$41 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
55 reviews
Spotless

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. Although older, it's well-maintained, and the room was... See full review

  • Fifty States
  • Oct 2, 2014
We will stay there again!!!

A great place to stay! We have four children, so we found the room we stayed in to be delightful!... See full review

  • Mom of 4 princesses
  • Aug 23, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

44.746 -85.5307
Area served
Near Traverse Area Recreation Trail
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 3.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Suite
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Walk in to a large Living Room with LCD TV, Fireplace, and Kitchen. King Bedroom and Queen Bedroom with 2nd and 3rd TV are both off of Living area. This suite is all on the ground level and has the largest Living Area of any room we offer.
1 Queen Studio
Our Studio Rooms are upstairs and have 1 Queen Bed. They are perfect for 1 or 2 people and provide economical, enjoyable space for a pleasant stay in Traverse City. This room has a kitchen but is not a suite like most of our other rooms. We have just two Studios to offer.
One Queen Bed
1 queen bed with shared bath
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Our Jacuzzi Suites walk in to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Off the hall is the Queen Bedroom with 2nd TV as well as the bath. Upstairs is the King Bedroom with 3rd TV and 2 person Jacuzzi.
Two Double Bed Non-Smokin
2 double beds nonsmoking with shared bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Amical
Nearby
Boones Long Lake Inn
Nearby
Dons Drive Inn
Nearby
North Peak Brewing Co
Nearby
Red Mesa Grill
Nearby
Tratitoria Stell
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartland, Michigan
Jan 25, 2010

Talk About Value

Clean and comfortable with lots of room. Nicely equiped kitchenette. This place would be great for an extended stay. Right in town with lots of things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan99mi
Business
Wayland, MI
Jan 24, 2010

It was small but very nice and clean.

Very nice suite. Everyone was nice. Location was perfect for going to downtown TC and Turtle Creek Casino. The pool looked great but it was outdoors. I would like a room with the spa next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to: Sledders(burgers and beer), Fresh Water Lodge,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tipton, IN
Jan 18, 2010

Not Bad!

Hotel was good, room was clean, bed was little hard for my liking but fine. I saw many other nicer hotels in the area advertizing at same price so I would check around but still good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retta Parsons
Business
Perry, Michigan
Jan 4, 2010

Traverse Bay Inn

This was a nice, quiet, comfortable place to stay. The office hours were a little sparse, but it was winter in Northern Michigan, so that was to be expected. We would recommend this place. There was a comfortable living room, flat screen tv, and a very clean kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bourbonman
Business
Auburn Hills, MI
Nov 30, 2009

Great Place

Nice Place to stay. Closets are HUGE and the bedroom is seperate from the kitchen/living area. Kitchen has full amenities. Sofa was comfy. Bed was very hard. would have been ok if the pillows were soft however they also were hard and flat. That being said everthing else was great and I will stay there again but will bring my own pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out "Pearls" in Elk Rapids. You won't be disapointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
giantrabbit
Business
Gobles, MI
Nov 17, 2009

Great Value

Very clean and well maintained. Kitchenette accomodations would be great for longer stays. Very private bedroom yet very near beaches,restaurants and on the main road leading to a vibrant downtown, which isn't far. Beautiful Grand Traverse Bay is right across the street. Definitely a good value for the money and I'll be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a great casual dinner, try the Blue Tractor Cookshop in the Old Town District. The macaroni and cheese comes in 4 flavors and is fantastic. They also smoke there own pork so any option on the menu that includes it is special.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chipmunk76
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 21, 2009

Traverse Bay Inn

Two bedrooms, two TV's, corner room, stove, Refer, fireplace, utinsels, living room for 49.00? Show me a better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park, KS
Oct 19, 2009

Nice, but cozy

The suites are nice but on the small side, at least the one we were in. There wasn't any room to really spread out our things in the bathroom area either. We did enjoy having the kitchen area for our 1 night stay. The office closed at 6 PM so our key to the room was left in the mailbox which was fine but we weren't able to get the Internet access code for our one night's stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brighton, MI
Oct 2, 2009

Great Place at a Reasonable Price

Nicely updated motel in a great location, at a terrific price. Bathroom is small and outdated--but on the balance, a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Aug 20, 2009

Excellent

Met my expectations (which is rare). I'd stay there again. Really appricated the "at web checkout" discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top