... WOW! Have the rib-eye. Wonderful food. Wonderful waitress and prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling want a be
Business
White Lake Michigan
Oct 30, 2013

funeral travel

The room we stayed in was nice and convient with the small kitchenette. the beds were very comfortable, the fireplace nice but I wish the walls would have been washed. There was hair on the walls above the bathroom door and looked like they had a leak problem down the wall by the dinning table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
plymouth, michigan
Mar 23, 2010

great location

The pool is outdoor & it was winter time. The only thing to do at night was watch t.v. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park, KS
Oct 19, 2009

Nice, but cozy

The suites are nice but on the small side, at least the one we were in. There wasn't any room to really spread out our things in the bathroom area either. We did enjoy having the kitchen area for our 1 night stay. The office closed at 6 PM so our key to the room was left in the mailbox which was fine but we weren't able to get the Internet access code for our one night's stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tipton, IN
Jan 18, 2010

Not Bad!

Hotel was good, room was clean, bed was little hard for my liking but fine. I saw many other nicer hotels in the area advertizing at same price so I would check around but still good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Michigan
Jul 11, 2010

Good For Family, Nice Location & Value,

The staff at this hotel was very nice & gracious! The pool area was great for my son to play in. The kitchenettes & suites are very well suited for Family Travel, but be aware, the AC units are in the bedroom, so the living area can get warm if the bedroom door is shut. They even have a gas grill that you can use to cook your dinner after hitting the beach. Bikes are also available for use on the TART trail adjacent to the hotel. I imagine it's a challenge to keep the floors clean in a beach motel so my only suggestion would be for the management to invest in better carpet cleaning equipment. My feet were black on the first day after walking on the carpet. For the rest of our stay we wore socks or shoes because the floors were so dirty. I saw the cleaning staff working in another room and it looks like they have a vacuum from 1950!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rudyard, MI
Mar 9, 2011

Good Value

I arrived late and left the hotel early on a business trip. Positive: Comfortable beds and convenient location to the airport and several eating establishments. Affordable rate. Comfortable bed. Negative: No 24 hour desk offering service to the traveler. No heater vent in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top