$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

ParkShore Resort

3 stars
1401 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
174 reviews
Great Stay

Friendly staff, perfect waterfront location, a little outside the downtown area but well worth it.... See full review

  • Asoave81
  • Aug 25, 2014
Wonderful place to get away

The hotel and beach were wonderful. The staff and proprietors were fabulous! It was a laid back fun... See full review

  • Skmie
  • Aug 20, 2014
Views are grand at this bayfront Traverse City hotel

Situated on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the ParkShore Resort provides a private beach and grand views. Guests enjoy hotel amenities such as an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, and a cocktail lounge. Guest rooms provide either a view of the bay or a view of the Grand Traverse City Park across the street. Some rooms also offer balconies and/or whirlpool baths. High-speed Internet access is complimentary.

Highlights
  • Located on a private beach
  • Select guest rooms include balconies overlooking the bay
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Cocktail lounge with live weekend entertainment
Location

Traverse City, dubbed the Cherry Capital of the World, produces more than 75 million pounds of cherries a year. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses.  Guests also enjoy nearby wineries and miles of beaches.

Rooms

The four-story ParkShore Resort has 80 guest rooms and suites, all with premium bedding and mini-refrigerators. Televisions include cable and high-speed Internet access is complimentary. Other standard amenities include an in-room safe, hair-dryer, iron/ironing board and coffee-maker. Select rooms include balconies and/or Jacuzzi baths. Guests may choose either a view of the bay or of the adjacent Grand Traverse City Park.

Dining

The ParkShore Lounge provides a full dinner menu and a happy hour daily. Room service is available.

Recreation

Guests enjoy a heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness room. Water sports enthusiasts take advantage of on-site boat rentals, including sail boats, pontoon boats, kayaks, jet ski boats and more. A short walk from the hotel is the Pirate's Cove Adventure Park, which offers family-fun activities including mini-golf, go-carts, bumper boats and water slides.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (267 mi/429 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Across the street)
  • Pirate's Cove Adventure Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (28 mi/45 km)
Business
  • Internet kiosk in lobby
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free limited copy services available

Hotel Map

44.7472 -85.5494
Area served
Traverse City, Michigan
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport-TVC
Area description
Traverse City, Michigan’s finest beachfront resort located on Grand Traverse Bay. A Northern Michigan vacation destination place!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed ParkShore Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

ParkShore Resort Rooms

Parkview Room
One King Bed. Our Parkview rooms ensure comfort and style with a view of the Grand Traverse State Park
Courtside Room
Two Queen Beds. Courtside room offers a gorgeous view of Grand Traverse Bay from a private balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Offering conference facilities for business meetings and seminars.

Dining

Parkshore Lounge
The ParkShore lounge offers upscale casual dining - serving a lite menu, happy hour and live entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for ParkShore Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniela single super mom
Shelby, mi
Jun 22, 2013

relaxing short vacation

quiet,relaxing and we enjoy it at the max .I have my daughter and her friend that have a fun time together, short distances from downtown and other fun stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

children friendly

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank AK
Business
Novi, MI
Jun 14, 2013

Business meeting

Very pleasant; very comfortable Good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaredJHuffman
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 10, 2013

Great hotel for the Price!

Traverse city is awesome, and this great hotel is right on the beach. My wife and I spent 4 nights here for our honeymoon and were impressed with the attentive staff and clean rooms. Very impressive breakfast buffet! We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anna Beth
Illinois
Jun 8, 2013

Thought it would be better...

We got a pretty good deal on the room knowing that the view would be facing the parking lot not the water. The noise from the road, however, was unbearable at night. The worst part was actually that my husband and I both had really bad allergies in the room! My husband doesn't even have seasonal allergies but he was incredibly uncomfortable and I was worse with extremely itchy eyes and throat. As soon as we left the hotel it cleared up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mackinaw Brewery is AWESOME.

Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gram and Gramps on the go
Flushing, MI
Jun 7, 2013

Check-in experience not pleasant

We had to travel quickly due to a death in family, and made arrangements through a booking agency. We chose this hotel because it was on the water and we felt that a room with a view of the bay would be very comforting. When we asked it our room could be switched to bay view we were rudely told no, because we had booked through an agency. The clerk suggested we cancel our contract and check in through the hotel at regular room rate, and the room they put us in had a view of the roof and air conditioning condensers. However, the room was clean and the breakfast in the restaurant was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pake Steve
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 1, 2013

Customer Service Lacking

The hotel was very clean and comfortable, very nicely decorated (it appeared it may have just been updated recently) and well kept. Stacy was our housekeeper and she did a fantastic job. All of the housekeepers were very friendly, it was the desk staff that needed to take a course or two in customer service. On the day we arrived, the young girl at the desk was wearing a white zip up Parkshore Resort jacket that looked like she had pulled it out from under her bed, it was that wrinkled. We knew we had a beachfront room, and since there were no more than six other cars in the lot, we asked if we could have a first floor room. Her response in a nutshell, although very diplomatic, was," We don't upgrade "discounted" customers. That room would be $200 a night". OK, but no one else was there to pay that much. Besides the short, dark haired lady at the desk the second night we were there, no one acknowledged our comings or goings the whole time we were there. Once, when I was getting morning coffee, the manager was just standing in the lobby looking absent minded. I had to pass him to get back to my room, Never said a word to me. I had to say Good Morning and then responded with a weak Good morning, too. Because the day we left was one of the best weather wise, I called down to the desk to see if we could get a late checkout. As he looked to see if our room was occupied that evening, he said the latest he could do was noon. My wife and I talked and since they were offering a $59.99 May walk-in special, she suggested we just pay that and stay. I went down to inquire, but was told that special did not apply to our room, but if we wanted to stay there we could pay a higher price (so, obviously our room WAS still available and we COULD have checked out later). I understand policy, however we were one of only a handful of guests and we were ALREADY there, all they had to do was accommodate us. I guess we felt like second class guests because we had paid a discounted rate. However, the room was great, the location perfect and most of the staff very friendly. I would stay again, but not if they knew I was one of "those" discount guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TC Resident Wanta Bes
Novi, Michigan
May 28, 2013

TC - The Greatest Place on Earth

The Park Shore offers a great room for the price right on the Bay. The staff couldn't have been any nicer. The Park Shore offers great access to the beach for walking, sun bathing or swimming and it is central to all of the tourist points in and around Traverse City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiffer1
Traverse City, MI
May 21, 2013

Family night away!

Great stay, wonderful accomadations, with a beautiful view, had a great stay, would reccommend this resort to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiffer1
Traverse City, MI
May 21, 2013

Family night away!

Everything was great! We had a beautiful view of the bay, loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of ParkShore Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC wine
White lake, Michigan
May 8, 2013

Dirty pool

The front desk workers weren't to helpfully and the pool and hit tub were nasty. It looked like they haven't been cleaned in years

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search