$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Sugar Beach Resort

3 stars
1773 US 31 South, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
25 reviews
Great stay

Great location and great beach! Enjoyed our stay. Though we didn't take kids all the kids there... See full review

  • jessc32
  • Aug 23, 2014
Great room

The room was better than expected, no problems! Nice view. See full review

  • mag n nice
  • Oct 22, 2013
Beautiful 97 unit beachfront resort. All rooms oversize and feature 27 inch flat screen televisions with DVD unstacked wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, complimentary high speed wireless internet and private balconies. Some rooms and suites feature in-room whirlpool. The property features over 300 feet of sugar sand beach, an indoor pool and whirlpool, exercise room, continental breakfast with fresh waffles, wave runner and boat rentals. The Hotel was totally renovated in 2002. It is fully sprinkle-red and has 24 hour a day security.The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast.

Hotel Map

44.7456 -85.5416
Area served
Traverse City
Nearby airports
Chippewa County International Airport
Area description
Traverse City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sugar Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sugar Beach Resort Rooms

Standard - Guest room
Whether for business or vacation, all rooms are very spacious and have all the extras that will make your stay with us a pleasure. Each room features high speed wireless internet, refrigerators, coffee, and private balconies.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pallen
grand blanc, mi
Oct 13, 2012

very accomadating

Room was updated and very clean, staff extremely friendly and answered any question we had about the area, also had recommended eateries. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago IL
Sep 24, 2012

Breakfast

Breakfast was small and crowded. If you don't have a room view of the beach, it's not worth it to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rjpmsu
Caledonia, Michigan
Nov 29, 2012

Holiday Weekend

The TV was outdated, and there was not clock in the room. The bathroom wall was not complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Apache Trout Grille

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, MI
Aug 12, 2010

Soft beds

Didn't feel we got our money's worth. Room was small, little ambiance, beds were too soft, smelled musty. Beach was nice, location great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Horizon book store in downtown is always fun to go to for a good selection of reading material.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sweetMamaSue
Grand Rapids, Mi
Apr 7, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

Beautiful view of the lake and beach. Wonderful continental breakfast.Very comfortable soft bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fireman LG
Business
Mid-Michigan
Oct 29, 2012

A Conference made easier with the Resort stay

Our entire stay was awesome, the entire staff we interacted with was very pleasant, friendly, warm, and refreshing to be greeted with a smile and manners. Entire family is planning our next visit, hopefully in warmer weather to enjoy the beach and bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scootie the marina man
Lowell, Indiana
Jan 2, 2013

Shugar Beach Resort is awesome

Had a great stay for the new year at Sugar Beach Resort. The room was clean and comfy and the continental breakfast was awesome. It is close to town and to everything else you need while in Traverse City. We couldnt ask for much better and the price was great too........................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubbas is a great place to get a sandwich or burger or even just watch a game. Great food and good atmosphere...

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky Michigan guy
Michogan
Jul 30, 2013

Loved it

Very clean, friendly close to it all. If you are curious, do it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda1024
Columbus, OH
Sep 8, 2012

Nice place in a great area

Had a perfect little 4 day get away at this lovely hotel. Clean, friendly staff, & good location right on the water. Close to restaurants, downtown, outdoor activites, scenic drives, etc. The water is crystal clear. We kayaked right on our own beach & on Lake Michigan. Gorgeous, clean water. 1st timers to this area so we were quite pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park is a must! Take the Pierce Stocking scenic drive. The views of Lake Michigan from the overlook is amazing!

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Ledge MI
Jul 5, 2010

great getaway

I really liked this hotel, would like to come back and visit more often. The towels and sheets could be a softer to the touch, a little rough feeling. I think the speed limit should be alot lower because its hard to walk to other stores or restaurants. It isn't safe.I chose to walk because it was a 4 hr drive, last thing I wanted to do was drive again. Very beautiful setting and very clean beach, parking lot and hotel I loved it. Worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you want to just walk across the street to eat or shop, buy a hand held stop sign

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Halgal
Naperville, IL
Jun 26, 2012

Great Beach Front

Great helpful and friendly staff, beach front was clean with plenty of chairs, nice indoor pool, & a variety of good food with the complimentary breakfast. The room itself was comfortable and clean, but the decor was outdated. We were put in the Honeymoon Suite, even though this was not our honeymoon. There was really nothing romantic about the room! The resort was not within walking distance of town, but close by car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search