$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Motel 6 Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 1582 US 31 North, US-31, 50 miles west of I-75, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Traverse City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eic
Friends
Cedar Springs,MI
Jun 20, 2009

basic hotel room

basic hotel room with bed, tv, tablw, and chair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 17, 2009

As expected

Exactly what you expect for the price. Staff didnt speak english well but was very friendly nonetheless. Great location, across from the water and a close drive to downtown. Would most definitely stay again or suggest to any business traveler looking to save a dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wendys and other restaurants within a short walk, No need to move the car to grab dinner.

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blk Friday shopper
Friends
Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Jun 13, 2011

Good place to get some sleep

Regular Black Friday shopper. This is an excellent place to stay if you just want to get some sleep to get ready for the next shopping trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cherry City Mall

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 16, 2010

Great For The Price

We were able to bring our two big dogs in. Of course they don't bark, otherwise we wouldn't have brought them. For the price, it was perfect. The staff was perfectly amiable. We were definitely satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dasbadger
Business
wisconsin
Sep 21, 2009

Simple rest stop

Went on the Harvest Stompede wine fest, was a good location for this. However, at night lots of doors slamming and even a golden lab barking from the room next door. I did like the location, and thats the only thing that would let me come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleeping guy.
Couples
Chattanooga
Jul 10, 2010

Its a Cheap bed.

About what you would expect from one of the cheapest hotels in the area. It is not in walking distance of much interesting other than the mini golf next door, but everything is a very quick drive. rooms are kept well and clean but are old style. one plus is that the air conditioning is central instead of noisy window units. it is just fine if you are not going to be doing anything there but sleeping and showering. My one complaint is that the blankets on the bed are very small for a queen size. I don't use the comforters, yuck, so next time I stay there i would bring my own blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to go and check out the main strip and parking is crazy. bring some quarters and try to park on the side of the road.

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lansing, MI
Jul 12, 2010

The good the bad and the really ugly

Dated room, felt like I was going back into the 1970's. Pool area was very warm, but a little dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CandieStarr
Friends
Alpena, MI
Jun 27, 2014

Low price and reasonable choice for a quick stay

All hotel rooms were booked around town, with the exception of some very pricey options. We decided to go cheap because we would not be staying in hotel except to sleep for one night. Decent bedding and décor. Quiet. Helpful staff. Close to downtown. We had to borrow a blow dryer and iron from the front desk as they are not available in the room. Overall, I would definitely recommend if you are just looking for a night or two at a very reasonable rate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fake Doctor
Single
Traverse City, MI
Jul 5, 2014

A fine place to stay, great price...

In TC during July 4th week I never thought Id find a room for $100 / night - Motel6 had room, was clean, and quiet. This is perfect for someone that wants to enjoy TC and doesn't want/need a bunch of extras in their hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trulalu
Family
Detroit, MI
Jul 21, 2014

No Housekeeping

We were only there for 2 nights, but housekeeping never came even after I spoke to them briefly as we left the room for the day. When I told the evening (manager?), at first she was not willing to help; her attitude bordered on being rude. She told me housekeeping was gone for the day, etc. After speaking to her for a few minutes, she offered to bring towels and ultimately ended up helping by making one of the beds. The room was cleaner & brighter than I expected for a Motel 6, but I'm not sure we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jolly Pumpkin on the Old Mission Peninsula was VERY nice. They are a restaurant, winery, brewery & distillery. Not a big fan of wine or beer, I was happy to find a tasting room that serves liquor too!

Back to menu Return to top