$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Sugar Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 1773 US 31 South, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher Preacher
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Loved the location!!

It was a great place to stay. A beautiful view out my slider. I wish it was summer so I could enjoy the beach. I will come back for sure. Clean room, nice staff, super price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asti
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Vacation

It was great. Everything was perfect. We really had a wonderful vacation and will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bastille714
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Traverse City Weekend

The staff were incredibly professional. Location right on the beach was nice. There was a great view from the room. Some might be bothered by the infamously known restaurant across the street but I thought it was funny (didn't actually go). Room was large and uniquely decorated. Clean hotel and nice breakfast. I think it could have been just a little cheaper in the off-season (since a lot of sights were closed) but I feel it was mostly worth what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Tandem Cider Mill in Leelanau!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLQU
Business
Plainwell Michigan
May 1, 2012

Birthday Celebration

Guess I cannot tell the truth about this hotel? Any negative comments are not being sent thru! Won't come to this hotel again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Boone's Restaurant out on Silver Road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Halgal
Business
Naperville, IL
Jun 26, 2012

Great Beach Front

Great helpful and friendly staff, beach front was clean with plenty of chairs, nice indoor pool, & a variety of good food with the complimentary breakfast. The room itself was comfortable and clean, but the decor was outdated. We were put in the Honeymoon Suite, even though this was not our honeymoon. There was really nothing romantic about the room! The resort was not within walking distance of town, but close by car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda1024
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 8, 2012

Nice place in a great area

Had a perfect little 4 day get away at this lovely hotel. Clean, friendly staff, & good location right on the water. Close to restaurants, downtown, outdoor activites, scenic drives, etc. The water is crystal clear. We kayaked right on our own beach & on Lake Michigan. Gorgeous, clean water. 1st timers to this area so we were quite pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park is a must! Take the Pierce Stocking scenic drive. The views of Lake Michigan from the overlook is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N8dw
Business
Traverse City, MI
Sep 24, 2012

Repeat Visitors, Definately Coming Back!

We really enjoyed our stay, which was the 2nd time we visited the resort. Close to the wineries and restaurants. The only suggestion I have is to increase the temperature of the hot tub a few degrees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rj Wine Taster
Business
Mt. Clemens Michigan
Oct 6, 2012

Beautiful resort for the Fall dollar.

Sugar Beach Resort was neatly located near Traverse City, staff were extremely competent. The only down point were the ants in the room in the morning. We had a first floor room which may have given our little guests a chance to join us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fireman LG
Business
Mid-Michigan
Oct 29, 2012

A Conference made easier with the Resort stay

Our entire stay was awesome, the entire staff we interacted with was very pleasant, friendly, warm, and refreshing to be greeted with a smile and manners. Entire family is planning our next visit, hopefully in warmer weather to enjoy the beach and bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michigan Mountain Man
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jan 2, 2013

Great stay for the money

The room was clean. It was inexpensive, and right on the beach. There are great places to eat right across the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top