$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

ParkShore Resort

3 stars
1401 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
174 reviews
Great Stay

Friendly staff, perfect waterfront location, a little outside the downtown area but well worth it.... See full review

  • Asoave81
  • Aug 25, 2014
Wonderful place to get away

The hotel and beach were wonderful. The staff and proprietors were fabulous! It was a laid back fun... See full review

  • Skmie
  • Aug 20, 2014
Views are grand at this bayfront Traverse City hotel

Situated on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the ParkShore Resort provides a private beach and grand views. Guests enjoy hotel amenities such as an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, and a cocktail lounge. Guest rooms provide either a view of the bay or a view of the Grand Traverse City Park across the street. Some rooms also offer balconies and/or whirlpool baths. High-speed Internet access is complimentary.

Highlights
  • Located on a private beach
  • Select guest rooms include balconies overlooking the bay
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Cocktail lounge with live weekend entertainment
Location

Traverse City, dubbed the Cherry Capital of the World, produces more than 75 million pounds of cherries a year. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses.  Guests also enjoy nearby wineries and miles of beaches.

Rooms

The four-story ParkShore Resort has 80 guest rooms and suites, all with premium bedding and mini-refrigerators. Televisions include cable and high-speed Internet access is complimentary. Other standard amenities include an in-room safe, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board and coffee-maker. Select rooms include balconies and/or Jacuzzi baths. Guests may choose either a view of the bay or of the adjacent Grand Traverse City Park.

Dining

The ParkShore Lounge provides a full dinner menu and a happy hour daily. Room service is available.

Recreation

Guests enjoy a heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness room. Water sports enthusiasts take advantage of on-site boat rentals, including sail boats, pontoon boats, kayaks, jet ski boats and more. A short walk from the hotel is the Pirate's Cove Adventure Park, which offers family-fun activities including mini-golf, go-carts, bumper boats and water slides.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (267 mi/429 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Across the street)
  • Pirate's Cove Adventure Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (28 mi/45 km)
Business
  • Internet kiosk in lobby
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free limited copy services available

Hotel Map

44.7472 -85.5494
Area served
Traverse City, Michigan
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport-TVC
Area description
Traverse City, Michigan’s finest beachfront resort located on Grand Traverse Bay. A Northern Michigan vacation destination place!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed ParkShore Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

ParkShore Resort Rooms

Parkview Room
One King Bed. Our Parkview rooms ensure comfort and style with a view of the Grand Traverse State Park
Courtside Room
Two Queen Beds. Courtside room offers a gorgeous view of Grand Traverse Bay from a private balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Offering conference facilities for business meetings and seminars.

Dining

Parkshore Lounge
The ParkShore lounge offers upscale casual dining - serving a lite menu, happy hour and live entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for ParkShore Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Perry, MI
Jul 10, 2011

Family Vacation

The beach was awesome and very clean. When we arrived, our room was ready. However, the bedding on one of the beds had not been changed. There was hair on the sheets. The chairs in our room were all stained. Every day we were there I was always having to go to the front desk for bar soap, glasses, etc as they were not left when our room was cleaned. Someone was always leaving their dog at the hotel so it would run loose in the hotel and on the beach...which was not cool for my daughter who is afraid of dogs with good reason. At almost $200 per night, I expected much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not happy will never go
Michigan
Jun 19, 2014

Terrible hotel

Rooms all leaked over night! Had giant fans going at 7am loud as could be!!! We left a night early just to stay else where! Bad hotel will never go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yogabeth
East Lansing, MI
Aug 25, 2012

Traverse City Beach Get away

AWFUL! The hotel was dirty, staff was surly, almost everything in the room was broken, the beach was dirty, I have nothing good to say about this place. A huge waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
creativeusername
Detroit, MI
Aug 4, 2011

What a let down

We arrived after the specified check in time, and our room wasn't ready. We specifically booked ocean view and non smoking, they put us in a parking lot view. Later they changed to lake view but it was smoking. They said the only way they guarantee rooms if we book through them directly. Our room didn't get cleaned both days we were there. The pool was filthy, they were obviously under staffed. The only reason why it is getting a star is because we liked the view from the balcony and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LisaOK
Oklahoma
Apr 28, 2013

Never again...

Hotel is dirty and front desk staff is rude and disinterested. Witnessed an argument between another guest and the hotel manager. Did not even service the room so we ended up leaving early and going to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eventhorizon
Bay City, Michigan
Jan 11, 2013

Details

This hotel requires attention to detail. On getting off the elevator we saw an upholstered bench that was badly stained. We were concerned to have to share the pool with children that were not guests at the hotel (given the fact that their hats, coats, and boots were stacked up in the corner). One night we went to shower before going out and waited for 15 minutes for hot water after having to call the front desk twice. The hotel also still utilizes old, small, tube style televisions with no connectivity possibilities. Attention to detail and a few rather easily accomplished upgrades and this would be a wonderful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The pizza from the bar/restraunt is yummy!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Flint, mi
Apr 21, 2011

Not very impressed

when we first got there the worker was very nice and friendly! Later that night we went and got in the hot tub....it was nasty...hair floating all over in it and you could see the dirt floating in the foam. So we went up and took showers right away! The tub did not drain. When we got up the next morning the tub was still full of water! We also ate at the lounge that was there and was not impressed at all. As a matter of fact my chicken was spoiled on my nachos I got! Bed was comfortable that was about the only good thing. O and breakfast is not free!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe Smoe
Detroit Mi
Aug 4, 2010

Needs Updating!!

Our family stayed for 4 days to explore the area and go to the beach. Swimming is a must with children. We didn't like the complimentary breakfast because it in such a small space and cover crowded with people. When we stayed in the last week of July there was no fruit offered. I would never use the fitness room at this hotel. I could see small flecks of white stuff all over the dated equipment and it was such a small aspace you'd feel like you were in an office cubicle. We used the beach once and it was nice enough but not worth spending too much time at the hotel. Much in need of updates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great breakfast at the Omelette Shoppe. Locations listed in room travel guide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
smiling
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Oct 8, 2011

OK if you dont need internet

The blanket on the bed was dirty with hair on it. In addition, the internet access from my room did not work. The female at the desk answered 3 phone calls while I waited at the desk. The man at the desk walked past and did not help at first and then waited on me. He refused to look to change rooms so that all three of our party could be on the same floor. He was very rude to his coworker. The bathroom was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Oct 31, 2010

Park Shore Resort

Hotel was average. The free continental breakfast was fair at best....too small of a room, cold coffee, not much of a selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Nice view of the bay from our window.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search