$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Traverse Bay Inn

2 stars
2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one... See full review

  • Amy C2
  • Jun 19, 2014
Fantastic Traverse City Value

While not on the water, it's right across the street from it. This is a two room suite with a full... See full review

  • Tlsss11
  • Jan 2, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

44.746 -85.5307
Area served
Grand Rapids, Detroit, Traverse City, Petoskey, Kalkaska, Mackinaw City, Leland
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 3.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Suite
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Description not provided
1 Queen Studio
Description not provided
Two Double Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
One Queen Bed
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Shower
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tlsss11
Flushing, MI
Jan 2, 2014

Fantastic Traverse City Value

While not on the water, it's right across the street from it. This is a two room suite with a full kitchen and living area for 54.95! This is the second time I have stayed here, and it won't be the last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
Jul 5, 2011

Hard to find, but worth the effort.

We drove past this hotel twice and did not see it. We had to call for directions. This was just a stop at the end of a day of driving. What a nice place. Everything looked new, had a kitchen and jacuzzi! The suite would sleep 6, but the only bathroom was hardly big enough for one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Mesa Grill - Good food, big portions and OK price.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother daughter get away
Grand Blanc, MI
May 19, 2012

Perfect family getaway

This is a wonderful hotel, we had a 2 bedroom unit which was had a sofa, dining area & fully equiped kitchenette. The room was clean and comfortable. A great value! We were there on the "off" season, too early for outdoor pool to be open or for the use of the complimentary bikes but still an awesome stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
Jul 5, 2011

Hard to find, but worth the effort.

We drove past this hotel twice and did not see it. We had to call for directions. This was just a stop at the end of a day of driving. What a nice place. Everything looked new, had a kitchen and jacuzzi! The suite would sleep 6, but the only bathroom was hardly big enough for one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Mesa Grill - Good food, big portions and OK price.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick marine
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Jun 3, 2013

Great place to stay

From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out the staff was friendly and accommodating. Telling my girlfriend and I the fun places to go in town and also telling us about the bike trail behind the hotel that would take you all the way into town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is going to the traverse city area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba's burgers best burger in town and also the aerie restaurant if you don't mind spending some money for a great meal..

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine B
Detroit, MI
May 12, 2009

Traverse Bay Inn is a real diamond!

The folks and Traverse Bay Inn are really wonderful hosts. You can tell they take pride in their establishment. Their rooms are clean, the beds are comfy. The room was small, but not cramped. The kitchenette and large hi-def flat screen tv was a nice surprise. All in all, the accommodations are simple but comfortable and the staff is wonderful! I highly recommend Traverse Bay Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit both the Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas many wineries, art galleries, cherry orchards and the natural attraction of the bay!

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
banjo6
Winchester, VA, USA
May 28, 2013

Loved it!

Really enjoyed this property and they even have bikes you can take out to enjoy. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine B
Detroit, MI
May 12, 2009

Traverse Bay Inn is a real diamond!

The folks and Traverse Bay Inn are really wonderful hosts. You can tell they take pride in their establishment. Their rooms are clean, the beds are comfy. The room was small, but not cramped. The kitchenette and large hi-def flat screen tv was a nice surprise. All in all, the accommodations are simple but comfortable and the staff is wonderful! I highly recommend Traverse Bay Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit both the Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas many wineries, art galleries, cherry orchards and the natural attraction of the bay!

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy C2
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one more day. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. It was about a 10 minute drive from downtown Traverse City, but the price made up for the distance. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Traverse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Courier
Saginaw, MI
Jun 9, 2012

Fabulous!

The clerk at the hotel was extremely pleasant, the room was much nicer then I imagined it would be for the price - could not be happier with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top