$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Traverse Bay Inn

2 stars
2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one... See full review

  • Amy C2
  • Jun 19, 2014
Fantastic Traverse City Value

While not on the water, it's right across the street from it. This is a two room suite with a full... See full review

  • Tlsss11
  • Jan 2, 2014
Home away from home at Traverse City family-friendly inn

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

44.746 -85.5307
Area served
Grand Rapids, Detroit, Traverse City, Petoskey, Kalkaska, Mackinaw City, Leland
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 3.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Suite
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Description not provided
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Description not provided
1 Queen Studio
Description not provided
Two Double Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
One Queen Bed
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire place
Shower
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Courier
Saginaw, MI
Jun 9, 2012

Fabulous!

The clerk at the hotel was extremely pleasant, the room was much nicer then I imagined it would be for the price - could not be happier with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fitzpatricks
Perry, Michigan
Jun 26, 2014

Reasonably priced and comfortable

The room was clean and comfy. We arrived late but I called ahead and they had an envelope with a welcome letter and room key waiting for us when we got there. The staff in the morning was friendly and cheerful and reminded us to check out the Farmer's Market in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpartySAM
Haslett, MI
Jun 21, 2014

Nice room, tiny bathrooms, great staff

Traverse City is one of our favorite destinations for a trip. Over time, we have checked out many of the hotels/motels. We discovered Traverse Bay Inn a few years ago and it remains one of our favorite motels. This is a family run motel. It is not fancy but it offers an interesting mix of rooms. Some rooms consist of an upper and lower story with the upper story having a jacuzzi; others are single story (the upper story door is closed). They offer the basic amenities (stove, full frig, sink, couch, TV), a minimum of three rooms (a combination living room/kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom). The rooms are on the small size - warning the bathroom is absolutely tiny. They are clean, basic, and well maintained. The staff is great. If you are looking for low cost, low frills, convenient lodging in the Traverse City that offers easy access to Traverse City (the hotel is located on US31), then there is a lot to like about this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of restaurant chains in the Traverse City area. However, Traverse City is developing a reputation as a foodie destination. Next time, you are in Traverse City, go to the west end of Front Street. There, you will find a number of small great local restaurants. You will Bubba - the home of truly great homemade burgers and the such (also great beer). You will also find Georgina's - a very small restaurant that offers truly great food that fuses Latin and Asian styles for a great price. Travel a bit from downtown but enjoy a lot.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy C2
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one more day. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. It was about a 10 minute drive from downtown Traverse City, but the price made up for the distance. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Traverse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee V
Yale, MI
May 27, 2014

Excellent place to Stay in Traverse City

The room was well priced, conveniently located and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niki1216
Grand Rapids, Mi.
Apr 19, 2014

Anniversary in Traverse City

This was our 4th Anniversary, had no real idea what to do. I have lived in Michigan almost all my life and I have never been to Traverse City. I started looking at Hotels, I found one near the casino, at a price that fit my budget. I called and asked the receptionist at the Traverse Bay Inn; what was near the hotel that my husband and I could. Due to the fact it was their off season, a lot was still closed. We were referred to the wineries, and breweries. That was something that interested by my husband and myself. The staff was friendly and helpful. The staff made sure our stay was good and that we were having fun. Our room was huge. It had a kitchenette, a loft with an extra room. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel also has a pool and a hot tub, but it was the off season. Had a great time at Turtle Creek Casino, but the wineries had to be the best. Driving around the peninsula, looking for the wineries, we saw some amazing sites. The staff at the wineries were friendly and fun. They had some great tasting wine. We will go back again. I thanked the staff when we left. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy the scenery on the peninsula, its breath taking, and not far from town.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swiss mami
San Francisco
Apr 6, 2014

Great accommodations

We loved the kitchen and living room combo in addition to having a bedroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tlsss11
Flushing, MI
Jan 2, 2014

Fantastic Traverse City Value

While not on the water, it's right across the street from it. This is a two room suite with a full kitchen and living area for 54.95! This is the second time I have stayed here, and it won't be the last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suztom
Caro, mi
Dec 12, 2013

Anniversary get-away

Last minute decision to go to Traverse City to.celebrate our anniversary. Got the room(s) for$39!!! Two BRs, kitchenette, new bath, quiet, cedars in snow out back window...perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

State Theater downtown...good films, lovely theater, cheap popcorn!

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling want a be
White Lake Michigan
Oct 30, 2013

funeral travel

The room we stayed in was nice and convient with the small kitchenette. the beds were very comfortable, the fireplace nice but I wish the walls would have been washed. There was hair on the walls above the bathroom door and looked like they had a leak problem down the wall by the dinning table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4011
rockford, mi
Oct 25, 2013

happy couple & kids

very happy with this hotel very nice would stay their next time i am in traverse city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top