$41 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
56 reviews
sweet place

sweet place ... I've stayed several times ... Great staff See full review

  • Just Gone Fishing
  • Oct 28, 2014
Spotless

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. Although older, it's well-maintained, and the room was... See full review

  • Fifty States
  • Oct 2, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Suite
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Walk in to a large Living Room with LCD TV, Fireplace, and Kitchen. King Bedroom and Queen Bedroom with 2nd and 3rd TV are both off of Living area. This suite is all on the ground level and has the largest Living Area of any room we offer.
1 Queen Studio
Our Studio Rooms are upstairs and have 1 Queen Bed. They are perfect for 1 or 2 people and provide economical, enjoyable space for a pleasant stay in Traverse City. This room has a kitchen but is not a suite like most of our other rooms. We have just two Studios to offer.
One Queen Bed
1 queen bed with shared bath
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Our Jacuzzi Suites walk in to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Off the hall is the Queen Bedroom with 2nd TV as well as the bath. Upstairs is the King Bedroom with 3rd TV and 2 person Jacuzzi.
Two Double Bed Non-Smokin
2 double beds nonsmoking with shared bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Amical
Nearby
Boones Long Lake Inn
Nearby
Dons Drive Inn
Nearby
North Peak Brewing Co
Nearby
Red Mesa Grill
Nearby
Tratitoria Stell
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 31, 2011

Great for a quick stay in Traverse City

This was perfect for a stop on our weekend road trip. Quick and easy check-in/out, and it met our needs. We didn't even use the kitchen. Bedding was comfortable and room was spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rudyard, MI
Mar 9, 2011

Good Value

I arrived late and left the hotel early on a business trip. Positive: Comfortable beds and convenient location to the airport and several eating establishments. Affordable rate. Comfortable bed. Negative: No 24 hour desk offering service to the traveler. No heater vent in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
giantrabbit
Business
Gobles, MI
Oct 23, 2010

Great Value

I am a frequent visitor to Traverse City and this motel suits me perfectly. Clean, comfortable, and quiet, yet a short distance to everything Traverse City has to offer-amazing food, shopping, beaches, scenery and miles and miles of trails to walk or bicycle. The bed was comfortable, lots of closet space,the kitchen was a great convenience and the beautiful east bay is right across the street. A great value in an area of high priced resort motels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Check out the trail systems. From the crosstown paved TART trail to the numerous nature trails, there's something for every level of activity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sun lover
Business
Michigan
Aug 22, 2010

Okay for a night

Okay place to stay for a night. The room could use a serious update. Didn't realize the room was actually up a flight of very small inclosed stairs, a bit odd. Also the room door wasn't very secure. The room was clean, but the bathroom could have used an extra cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Michigan
Jul 11, 2010

Good For Family, Nice Location & Value,

The staff at this hotel was very nice & gracious! The pool area was great for my son to play in. The kitchenettes & suites are very well suited for Family Travel, but be aware, the AC units are in the bedroom, so the living area can get warm if the bedroom door is shut. They even have a gas grill that you can use to cook your dinner after hitting the beach. Bikes are also available for use on the TART trail adjacent to the hotel. I imagine it's a challenge to keep the floors clean in a beach motel so my only suggestion would be for the management to invest in better carpet cleaning equipment. My feet were black on the first day after walking on the carpet. For the rest of our stay we wore socks or shoes because the floors were so dirty. I saw the cleaning staff working in another room and it looks like they have a vacuum from 1950!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firefighters Wife
Business
Detroit
Jun 14, 2010

Not what we expected..it was ADORABLE

It doesn't look like much on the outside. When we pulled in we looked at one another and said, "Oh no it's a dingy little roach motel". But what do you expect for $60 a night in an area where hotels usually cost around $200. Looks are deceiving though. We entered the room and our breath caught at how adorable it was. It was small and it wasn't luxurious nor fancy so if you have expensive taste you might not agree with how pretty it was. It had suede furniture that was a little broken in but comfy. High-speed wireless internet. The flat screen TV was wall mounted. A kitchen(ette?) with a small 4 person table, utensils and cookware, toaster, stove-oven, double sink, coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The hallway has a walk in closet across from the full bathroom. The bedroom at the end of the hall had a small flat screen TV on the dresser, full size bed and walk in closet. And upstairs (yes there were stairs going to another floor) was predominately the master bedroom with a hot-tub, king size bed, walk in closet and wall mounted flat screen TV. We are definitely going to reserve another room in the fall for a longer stay. My ONLY complaint is that you have to wait until 3PM to check in but that was only because we were very tired from traveling since 5AM and wanted to drop off our things and go to lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 6, 2010

Hot Water Would Be Nice

Was in town to run the Bayshore Half Marathon. Close location to the race start was perfect. However, the fact that there was never hot water to take a shower outweighed any other positives. Tried varying times of day, and shower was always cold...which is unacceptable. The staff never apoligized when we notified them, and simply told us they didn't have hot water to clean with either. Will not be recommending anyone to stay here - and will definitely give my fellow runners a heads-up for next year's race.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
flint mi
Apr 19, 2010

alright hotel, friendly people

Well I went on an off season so the pool and hottub were closed due to being outside, and it being cold. I really liked that the hotel cam with a kitchen area with stove, oven, fridge, microwave, and even dishes. The main complaint about the hotel would be the very small bathrooms, i hit my arm on the wall in the bathroom a few times because the toilet is in a little cubby hole area next to the shower, it only had a stand up shower, no tub. Overall the people were nice and it came at a decent price, but i dont think it would be my top choice when i go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

buy your own grocerys and cook in, its got a nice kitchen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
plymouth, michigan
Mar 23, 2010

great location

The pool is outdoor & it was winter time. The only thing to do at night was watch t.v. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Capac, MI
Mar 15, 2010

Excellent room for the price

The hotel was an excellent deal for what we paid. For only $40 a night, the room had a sitting room / kitchen, with a couch, HDTV, and a full kitchen, including a fridge and an oven. A small hallway had a bathroom off to the side, and the bedroom at the end. There were also stairs that led up to a locked door, which we suspect led to a second room, should you book it. The hotel itself is just a couple of miles outside of Traverse City, so a short drive brought us to the water front, where we walked and took some pictures, and the town itself, which was full of cool and interesting shops. The only small complaint I had about the hotel was that one of the legs to the table was not attached (the screw was stripped) so eating dinner was a nervous affair, wondering if the leg was going to fall and the table would collapse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Because of the full kitchen, my girlfriend and I opted to simply buy groceries and cook for ourselves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top