$41 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
View map of 2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Consumer Review
Business
Northville, MI
Jun 27, 2012

Traverse Bay Inn Review

I stayed in a jacuzzi suite. It was very spacious and clean. I did appreciate and use the full size refrigerator in the suite. The only issue was that the funiture and appliances need to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bayshore Runner
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 26, 2012

Good for the price.

Staff was friendly, room was spacious and clean. They have complimentary bikes, but unfortunately they're located on the main drag with lots of fast traffic and no sidewalks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Courier
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jun 9, 2012

Fabulous!

The clerk at the hotel was extremely pleasant, the room was much nicer then I imagined it would be for the price - could not be happier with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentBiker
Business
West Michigan
Jun 8, 2012

Confortable stay at a great price

This motel is an older style place but wasn't outdated. Since all the rooms are first floor parking is convenient right outside your door. The room had a small, well-supplied kitchen area (pans, dishes, silverware etc) with a living area in front with flat-screen TV and a dining table off to the side. The bathroom was small but very functional, plenty of hot water and towels. The bedroom is in the back with a comfortable bed and another TV. The room has 2 closets and amenities like ironing board, toaster, microwave, hair dryer etc. The motel has a small heated pool and adjoining hot tub. The motel is located about 4 miles east of downtown right on the main road. There are 2 miniature golf courses nearby and a couple of parks (including a state park). The TART bike trail is located just behind the motel and the motel provides bikes for use free of charge. The motel also provides free Wi-Fi (good signal) in rooms and by the pool. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and was full of local information. One drawback for some people is that the office is generally only staffed 8AM to 10PM so it could be a hassle arriving late or checking out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Green House Cafe in downtown Traverse City has great breakfasts and lunches. You may also want to try the pizza at G's Pizzeria just west of the motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andie L.
Business
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Jun 4, 2012

Wish I had stayed here sooner!

I was at the hotel for one night (off-season), but I wish I would have stayed there my entire vacation. Staff was extremely friendly, lots of space (especially for a single traveler) and I loved the "suite" feel at an absolutely bargain price. Very clean and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ddavidd
Business
Traverse City, MI
May 27, 2012

Great value room

Stayed one night for $55. Great value - clean room with the basics: queen bed in bedroom separate from a main living area with couch, TV , fridge, small table, and sink. Did not have a pet but it is pet-friendly for an additional fee. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother daughter get away
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
May 19, 2012

Perfect family getaway

This is a wonderful hotel, we had a 2 bedroom unit which was had a sofa, dining area & fully equiped kitchenette. The room was clean and comfortable. A great value! We were there on the "off" season, too early for outdoor pool to be open or for the use of the complimentary bikes but still an awesome stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jul 10, 2011

Nice place

Friendly staff clean motel Next to TART bike trail

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Jul 5, 2011

Hard to find, but worth the effort.

We drove past this hotel twice and did not see it. We had to call for directions. This was just a stop at the end of a day of driving. What a nice place. Everything looked new, had a kitchen and jacuzzi! The suite would sleep 6, but the only bathroom was hardly big enough for one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Mesa Grill - Good food, big portions and OK price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 13, 2011

Older, cheaper, clean & neat

This place was priced less than the other places when I booked. Reading the reviews convinced me I had stayed there before. I was wrong, but, the reviews were proven accurate. The place is older & clean, but the room has an awkward layout. There is a small kitchen area which is best considered a convenience, rather than counting on it for cooking daily meals. Ample refrigerator size. The bathroom tub is about the smallest size made and the tub enclosure is not user friendly, but it's not a total frustration. Note: If you take kids, the hot water from the tap is VERY hot. The TV in the common area was a flat screen. Decent channel selection and good reception. The bed was quite comfortable, we both slept well, which is not always the case away from home. There is a nicely structured pool area with ample furniture in very good condition. Pool water was clean and clear. I am a bit of a hotel snob, but not a prima donna. You don't find me in lower-end chains. Having said that, I also will not pay any price for a room. I would return to this place for a one-, maybe two-night stay. Three...I don't know, the layout might do me in unless I was alone. Further, I recommend a stay there with a maximum of three people total. Four if they are all calm people. Overall the property shows pride of ownership in the cleanliness, landscaping, facilities condition and attention to detail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top