$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Traverse Bay Inn

1 star
View map of 2300 US 31 North, 2300 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
53 reviews
Great Location in Traverse City

The hotel doesn't have all the amenities that the bigger hotels have, but we felt safe and the... See full review

  • Randi W.
  • Jun 27, 2015
sweet place

sweet place ... I've stayed several times ... Great staff See full review

  • Just Gone Fishing
  • Oct 28, 2014

Located across the street from a lakeside park, the Traverse Bay Inn is a family-friendly hotel offering plenty of amenities. Guests enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, a picnic area with gas grills, and complimentary use of bicycles.  Spacious one and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens are available. Select rooms include a fireplace and/or Jacuzzi bath and dogs are permitted (fees apply).

Rooms

The Traverse Bay Inn provides mostly one and two bedroom suites with full kitchens, and a few studio guest rooms. Some suites also offer a Jacuzzi bath or fireplace. All guest rooms have flat-screen televisions, an iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and alarm clock. Dogs are permitted (fees apply) and all guest rooms are non-smoking.

Property features

Steps from the Traverse Bay Inn is the 10-mile Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART), a paved bicycle and walking route with views of both West and East Grand Traverse Bays. The hotel provides complimentary usage of bicycles for guests to enjoy the trail.

 

Guests enjoy outdoor fun on-site with a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, gas grills and a picnic area. Nearby dining options include a coffee shop, Burger King, Bob Evans, Hooters and Wendy's.

Highlights
  • Across the street from Grand Traverse Bay and lakeside park
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool
  • One and two bedroom suites available with full kitchens
  • Complimentary bicycles for use on Traverse Area Recreation Trail
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Torch Lake (24.4 mi/39.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (45 mi/72.4 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traverse Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

★★
$79
3.6 / 5 68 reviews
★★
$69
3.7 / 5 76 reviews
★★
$55
2.9 / 5 80 reviews
★★
$80
3.0 / 5 25 reviews
★★
$52
3.3 / 5 94 reviews
★★
$74
3.2 / 5 15 reviews
★★
$74
3.2 / 5 39 reviews
★★
$99
4.4 / 5 27 reviews

Traverse Bay Inn Rooms

Queen Suite Non-Smoking
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Suite
Our 1 Bedroom Suites all have 1 queen bed and walk in from the ground level. Enter to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Down the hall is a lock off bedroom with a queen bed and second TV. Bathroom with tub and shower is off of the hall.
2 Bedroom Fireplace Suite
Walk in to a large Living Room with LCD TV, Fireplace, and Kitchen. King Bedroom and Queen Bedroom with 2nd and 3rd TV are both off of Living area. This suite is all on the ground level and has the largest Living Area of any room we offer.
1 Queen Studio
Our Studio Rooms are upstairs and have 1 Queen Bed. They are perfect for 1 or 2 people and provide economical, enjoyable space for a pleasant stay in Traverse City. This room has a kitchen but is not a suite like most of our other rooms. We have just two Studios to offer.
One Queen Bed
1 queen bed with shared bath
2 Bedroom Jacuzzi Suite
Our Jacuzzi Suites walk in to a combined Living Room with LCD TV and fully equipped Kitchen. Off the hall is the Queen Bedroom with 2nd TV as well as the bath. Upstairs is the King Bedroom with 3rd TV and 2 person Jacuzzi.
Two Double Bed Non-Smokin
2 double beds nonsmoking with shared bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Amical
Nearby
Boones Long Lake Inn
Nearby
Dons Drive Inn
Nearby
North Peak Brewing Co
Nearby
Red Mesa Grill
Nearby
Tratitoria Stell
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Traverse Bay Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Courier
Single
Saginaw, MI
Jun 9, 2012

Fabulous!

The clerk at the hotel was extremely pleasant, the room was much nicer then I imagined it would be for the price - could not be happier with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randi W.
Family
KALAMAZOO
Jun 27, 2015

Great Location in Traverse City

The hotel doesn't have all the amenities that the bigger hotels have, but we felt safe and the hotel was clean. They offered a decent breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tammyfaye
Family
N/A
May 5, 2015

Wine tasting

It was nice for the sip and savor weekend! It was in a great location and nice that it had two bedrooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger
Couples
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Enjoyed our stay

Nice hotel for the price. Enjoyed the kitchenette. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. People were friendly and helpful. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Gone Fishing
Single
la, CA
Oct 28, 2014

sweet place

sweet place ... I've stayed several times ... Great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fifty States
Single
Chicago, IL
Oct 2, 2014

Spotless

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. Although older, it's well-maintained, and the room was spotless. The unit was a two bedroom townhouse with a small kitchen and living room. Check in was a breeze, and the office manager was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom of 4 princesses
Family
Muskegon MI
Aug 23, 2014

We will stay there again!!!

A great place to stay! We have four children, so we found the room we stayed in to be delightful! The kids loved having an upstairs room with two queen beds where they were able to sleep, I loved having a room off the sitting area where I slept. The suite was very clean and fresh, and very comfortable. I nice change too having an outdoor pool, we were able to enjoy the pool without feeling the humidity of the indoor pools! When we plan our next trip to Traverse City, we will be looking at Traverse Bay Inn for our place to stay! A great experience for my whole family. Absolutely LOVED it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fitzpatricks
Couples
Perry, Michigan
Jun 26, 2014

Reasonably priced and comfortable

The room was clean and comfy. We arrived late but I called ahead and they had an envelope with a welcome letter and room key waiting for us when we got there. The staff in the morning was friendly and cheerful and reminded us to check out the Farmer's Market in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpartySAM
Couples
Haslett, MI
Jun 21, 2014

Nice room, tiny bathrooms, great staff

Traverse City is one of our favorite destinations for a trip. Over time, we have checked out many of the hotels/motels. We discovered Traverse Bay Inn a few years ago and it remains one of our favorite motels. This is a family run motel. It is not fancy but it offers an interesting mix of rooms. Some rooms consist of an upper and lower story with the upper story having a jacuzzi; others are single story (the upper story door is closed). They offer the basic amenities (stove, full frig, sink, couch, TV), a minimum of three rooms (a combination living room/kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom). The rooms are on the small size - warning the bathroom is absolutely tiny. They are clean, basic, and well maintained. The staff is great. If you are looking for low cost, low frills, convenient lodging in the Traverse City that offers easy access to Traverse City (the hotel is located on US31), then there is a lot to like about this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of restaurant chains in the Traverse City area. However, Traverse City is developing a reputation as a foodie destination. Next time, you are in Traverse City, go to the west end of Front Street. There, you will find a number of small great local restaurants. You will Bubba - the home of truly great homemade burgers and the such (also great beer). You will also find Georgina's - a very small restaurant that offers truly great food that fuses Latin and Asian styles for a great price. Travel a bit from downtown but enjoy a lot.

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy C2
Couples
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Great for a getaway

I booked this hotel for one night but I enjoyed it so much we decided to extend our trip for one more day. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. It was about a 10 minute drive from downtown Traverse City, but the price made up for the distance. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Traverse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee V
Single
Yale, MI
May 27, 2014

Excellent place to Stay in Traverse City

The room was well priced, conveniently located and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top