Traverse Bay Inn

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$45
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 3, 2016

Nice place

Would recommend Sun, Jul 10, 2011
Friendly staff clean motel Next to TART bike trail

| Harrisburg, PA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Hard to find, but worth the effort.

Would recommend Tue, Jul 5, 2011
We drove past this hotel twice and did not see it. We had to call for directions. This was just a stop at the end of a day of driving. What a nice place. Everything looked new, had a kitchen and jacuzzi! The suite would sleep 6, but the only bathroom was hardly big enough for one.

Dining

Red Mesa Grill - Good food, big portions and OK price.

| Dayton, OH Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Older, cheaper, clean & neat

Would recommend Mon, Jun 13, 2011
This place was priced less than the other places when I booked. Reading the reviews convinced me I had stayed there before. I was wrong, but, the reviews were proven accurate. The place is older & clean, but the room has an awkward layout. There is a small kitchen area which is best considered a convenience, rather than counting on it for cooking daily meals. Ample refrigerator size. The bathroom tub is about the smallest size made and the tub enclosure is not user friendly, but it's not a total frustration. Note: If you take kids, the hot water from the tap is VERY hot. The TV in the common area was a flat screen. Decent channel selection and good reception. The bed was quite comfortable, we both slept well, which is not always the case away from home. There is a nicely structured pool area with ample furniture in very good condition. Pool water was clean and clear. I am a bit of a hotel snob, but not a prima donna. You don't find me in lower-end chains. Having said that, I also will not pay any price for a room. I would return to this place for a one-, maybe two-night stay. Three...I don't know, the layout might do me in unless I was alone. Further, I recommend a stay there with a maximum of three people total. Four if they are all calm people. Overall the property shows pride of ownership in the cleanliness, landscaping, facilities condition and attention to detail.

| Grand Rapids, MI Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excellent value for the money,very clean

Would recommend Fri, Jun 3, 2011
Enjoyed my one night stay, the unit is so much more than just the standard motel room. It was very well equipped and very clean, I stay in Traverse City about one night a month while visiting my sister, who is in a nursing home there. I definitely will stay there again, it would also be a perfect base for a family to stay and enjoy all that Traverse City offers.

Dining

Several restaurants in the vicinity of the motel make dining an easy drive.

| Northern Michigan Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great for a quick stay in Traverse City

Would recommend Tue, May 31, 2011
This was perfect for a stop on our weekend road trip. Quick and easy check-in/out, and it met our needs. We didn't even use the kitchen. Bedding was comfortable and room was spacious.

| Milwaukee, WI Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Good Value

Would recommend Wed, Mar 9, 2011
I arrived late and left the hotel early on a business trip. Positive: Comfortable beds and convenient location to the airport and several eating establishments. Affordable rate. Comfortable bed. Negative: No 24 hour desk offering service to the traveler. No heater vent in the bathroom.

| Rudyard, MI Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Value

Would recommend Sat, Oct 23, 2010
I am a frequent visitor to Traverse City and this motel suits me perfectly. Clean, comfortable, and quiet, yet a short distance to everything Traverse City has to offer-amazing food, shopping, beaches, scenery and miles and miles of trails to walk or bicycle. The bed was comfortable, lots of closet space,the kitchen was a great convenience and the beautiful east bay is right across the street. A great value in an area of high priced resort motels!

Attractions

Check out the trail systems. From the crosstown paved TART trail to the numerous nature trails, there's something for every level of activity.

| Gobles, MI Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good For Family, Nice Location & Value,

Would recommend Sun, Jul 11, 2010
The staff at this hotel was very nice & gracious! The pool area was great for my son to play in. The kitchenettes & suites are very well suited for Family Travel, but be aware, the AC units are in the bedroom, so the living area can get warm if the bedroom door is shut. They even have a gas grill that you can use to cook your dinner after hitting the beach. Bikes are also available for use on the TART trail adjacent to the hotel. I imagine it's a challenge to keep the floors clean in a beach motel so my only suggestion would be for the management to invest in better carpet cleaning equipment. My feet were black on the first day after walking on the carpet. For the rest of our stay we wore socks or shoes because the floors were so dirty. I saw the cleaning staff working in another room and it looks like they have a vacuum from 1950!

| West Michigan Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Not what we expected..it was ADORABLE

Would recommend Mon, Jun 14, 2010
It doesn't look like much on the outside. When we pulled in we looked at one another and said, "Oh no it's a dingy little roach motel". But what do you expect for $60 a night in an area where hotels usually cost around $200. Looks are deceiving though. We entered the room and our breath caught at how adorable it was. It was small and it wasn't luxurious nor fancy so if you have expensive taste you might not agree with how pretty it was. It had suede furniture that was a little broken in but comfy. High-speed wireless internet. The flat screen TV was wall mounted. A kitchen(ette?) with a small 4 person table, utensils and cookware, toaster, stove-oven, double sink, coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The hallway has a walk in closet across from the full bathroom. The bedroom at the end of the hall had a small flat screen TV on the dresser, full size bed and walk in closet. And upstairs (yes there were stairs going to another floor) was predominately the master bedroom with a hot-tub, king size bed, walk in closet and wall mounted flat screen TV. We are definitely going to reserve another room in the fall for a longer stay. My ONLY complaint is that you have to wait until 3PM to check in but that was only because we were very tired from traveling since 5AM and wanted to drop off our things and go to lunch.

| Detroit Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Hot Water Would Be Nice

Would not recommend Sun, Jun 6, 2010
Was in town to run the Bayshore Half Marathon. Close location to the race start was perfect. However, the fact that there was never hot water to take a shower outweighed any other positives. Tried varying times of day, and shower was always cold...which is unacceptable. The staff never apoligized when we notified them, and simply told us they didn't have hot water to clean with either. Will not be recommending anyone to stay here - and will definitely give my fellow runners a heads-up for next year's race.

| Detroit, MI Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5