$34 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 4, 2015 Check-out: Feb 6, 2015

Motel 6 Traverse City

1 star
1582 US 31 North, US-31, 50 miles west of I-75, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
79 reviews
Worked great for our needs

It was in a perfect location for us. Also I really appreciate that is has been updated and and in... See full review

  • cje1026
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great stay

We had a reservation for 1 night and added a second because everything was perfect. Very... See full review

  • Sharo
  • Jul 8, 2014
At Motel 6 Traverse City enjoy modern room, pet friendly environment. Relax and enjoy Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. This location has a heated indoor swimming pool & hot tub open year round. Please contact the property for special discount rate.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Motel 6 Traverse City Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Dining

Dairy Queen
Adjacent to property.
Golden Chopsticks
Adjacent to property.
Hooters
Adjacent to property.
Little Ceasars Pizza
Adjacent to property.
Red Mesa Grill
Adjacent to property.
Bob Evans
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Clock
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Pizza Hut
Nearby 1/4 mile.
The Shack
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Wendys
Nearby 1/4 mile.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Traverse City

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Jul 12, 2010

The good the bad and the really ugly

Dated room, felt like I was going back into the 1970's. Pool area was very warm, but a little dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. C.
Business
Burton, Mi
Jul 11, 2010

Good stay

We were here for the National Cherry Festival. Motel is away from the city and the noise, but close enough to make all the activities we wished. Had trouble with a light in the bathroom, but was taken care of right away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door to Pirates' Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumberland, MD
Jul 10, 2010

Disappointed

We went to attend the Nat'l Cherry Festival and to visit family. The motel was supposed to be smoke free, but the hallway smelled so badly of smoke we told the desk clerk. He was the only bright spot. He was very helpful when we needed directions. The room was "old". The carpet was wrinkled from use and the bedspreads ave us nightmares. The hallway was filthy and the carpet was also wrinkled from wear. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleeping guy.
Business
Chattanooga
Jul 10, 2010

Its a Cheap bed.

About what you would expect from one of the cheapest hotels in the area. It is not in walking distance of much interesting other than the mini golf next door, but everything is a very quick drive. rooms are kept well and clean but are old style. one plus is that the air conditioning is central instead of noisy window units. it is just fine if you are not going to be doing anything there but sleeping and showering. My one complaint is that the blankets on the bed are very small for a queen size. I don't use the comforters, yuck, so next time I stay there i would bring my own blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to go and check out the main strip and parking is crazy. bring some quarters and try to park on the side of the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 16, 2010

Great For The Price

We were able to bring our two big dogs in. Of course they don't bark, otherwise we wouldn't have brought them. For the price, it was perfect. The staff was perfectly amiable. We were definitely satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
May 31, 2010

What expected for the price

Everything as expected. For the price, good motel, good location and service. The only thing that was a slight issue, was that [...] didn't charge the price, the motel did (at the check-in), hence, the taxes were not reflected in the reservation price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ph.D. and a father of two young boys
Business
Charleston, WV
Apr 26, 2010

Motel 6

It was OK, not great but for the money-it was not too bad...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, Mi
Mar 2, 2010

Good for the price

Can't beat it for the price. Room was clean but some trim was coming off of wall and water spots on ceiling. Only complaint was no coffee maker in room itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snow Aficionado
Business
Midwest, USA
Jan 6, 2010

Best Time to Travel--Nice and Quiet

My experience here was fine, there was no noise that is usually a problem at budget locations. Then again, it was probably a good time to travel: New Year's night, during a snowstorm. My only gripe was that the parking lot wasn't plowed, but then again, most of the businesses in the area hadn't plowed, either. I didn't get stuck, in any case. The motel is on the northern edge of town. They also could use larger bath towels, I needed to ask for two more. Surprisingly the clerk did speak English which is a novelty nowadays. Overall, certainly worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near several restaurants a short walk away. Close proximity to downtown if you drive or bike there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, MI
Sep 28, 2009

not again

I was looking to save some money so I thought we save some money by staying at the Motel 6. I wish I would have spend the money and stay some place decent. The staff was unfriendly and seemed bothered if you had questions. Not only that but they barely spoke english. When you go to TC you want to feel like your getting away to some place nice and you don't get that feeling here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top