$51 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
55 reviews
Spotless

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. Although older, it's well-maintained, and the room was... See full review

  • Fifty States
  • Oct 2, 2014
We will stay there again!!!

A great place to stay! We have four children, so we found the room we stayed in to be delightful!... See full review

  • Mom of 4 princesses
  • Aug 23, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

44.746 -85.5307
Area served
Near Traverse Area Recreation Trail
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 3.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Suite
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Walk in to a large Living Room with LCD TV, Fireplace, and Kitchen. King Bedroom and Queen Bedroom with 2nd and 3rd TV are both off of Living area. This suite is all on the ground level and has the largest Living Area of any room we offer.
1 Queen Studio
Our Studio Rooms are upstairs and have 1 Queen Bed. They are perfect for 1 or 2 people and provide economical, enjoyable space for a pleasant stay in Traverse City. This room has a kitchen but is not a suite like most of our other rooms. We have just two Studios to offer.
One Queen Bed
1 queen bed with shared bath
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Our Jacuzzi Suites walk in to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Off the hall is the Queen Bedroom with 2nd TV as well as the bath. Upstairs is the King Bedroom with 3rd TV and 2 person Jacuzzi.
Two Double Bed Non-Smokin
2 double beds nonsmoking with shared bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Amical
Nearby
Boones Long Lake Inn
Nearby
Dons Drive Inn
Nearby
North Peak Brewing Co
Nearby
Red Mesa Grill
Nearby
Tratitoria Stell
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tlsss11
Business
Flushing, MI
Jan 2, 2014

Fantastic Traverse City Value

While not on the water, it's right across the street from it. This is a two room suite with a full kitchen and living area for 54.95! This is the second time I have stayed here, and it won't be the last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother daughter get away
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
May 19, 2012

Perfect family getaway

This is a wonderful hotel, we had a 2 bedroom unit which was had a sofa, dining area & fully equiped kitchenette. The room was clean and comfortable. A great value! We were there on the "off" season, too early for outdoor pool to be open or for the use of the complimentary bikes but still an awesome stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Courier
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jun 9, 2012

Fabulous!

The clerk at the hotel was extremely pleasant, the room was much nicer then I imagined it would be for the price - could not be happier with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
banjo6
Business
Winchester, VA, USA
May 28, 2013

Loved it!

Really enjoyed this property and they even have bikes you can take out to enjoy. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick marine
Business
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Jun 3, 2013

Great place to stay

From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out the staff was friendly and accommodating. Telling my girlfriend and I the fun places to go in town and also telling us about the bike trail behind the hotel that would take you all the way into town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is going to the traverse city area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba's burgers best burger in town and also the aerie restaurant if you don't mind spending some money for a great meal..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Jul 5, 2011

Hard to find, but worth the effort.

We drove past this hotel twice and did not see it. We had to call for directions. This was just a stop at the end of a day of driving. What a nice place. Everything looked new, had a kitchen and jacuzzi! The suite would sleep 6, but the only bathroom was hardly big enough for one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Mesa Grill - Good food, big portions and OK price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
giantrabbit
Business
Gobles, MI
Nov 17, 2009

Great Value

Very clean and well maintained. Kitchenette accomodations would be great for longer stays. Very private bedroom yet very near beaches,restaurants and on the main road leading to a vibrant downtown, which isn't far. Beautiful Grand Traverse Bay is right across the street. Definitely a good value for the money and I'll be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a great casual dinner, try the Blue Tractor Cookshop in the Old Town District. The macaroni and cheese comes in 4 flavors and is fantastic. They also smoke there own pork so any option on the menu that includes it is special.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine B
Business
Detroit, MI
May 12, 2009

Traverse Bay Inn is a real diamond!

The folks and Traverse Bay Inn are really wonderful hosts. You can tell they take pride in their establishment. Their rooms are clean, the beds are comfy. The room was small, but not cramped. The kitchenette and large hi-def flat screen tv was a nice surprise. All in all, the accommodations are simple but comfortable and the staff is wonderful! I highly recommend Traverse Bay Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit both the Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas many wineries, art galleries, cherry orchards and the natural attraction of the bay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy C2
Business
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one more day. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. It was about a 10 minute drive from downtown Traverse City, but the price made up for the distance. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Traverse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom of 4 princesses
Business
Muskegon MI
Aug 23, 2014

We will stay there again!!!

A great place to stay! We have four children, so we found the room we stayed in to be delightful! The kids loved having an upstairs room with two queen beds where they were able to sleep, I loved having a room off the sitting area where I slept. The suite was very clean and fresh, and very comfortable. I nice change too having an outdoor pool, we were able to enjoy the pool without feeling the humidity of the indoor pools! When we plan our next trip to Traverse City, we will be looking at Traverse Bay Inn for our place to stay! A great experience for my whole family. Absolutely LOVED it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top