$175 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
View map of 2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 6, 2010

Hot Water Would Be Nice

Was in town to run the Bayshore Half Marathon. Close location to the race start was perfect. However, the fact that there was never hot water to take a shower outweighed any other positives. Tried varying times of day, and shower was always cold...which is unacceptable. The staff never apoligized when we notified them, and simply told us they didn't have hot water to clean with either. Will not be recommending anyone to stay here - and will definitely give my fellow runners a heads-up for next year's race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
flint mi
Apr 19, 2010

alright hotel, friendly people

Well I went on an off season so the pool and hottub were closed due to being outside, and it being cold. I really liked that the hotel cam with a kitchen area with stove, oven, fridge, microwave, and even dishes. The main complaint about the hotel would be the very small bathrooms, i hit my arm on the wall in the bathroom a few times because the toilet is in a little cubby hole area next to the shower, it only had a stand up shower, no tub. Overall the people were nice and it came at a decent price, but i dont think it would be my top choice when i go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

buy your own grocerys and cook in, its got a nice kitchen

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
plymouth, michigan
Mar 23, 2010

great location

The pool is outdoor & it was winter time. The only thing to do at night was watch t.v. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Capac, MI
Mar 15, 2010

Excellent room for the price

The hotel was an excellent deal for what we paid. For only $40 a night, the room had a sitting room / kitchen, with a couch, HDTV, and a full kitchen, including a fridge and an oven. A small hallway had a bathroom off to the side, and the bedroom at the end. There were also stairs that led up to a locked door, which we suspect led to a second room, should you book it. The hotel itself is just a couple of miles outside of Traverse City, so a short drive brought us to the water front, where we walked and took some pictures, and the town itself, which was full of cool and interesting shops. The only small complaint I had about the hotel was that one of the legs to the table was not attached (the screw was stripped) so eating dinner was a nervous affair, wondering if the leg was going to fall and the table would collapse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Because of the full kitchen, my girlfriend and I opted to simply buy groceries and cook for ourselves.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AB548
Business
Michigan
Mar 6, 2010

Great Value

Great value for a very nice motel. I had a studio room with a small kitchenette. Not a new facility but clean and servicable. Efficient housekeeping and a handy self-serve laundry. Just what I needed for this trip. No breakfast but I saved enough on the hotel rate to more than make up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartland, Michigan
Jan 25, 2010

Talk About Value

Clean and comfortable with lots of room. Nicely equiped kitchenette. This place would be great for an extended stay. Right in town with lots of things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan99mi
Business
Wayland, MI
Jan 24, 2010

It was small but very nice and clean.

Very nice suite. Everyone was nice. Location was perfect for going to downtown TC and Turtle Creek Casino. The pool looked great but it was outdoors. I would like a room with the spa next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to: Sledders(burgers and beer), Fresh Water Lodge,

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tipton, IN
Jan 18, 2010

Not Bad!

Hotel was good, room was clean, bed was little hard for my liking but fine. I saw many other nicer hotels in the area advertizing at same price so I would check around but still good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retta Parsons
Business
Perry, Michigan
Jan 4, 2010

Traverse Bay Inn

This was a nice, quiet, comfortable place to stay. The office hours were a little sparse, but it was winter in Northern Michigan, so that was to be expected. We would recommend this place. There was a comfortable living room, flat screen tv, and a very clean kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retta Parsons
Business
Perry, Michigan
Jan 4, 2010

Traverse Bay Inn

This was a nice, quiet, comfortable place to stay. The office hours were a little sparse, but it was winter in Northern Michigan, so that was to be expected. We would recommend this place. There was a comfortable living room, flat screen tv, and a very clean kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top