$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

ParkShore Resort

3 stars
View map of 1401 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
181 reviews
Awesome Trip

We had a wonderful time. The staff of the hotel was all excellent!! The view from our room of the... See full review

  • John L.
  • Jul 10, 2015
Traverse City Comedy Festival

Loved it, even though it was the coldest weather possible! See full review

  • Patricia C.
  • Jun 18, 2015

Situated on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the ParkShore Resort provides a private beach and grand views. Guests enjoy hotel amenities such as an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, and a cocktail lounge. Guest rooms provide either a view of the bay or a view of the Grand Traverse City Park across the street. Some rooms also offer balconies and/or whirlpool baths. High-speed Internet access is complimentary.

Location

Traverse City, dubbed the Cherry Capital of the World, produces more than 75 million pounds of cherries a year. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses.  Guests also enjoy nearby wineries and miles of beaches.

Dining

The ParkShore Lounge provides a full dinner menu and a happy hour daily. Room service is available.

Rooms

The four-story ParkShore Resort has 80 guest rooms and suites, all with premium bedding and mini-refrigerators. Televisions include cable and high-speed Internet access is complimentary. Other standard amenities include an in-room safe, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board and coffee-maker. Select rooms include balconies and/or Jacuzzi baths. Guests may choose either a view of the bay or of the adjacent Grand Traverse City Park.

Highlights
  • Located on a private beach
  • Select guest rooms include balconies overlooking the bay
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Cocktail lounge with live weekend entertainment
Nearby attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Across the street)
  • Pirate's Cove Adventure Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (28 mi/45 km)
Business
  • Internet kiosk in lobby
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free limited copy services available
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (267 mi/429 km)
Recreation

Guests enjoy a heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness room. Water sports enthusiasts take advantage of on-site boat rentals, including sail boats, pontoon boats, kayaks, jet ski boats and more. A short walk from the hotel is the Pirate's Cove Adventure Park, which offers family-fun activities including mini-golf, go-carts, bumper boats and water slides.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed ParkShore Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$74
3.2 / 5 83 reviews
★★
$79
3.6 / 5 68 reviews
★★★
$101
3.3 / 5 49 reviews
★★
$80
3.0 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$113
4.1 / 5 74 reviews
★★★
$138
3.4 / 5 60 reviews
★★
$55
2.9 / 5 80 reviews
★★
$69
3.7 / 5 76 reviews

ParkShore Resort Rooms

Parkview Room
One King Bed. Our Parkview rooms ensure comfort and style with a view of the Grand Traverse State Park
Courtside Room
Two Queen Beds. Courtside room offers a gorgeous view of Grand Traverse Bay from a private balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Parkshore Lounge
The ParkShore lounge offers upscale casual dining - serving a lite menu, happy hour and live entertainment.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Offering conference facilities for business meetings and seminars.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for ParkShore Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yogabeth
Family
East Lansing, MI
Aug 25, 2012

Traverse City Beach Get away

AWFUL! The hotel was dirty, staff was surly, almost everything in the room was broken, the beach was dirty, I have nothing good to say about this place. A huge waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LisaOK
Family
Oklahoma
Apr 28, 2013

Never again...

Hotel is dirty and front desk staff is rude and disinterested. Witnessed an argument between another guest and the hotel manager. Did not even service the room so we ended up leaving early and going to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Perry, MI
Jul 10, 2011

Family Vacation

The beach was awesome and very clean. When we arrived, our room was ready. However, the bedding on one of the beds had not been changed. There was hair on the sheets. The chairs in our room were all stained. Every day we were there I was always having to go to the front desk for bar soap, glasses, etc as they were not left when our room was cleaned. Someone was always leaving their dog at the hotel so it would run loose in the hotel and on the beach...which was not cool for my daughter who is afraid of dogs with good reason. At almost $200 per night, I expected much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
creativeusername
Couples
Detroit, MI
Aug 4, 2011

What a let down

We arrived after the specified check in time, and our room wasn't ready. We specifically booked ocean view and non smoking, they put us in a parking lot view. Later they changed to lake view but it was smoking. They said the only way they guarantee rooms if we book through them directly. Our room didn't get cleaned both days we were there. The pool was filthy, they were obviously under staffed. The only reason why it is getting a star is because we liked the view from the balcony and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not happy will never go
Couples
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Terrible hotel

Rooms all leaked over night! Had giant fans going at 7am loud as could be!!! We left a night early just to stay else where! Bad hotel will never go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eventhorizon
Couples
Bay City, Michigan
Jan 11, 2013

Details

This hotel requires attention to detail. On getting off the elevator we saw an upholstered bench that was badly stained. We were concerned to have to share the pool with children that were not guests at the hotel (given the fact that their hats, coats, and boots were stacked up in the corner). One night we went to shower before going out and waited for 15 minutes for hot water after having to call the front desk twice. The hotel also still utilizes old, small, tube style televisions with no connectivity possibilities. Attention to detail and a few rather easily accomplished upgrades and this would be a wonderful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The pizza from the bar/restraunt is yummy!!!!

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
john 1230984509853
Couples
michigan
Feb 18, 2013

How about hot water?

Everything was going very well until Sunday morning. Lathered up in the shower, the hot water suddenly disappeared. It was still available in the hot tub so I rinsed off there. Once I was done there, it came back on in the main shower. My wife didn't bother with a shower that morning - didn't want to go through what I did. i told the front desk and the guy put it on me until another guest told him the same thing. Interestingly, he offered that guest a 25% discount - not me. Soooo - keep that in mind. Waffles on the buffet good for making automobile tires - not much else. The rest of the food seemed ok. It took 3 water glasses before getting one that didn't have food caked to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Up old mission to the Holly Jolly restaurant - used to be the Bowery - very very good food!

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jerene ticked off
Couples
grand rapids, mi
Oct 4, 2013

tc in the fall

hotel location was the only thing positive. when we checked in, found out the room didn't have a water view and requested front desk to change the room (was willing to pay any up charge)-font desk said their contract with on line suppler would not allow for such a situation. seems stupid to me to turn down revenue when the hotel wasn't fully booked and rooms on the requested side were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

main traffic to downtown shopping area--minutes away

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Michigan
Aug 12, 2010

Sandy

Dingy resort with no activities as compared to other waterfront resorts. Check in was a nightmare with rooms not ready until after check in posted time. Clerk was rude and not personable. Pool was dirty with sand all over steps and bottom. E er ise room too cramped to use equipment. Overall more of a motel versus a full service hotel-resort. Disappointing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
Oct 31, 2010

Park Shore Resort

Hotel was average. The free continental breakfast was fair at best....too small of a room, cold coffee, not much of a selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Nice view of the bay from our window.

Back to menu Return to top