Sugar Beach Resort

3 stars
1773 US 31 South, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
28 reviews
Great place for jacuzzi tub!

The staff was really helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Most important was that the room was... See full review

  • A froudie
  • Nov 22, 2014
On a fall color tour

This is an excellent hotel for the price! Located right on the water - wonderful for any time of... See full review

  • Nanook of the North
  • Oct 10, 2014
Beautiful 97 unit beachfront resort. All rooms oversize and feature 27 inch flat screen televisions with DVD unstacked wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, complimentary high speed wireless internet and private balconies. Some rooms and suites feature in-room whirlpool. The property features over 300 feet of sugar sand beach, an indoor pool and whirlpool, exercise room, continental breakfast with fresh waffles, wave runner and boat rentals. The Hotel was totally renovated in 2002. It is fully sprinkle-red and has 24 hour a day security.The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast.

Sugar Beach Resort Rooms

Standard - Guest room
Whether for business or vacation, all rooms are very spacious and have all the extras that will make your stay with us a pleasure. Each room features high speed wireless internet, refrigerators, coffee, and private balconies.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

44.7456 -85.5416
Area served
Traverse City
Nearby airports
Chippewa County International Airport
Area description
Traverse City.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Sep 24, 2012

Breakfast

Breakfast was small and crowded. If you don't have a room view of the beach, it's not worth it to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rjpmsu
Business
Caledonia, Michigan
Nov 29, 2012

Holiday Weekend

The TV was outdated, and there was not clock in the room. The bathroom wall was not complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Apache Trout Grille

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MI
Aug 12, 2010

Soft beds

Didn't feel we got our money's worth. Room was small, little ambiance, beds were too soft, smelled musty. Beach was nice, location great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Horizon book store in downtown is always fun to go to for a good selection of reading material.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asti
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Vacation

It was great. Everything was perfect. We really had a wonderful vacation and will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bastille714
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Traverse City Weekend

The staff were incredibly professional. Location right on the beach was nice. There was a great view from the room. Some might be bothered by the infamously known restaurant across the street but I thought it was funny (didn't actually go). Room was large and uniquely decorated. Clean hotel and nice breakfast. I think it could have been just a little cheaper in the off-season (since a lot of sights were closed) but I feel it was mostly worth what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Tandem Cider Mill in Leelanau!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLQU
Business
Plainwell Michigan
May 1, 2012

Birthday Celebration

Guess I cannot tell the truth about this hotel? Any negative comments are not being sent thru! Won't come to this hotel again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Boone's Restaurant out on Silver Road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Halgal
Business
Naperville, IL
Jun 26, 2012

Great Beach Front

Great helpful and friendly staff, beach front was clean with plenty of chairs, nice indoor pool, & a variety of good food with the complimentary breakfast. The room itself was comfortable and clean, but the decor was outdated. We were put in the Honeymoon Suite, even though this was not our honeymoon. There was really nothing romantic about the room! The resort was not within walking distance of town, but close by car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda1024
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 8, 2012

Nice place in a great area

Had a perfect little 4 day get away at this lovely hotel. Clean, friendly staff, & good location right on the water. Close to restaurants, downtown, outdoor activites, scenic drives, etc. The water is crystal clear. We kayaked right on our own beach & on Lake Michigan. Gorgeous, clean water. 1st timers to this area so we were quite pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park is a must! Take the Pierce Stocking scenic drive. The views of Lake Michigan from the overlook is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N8dw
Business
Traverse City, MI
Sep 24, 2012

Repeat Visitors, Definately Coming Back!

We really enjoyed our stay, which was the 2nd time we visited the resort. Close to the wineries and restaurants. The only suggestion I have is to increase the temperature of the hot tub a few degrees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rj Wine Taster
Business
Mt. Clemens Michigan
Oct 6, 2012

Beautiful resort for the Fall dollar.

Sugar Beach Resort was neatly located near Traverse City, staff were extremely competent. The only down point were the ants in the room in the morning. We had a first floor room which may have given our little guests a chance to join us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top