$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Sugar Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 1773 US 31 South, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
30 reviews
Wonderful stay

Every staff member I encountered was very nice and helpful. Beautiful resort. See full review

  • Andrea M.
  • Jul 20, 2015
New Years Eve

Very clean. Great hot tub room. Location was a distance from downtown (we went downtown for New... See full review

  • Living the dream
  • Jan 12, 2015
Beautiful 97 unit beachfront resort. All rooms oversize and feature 27 inch flat screen televisions with DVD unstacked wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, complimentary high speed wireless internet and private balconies. Some rooms and suites feature in-room whirlpool. The property features over 300 feet of sugar sand beach, an indoor pool and whirlpool, exercise room, continental breakfast with fresh waffles, wave runner and boat rentals. The Hotel was totally renovated in 2002. It is fully sprinkle-red and has 24 hour a day security.The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort Rooms

Standard - Guest room
Whether for business or vacation, all rooms are very spacious and have all the extras that will make your stay with us a pleasure. Each room features high speed wireless internet, refrigerators, coffee, and private balconies.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Sep 24, 2012

Breakfast

Breakfast was small and crowded. If you don't have a room view of the beach, it's not worth it to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rjpmsu
Business
Caledonia, Michigan
Nov 29, 2012

Holiday Weekend

The TV was outdated, and there was not clock in the room. The bathroom wall was not complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Apache Trout Grille

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asti
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Vacation

It was great. Everything was perfect. We really had a wonderful vacation and will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bastille714
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Traverse City Weekend

The staff were incredibly professional. Location right on the beach was nice. There was a great view from the room. Some might be bothered by the infamously known restaurant across the street but I thought it was funny (didn't actually go). Room was large and uniquely decorated. Clean hotel and nice breakfast. I think it could have been just a little cheaper in the off-season (since a lot of sights were closed) but I feel it was mostly worth what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Tandem Cider Mill in Leelanau!

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLQU
Business
Plainwell Michigan
May 1, 2012

Birthday Celebration

Guess I cannot tell the truth about this hotel? Any negative comments are not being sent thru! Won't come to this hotel again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Boone's Restaurant out on Silver Road

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda1024
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 8, 2012

Nice place in a great area

Had a perfect little 4 day get away at this lovely hotel. Clean, friendly staff, & good location right on the water. Close to restaurants, downtown, outdoor activites, scenic drives, etc. The water is crystal clear. We kayaked right on our own beach & on Lake Michigan. Gorgeous, clean water. 1st timers to this area so we were quite pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park is a must! Take the Pierce Stocking scenic drive. The views of Lake Michigan from the overlook is amazing!

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michigan Mountain Man
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jan 2, 2013

Great stay for the money

The room was clean. It was inexpensive, and right on the beach. There are great places to eat right across the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajwood
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great place!!!

My husband and I stayed here and had a great time. The rooms were nice and clean, staff was very friendly, and it was affordable. We would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Withee
Business
Flushing, Michigan
Sep 4, 2011

Anniversary Get Away

We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite at no extra charge - not sure why, but it was fun. The accommodations were very nice. Location was great and easily accessible to downtown and other attractions. Great breakfast while viewing the Lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go early to find parking! :)

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dkmv
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Oct 6, 2011

great stay

the rooms were huge! great location and the hottub in the room was money :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top