$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Sugar Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 1773 US 31 South, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sugar Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bastille714
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Traverse City Weekend

The staff were incredibly professional. Location right on the beach was nice. There was a great view from the room. Some might be bothered by the infamously known restaurant across the street but I thought it was funny (didn't actually go). Room was large and uniquely decorated. Clean hotel and nice breakfast. I think it could have been just a little cheaper in the off-season (since a lot of sights were closed) but I feel it was mostly worth what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Tandem Cider Mill in Leelanau!

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whooly
Business
Charter Township of Clinton, MI, USA
Mar 11, 2012

winter break

Can't wait to come back in the summer!!!!! We had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Full Moon restuarant/pizza

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dkmv
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Oct 6, 2011

great stay

the rooms were huge! great location and the hottub in the room was money :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Withee
Business
Flushing, Michigan
Sep 4, 2011

Anniversary Get Away

We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite at no extra charge - not sure why, but it was fun. The accommodations were very nice. Location was great and easily accessible to downtown and other attractions. Great breakfast while viewing the Lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go early to find parking! :)

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asti
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Vacation

It was great. Everything was perfect. We really had a wonderful vacation and will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asti
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Vacation

It was great. Everything was perfect. We really had a wonderful vacation and will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ajwood
Business
Michigan, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great place!!!

My husband and I stayed here and had a great time. The rooms were nice and clean, staff was very friendly, and it was affordable. We would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MI
Aug 12, 2010

Soft beds

Didn't feel we got our money's worth. Room was small, little ambiance, beds were too soft, smelled musty. Beach was nice, location great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Horizon book store in downtown is always fun to go to for a good selection of reading material.

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Ledge MI
Jul 5, 2010

great getaway

I really liked this hotel, would like to come back and visit more often. The towels and sheets could be a softer to the touch, a little rough feeling. I think the speed limit should be alot lower because its hard to walk to other stores or restaurants. It isn't safe.I chose to walk because it was a 4 hr drive, last thing I wanted to do was drive again. Very beautiful setting and very clean beach, parking lot and hotel I loved it. Worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you want to just walk across the street to eat or shop, buy a hand held stop sign

Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent TC Visitor
Business
Okemos, MI
May 31, 2010

Great beach location

All in all a very nice stay and good value. I'd stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk out back and enjoy the reason for being there, East Bay and the beach !!!

Back to menu Return to top