$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Park Place Hotel Traverse City

3 stars
300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
54 reviews
awesome downtown location

this place is just great, from the welcoming receptionist to the spaciousness of the room, the... See full review

  • straight talk 2
  • Apr 27, 2014
Excellent location

Room was very comfortable. Location was right down town and within walking distance to lots of... See full review

  • Waffle1172
  • Apr 14, 2014
Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure the Park Place Hotel offers the best of it all. Rich in history and located in the heart of downtown Traverse City we are surrounded by the shopping- dining- arts- attractions and recreational opportunities that make this area such a desirable destination year-round.

Hotel Map

44.7629 -85.6182
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 11.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Place Hotel Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Park Place Hotel Traverse City Rooms

2 Queen Historic Tower
Two queen beds-historic tower-courtyard view cable Flat Screen TV-premium channels-free wifi
Deluxe King Historic Tower
King Bed - Historic Tower - Free WIFI Bay View - Microwave - Fridge
2 Queen Deluxe West Wing
Deluxe double queen guest room located in the West Wing of the hotel. Includes a balcony.
2 Queen West Wing
Two queen beds West Wing-Free WiFi .Fridge Courtyard. Cable Flat Screen TV
2 Queen Pet Friendly
2 Queen Pet Friendly located in the West Wing.
King Pet Friendly West Wing
Pet Friendly - West Wing -1 King - Free WiFi - Fridge - Microwave
King Historic Tower
King Bed - Historic Tower - Free WiFi - Microwave - Fridge - Coffeemaker
Accessible King Historic Tower
Accessible room-bathroom with bars-microwave King bed-historic tower-courtyard-fridge-coffee
King West Wing
King Bed - West Wing - Free WiFi - Microwave - Fridge - Coffeemaker
Accessible King West Wing
Accessible King bedded room w roll-in shower. coffee maker- fridge- microwave-free wifi

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eurojeff
Detroit, MI
Jun 18, 2013

Great stay

We attended the Glen Arbor Solstice Half Marathon and decided to stay at a nice place. We got much more than nice. Staff were very nice and professional and check in was a breeze since we used prepaid. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a corner room in the tower and loved the view. We visited the lounge on the top floor and had a couple drinks on Sat afternoon. Also had dinner in the hotel which ware great. We loved our stay and will come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Douglas Design
Business
Gaylord, MI
Dec 23, 2013

I would not change a thing

Everything was perfect. Great location, excellent service, and an awesome room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

7 Monks Brew Pub and the bacon wrapped dates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave49009
Business
Kazoo
Dec 21, 2013

Definitly 3-4 stars

Very nice place. Pool, hot tubs, sauna all very nice. No complaints about cleanliness or service. Very convenient for TC shopping and restaurants. We also traveled < 1/2 hour to a beautiful, peaceful "Quiet" X-C ski destination outside of town. Staff was busy (during mid-week) touching up the nice authentic lobby wood work. Check out time was very laid back. Winter is a great time to visit downtown TC and the PPH. Would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Ginger

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tripkid23
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Dec 16, 2013

Not LGBT friendly

The location of this hotel is great, but when my partner and I checked in, with a king bed reserved, the staff behind the counter looked back and forth between myself and my partner, and then made an assumption that we would prefer two queen beds. She told us she was making the switch, to which I protested and she begrudgingly kept the king bed reservation. I am not sure about hotel policy, but she also required me to write down the name of the "other adult" staying in the hotel, and she would not permit me to just write a first initial and last name. She asked me to rewrite the full name. I am curious as to whether or not a husband and wife would be asked for the same information. In addition to this, the water in the shower was luke warm at best, which was frustrating because it was incredibly cold outside and a hot shower would have been wonderful. This said, we will not be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kll70
Business
Rockford, MI
Oct 28, 2013

Great Stay!

Perfect location, within walking distance to several restaurants and shops. Check out the upstairs bar. Very fun and excellent martinis!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
invictus216
Business
grand rapids, mi
Oct 23, 2013

Believe the other Reviewers!!

I thought I would give this hotel a chance even though there were a few negative reviews. Bad idea! There were the same two ladies at the front desk my entire stay, and each time I walked up to the desk, I had to try to get their attention. I was not more important than whatever was on their computer screen as they were not on the phone or with another customer! The first day I checked in, I asked for my room to be a king size bed (celebrating my 1 year anniversary) vs the 2 queens which I was quoted were the same price. I was told they couldnt do that unless I wanted to pay an additional $50 per night, and since I went through this site instead of the hotel, they would charge me a cancellation fee to 'close' that reservation, and 'start' a new reservation through them. Wait, what? I told them no, I was here, and I wasnt paying either fee. So I was given a hotel key to who knows what room, and when I went up, the key didnt work! I went BACK to the front desk, and spoke with the other receptionist, and she laughed 'Oops, sorry about that!' so from her I requested a room with a king-size bed. She said it would be no problem, as long as I hadnt gone into the first room yet. ..What? Didnt I just say I couldnt get in? The rest of the weekend went the same way, and we left feeling we had spent way too much for too much frustration and not getting the relaxing weekend away we had planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Call the wineries before you head out! Many give away free samples, and have deals going on if you purchase their 'going out of season' stock, compared to others that charge upwards of $4 for only one or two tastings!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs. Wife
Business
Flint, Michigan
Sep 30, 2013

Nice location

The hotel was in a great location, but want worth the cost. The room was average size. I went to make coffee for my husband and I and one of the cups had been used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christine and Jeff
Business
Chicago,IL
Sep 9, 2013

In the heart of downtown traverse city

This hotel is a stones throw away from all the shops and dining on front and cass street. The staff is accommodating. The hotel is on the older side and the room we stayed in had a stagnant smell. The toilet was awkwardly wedged between the vanity and mildewed smelling shower. The water pressure in the shower was ridiculous and every time a neighbor would flush their toilet your shower would lose pressure. Our shower drain on top of that did not work efficiently. Room service from the attached restaurant had messed up our order by sending 2 of the 3 correct items. They offered to correct it but at that point it was already passed us wanting it to be fixed. The rooms are cleaned every other day so if you need fresh towels or would like your room cleaned, plates cleared you must contact them yourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Towne plaza. Amazing brunch! Try anything pork belly. Don't forget French toast or spicy bloody Mary's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigMac1207
Business
Orland Park, Illinois
Aug 19, 2013

Great location

Staff was very nice and friendly. The location is the best. You can walk to most places and its just two blocks from the water. The beacon bar needs to be updated. The workout center needs to be updated as well. Overall I would stay there again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diesel Lady
Business
Mt. Pleasant, MI
Aug 12, 2013

Expensive for what you get

Was clean, bathroom very small cramped bedding nice was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Park Place Hotel Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deb Lynn
Business
Birmingham MI
Jun 23, 2013

Good Location

Have stayed at the Park Place many times. Rooms are small but comfortable and you can walk anywhere in downtown Traverse City. Wish it was on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top