$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Motel 6 Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 1582 US 31 North, US-31, 50 miles west of I-75, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Did the right thing

I gave them 5* because we had a what I believe to be an isolated issue and they made it right. It’s... See full review

  • MGM461
  • Mar 24, 2015
Worked great for our needs

It was in a perfect location for us. Also I really appreciate that is has been updated and and in... See full review

  • cje1026
  • Jul 25, 2014
At Motel 6 Traverse City enjoy modern room, pet friendly environment. Relax and enjoy Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. This location has a heated indoor swimming pool and hot tub open year round. Please contact the property for special discount rate.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Motel 6 Traverse City Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Dining

Dairy Queen
Adjacent to property.
Golden Chopsticks
Adjacent to property.
Hooters
Adjacent to property.
Little Ceasars Pizza
Adjacent to property.
Red Mesa Grill
Adjacent to property.
Bob Evans
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Clock
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Pizza Hut
Nearby 1/4 mile.
The Shack
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Wendys
Nearby 1/4 mile.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Traverse City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedCustomer
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Waste of money- JUST SAY NO!

I was drawn to this hotel because of the cheap price, but I might as well have slept in my car. Problems: -Dirty, dirty, DIRTY rooms >Dirt and dust on floor and dresser >Weird beetle things on ceiling -Cheap, extremely uncomfortable furnishings >Really hard mattress >Flat pillows -Dirty pool and spa area >greenish water -Poor service >You're greeted by an empty desk with a sign instructing you to call a number for service > The desk area is completely closed off at 11pm and doesn't open until 7 or so in the morning, so you have no way of checking out or getting assistance until then Good things: -It was in Grand Traverse, close to shopping -It was cheap ***And the real kicker: there were other, BETTER places to stay in the same area for the same price or CHEAPER I hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For Black Friday shopping, we waited until 1am to head out, so we didn't have to deal with all of the rude, pushy people and lines at the popular stores. Waiting just an extra hour made for an excellent shopping experience.

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lyndsay
Business
Traverse City, MI, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Unhappy with 1-800 customer service

We had a horrible storm the night before and lost power. I booked this reservation around 10:30am and called the hotel to find out when I could check in. Nobody answered so I called the 1-800 and they said the hotel was up and running and the reason why they didn't answer was because they were busy. After driving 20 min to check in...the hotel didn't have power. It would of have been nice for the 1-800 to know there hotel wasn't even open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nightmared newlywed
Business
Clearwater, FL
Jul 2, 2012

To be desired

Staff was friendly, but the management is horrible! I reserved a couple of rooms for some friends and family looking for a good deal for my wedding weekend. They would not let my sick mother into her room until I arrived with my credit card. I offered to pay over the phone and come in right away to show my I.D. and everything! She and my 15 year -old brother had to sit outside for an hour before I could speed over there. Then the bathrooms were disgusting! We had to ask for our own cleaners. This motel is NOT worth the savings. I suggest the Super 8 2 minutes down the road if you need to save a buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandy rae
Business
Alma, MI
Feb 11, 2013

You get what you pay for

This hotel is bare bones. It's a bed and a shower, do not expect more than that. The decor is very institutional and not very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lauren Meridith
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 12, 2013

Gross

This hotel was disgusting. The room had not been cleaned. The under sheet to the bed was paper thin, and didn't even tuck under the mattress. The shower was rusty, and there was no shampoo. Instead it was offered in the vending machine for $2. The door to the room would not shut all the way, and could not be locked. I tried contact staff, but there was no one ever at the front desk or answering the phones. I am not snobby, and don't mind an economy hotel, but this was the grossest place I have ever stayed in, and I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
m a c d m b
Business
White Cloud, MI
Aug 21, 2013

Bedbug

I'm didn't expect much staying at a Hotel 6, but I definitely didn't expect to find a bedbug in the bed next to me!!! It was 2:30am when my boyfriend woke up from not feeling well and I noticed it out of the corner of my eye. We googled it, and to my horror, it was a bedbug! I immediately went to the office to try to notify the office staff and it was closed. The phone used for contacting staff after hours rang and rang and we were unable to contact anyone until morning. Not that I could sleep after that, but if I didn't find the bedbug it wouldn't have been easy anyway because the beds were incredibly hard. I did notice though, while pulling up every sheet on both beds looking for more bedbugs, that the mattresses were fairly new. The hotel had actually been recently renovated with new flooring, beds and paint not too long ago, but it was poorly done and looks cobbled together, in my opinion. Don't expect any amenities here either. Although I know that bedbugs can end up anywhere, I will never stay at this hotel again. I will say though, the hotel did refund our room stay and once they were informed of the bedbug (we saved it in a cup for them), they called the room and asked that I let them know when we were leaving so they could call someone in to clear the room. They told my boyfriend they were going to contact the insurance company to ensure they would get the problem taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
billywatson420
Business
traverese city,mi
May 30, 2014

getaway

The room was clean, but that was about it the pool and hot tub was dirty and needed some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pirates cove just down the block along with an dairy queen.

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobby K
Business
Dearborn, MI
Jul 7, 2009

Absolute Dump!

Stayed at this hotel for Cherry festival weekend. Realized we were not staying at a top shelf place due to last minute booking. Filthy carpets throughout the place. Packs of dogs roaming the halls without owners anywhere near. Pet friendly I guess, but when I saw chewed up garbage all over the hallway, well that was enough. Will never even consider a Motel 6 again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumberland, MD
Jul 10, 2010

Disappointed

We went to attend the Nat'l Cherry Festival and to visit family. The motel was supposed to be smoke free, but the hallway smelled so badly of smoke we told the desk clerk. He was the only bright spot. He was very helpful when we needed directions. The room was "old". The carpet was wrinkled from use and the bedspreads ave us nightmares. The hallway was filthy and the carpet was also wrinkled from wear. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, MI
Sep 28, 2009

not again

I was looking to save some money so I thought we save some money by staying at the Motel 6. I wish I would have spend the money and stay some place decent. The staff was unfriendly and seemed bothered if you had questions. Not only that but they barely spoke english. When you go to TC you want to feel like your getting away to some place nice and you don't get that feeling here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top