$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Traverse Bay Inn

2 stars
2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one... See full review

  • Amy C2
  • Jun 19, 2014
Fantastic Traverse City Value

While not on the water, it's right across the street from it. This is a two room suite with a full... See full review

  • Tlsss11
  • Jan 2, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Suite
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Description not provided
1 Queen Studio
Description not provided
Two Double Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
One Queen Bed
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Shower
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.746 -85.5307
Area served
Grand Rapids, Detroit, Traverse City, Petoskey, Kalkaska, Mackinaw City, Leland
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 3.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don K
Chicago
Oct 17, 2013

Good, clean hotel

The hotel was very clean and efficient. It had 2 beds upstairs and 1 bed downstairs with 3 flat screen tv's. It had a small kitchen downstairs and internet Everything worked properly. No food service, but plenty of restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the town of Empire and enjoy the national park. It is about a 30 minute drive.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trafford Boy
Trafford
Sep 11, 2013

Great Place, Best in TC for the price.

Great place, big room, everything works, quiet, comfortable, clean as can be, I can't say enough about the place. Not a resort, no beach, no mini bar, ...just a great place to stay overnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick marine
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Jun 3, 2013

Great place to stay

From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out the staff was friendly and accommodating. Telling my girlfriend and I the fun places to go in town and also telling us about the bike trail behind the hotel that would take you all the way into town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is going to the traverse city area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba's burgers best burger in town and also the aerie restaurant if you don't mind spending some money for a great meal..

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
banjo6
Winchester, VA, USA
May 28, 2013

Loved it!

Really enjoyed this property and they even have bikes you can take out to enjoy. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OSU Grad
Odenton, MD
Oct 7, 2012

Unexpected surprise

Booked a couple nights at the Traverse Bay Inn based on prior reviews and I completely agree with their sentiments. Upon checking in, I felt like I stepped back in time. While the place is older & in need of some refurbishment, I found to be very comfy & cozy. I've been on the road 10 days now & had the best nite's sleep there. If you're looking for upscale amenities, this is definitely not your place...but, if you want to feel like your home, this is it. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kipp andPhyllis
Roodhouse IL.
Aug 4, 2012

Great Week for us!

The housecleaning staff was so friendly. The rooms were comfortable size and had an upstairs bedroom with a jacuzzi. Would be great if we had taken the grandkids with us. Next year! The location was good except hard to get out on main road when it was busy but that was probably anywhere. Loved having bikes available for free to ride and trail was right behind hotel. Wished it had been on lake side but we could just walk across street to reach beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bay View Inn... WOW! Have the rib-eye. Wonderful food. Wonderful waitress and prices!

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Consumer Review
Northville, MI
Jun 27, 2012

Traverse Bay Inn Review

I stayed in a jacuzzi suite. It was very spacious and clean. I did appreciate and use the full size refrigerator in the suite. The only issue was that the funiture and appliances need to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bayshore Runner
Lansing, MI
Jun 26, 2012

Good for the price.

Staff was friendly, room was spacious and clean. They have complimentary bikes, but unfortunately they're located on the main drag with lots of fast traffic and no sidewalks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Courier
Saginaw, MI
Jun 9, 2012

Fabulous!

The clerk at the hotel was extremely pleasant, the room was much nicer then I imagined it would be for the price - could not be happier with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentBiker
West Michigan
Jun 8, 2012

Confortable stay at a great price

This motel is an older style place but wasn't outdated. Since all the rooms are first floor parking is convenient right outside your door. The room had a small, well-supplied kitchen area (pans, dishes, silverware etc) with a living area in front with flat-screen TV and a dining table off to the side. The bathroom was small but very functional, plenty of hot water and towels. The bedroom is in the back with a comfortable bed and another TV. The room has 2 closets and amenities like ironing board, toaster, microwave, hair dryer etc. The motel has a small heated pool and adjoining hot tub. The motel is located about 4 miles east of downtown right on the main road. There are 2 miniature golf courses nearby and a couple of parks (including a state park). The TART bike trail is located just behind the motel and the motel provides bikes for use free of charge. The motel also provides free Wi-Fi (good signal) in rooms and by the pool. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and was full of local information. One drawback for some people is that the office is generally only staffed 8AM to 10PM so it could be a hassle arriving late or checking out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Green House Cafe in downtown Traverse City has great breakfasts and lunches. You may also want to try the pizza at G's Pizzeria just west of the motel.

Back to menu Return to top