$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Motel 6 Traverse City

1 star
View map of 1582 US 31 North, US-31, 50 miles west of I-75, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Traverse City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eaton Rapids, MI
Jul 26, 2010

Good value in Traverse city

Overall a very good hotel for the price. I would stay there again. Very good location and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Jul 12, 2010

The good the bad and the really ugly

Dated room, felt like I was going back into the 1970's. Pool area was very warm, but a little dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. C.
Business
Burton, Mi
Jul 11, 2010

Good stay

We were here for the National Cherry Festival. Motel is away from the city and the noise, but close enough to make all the activities we wished. Had trouble with a light in the bathroom, but was taken care of right away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door to Pirates' Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumberland, MD
Jul 10, 2010

Disappointed

We went to attend the Nat'l Cherry Festival and to visit family. The motel was supposed to be smoke free, but the hallway smelled so badly of smoke we told the desk clerk. He was the only bright spot. He was very helpful when we needed directions. The room was "old". The carpet was wrinkled from use and the bedspreads ave us nightmares. The hallway was filthy and the carpet was also wrinkled from wear. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleeping guy.
Business
Chattanooga
Jul 10, 2010

Its a Cheap bed.

About what you would expect from one of the cheapest hotels in the area. It is not in walking distance of much interesting other than the mini golf next door, but everything is a very quick drive. rooms are kept well and clean but are old style. one plus is that the air conditioning is central instead of noisy window units. it is just fine if you are not going to be doing anything there but sleeping and showering. My one complaint is that the blankets on the bed are very small for a queen size. I don't use the comforters, yuck, so next time I stay there i would bring my own blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to go and check out the main strip and parking is crazy. bring some quarters and try to park on the side of the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 16, 2010

Great For The Price

We were able to bring our two big dogs in. Of course they don't bark, otherwise we wouldn't have brought them. For the price, it was perfect. The staff was perfectly amiable. We were definitely satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
May 31, 2010

What expected for the price

Everything as expected. For the price, good motel, good location and service. The only thing that was a slight issue, was that [...] didn't charge the price, the motel did (at the check-in), hence, the taxes were not reflected in the reservation price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ph.D. and a father of two young boys
Business
Charleston, WV
Apr 26, 2010

Motel 6

It was OK, not great but for the money-it was not too bad...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, Mi
Mar 2, 2010

Good for the price

Can't beat it for the price. Room was clean but some trim was coming off of wall and water spots on ceiling. Only complaint was no coffee maker in room itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snow Aficionado
Business
Midwest, USA
Jan 6, 2010

Best Time to Travel--Nice and Quiet

My experience here was fine, there was no noise that is usually a problem at budget locations. Then again, it was probably a good time to travel: New Year's night, during a snowstorm. My only gripe was that the parking lot wasn't plowed, but then again, most of the businesses in the area hadn't plowed, either. I didn't get stuck, in any case. The motel is on the northern edge of town. They also could use larger bath towels, I needed to ask for two more. Surprisingly the clerk did speak English which is a novelty nowadays. Overall, certainly worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near several restaurants a short walk away. Close proximity to downtown if you drive or bike there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top