$34 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Motel 6 Traverse City

1 star
View map of 1582 US 31 North, US-31, 50 miles west of I-75, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
79 reviews
Worked great for our needs

It was in a perfect location for us. Also I really appreciate that is has been updated and and in... See full review

  • cje1026
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great stay

We had a reservation for 1 night and added a second because everything was perfect. Very... See full review

  • Sharo
  • Jul 8, 2014
At Motel 6 Traverse City enjoy modern room, pet friendly environment. Relax and enjoy Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. This location has a heated indoor swimming pool & hot tub open year round. Please contact the property for special discount rate.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Motel 6 Traverse City Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Dining

Dairy Queen
Adjacent to property.
Golden Chopsticks
Adjacent to property.
Hooters
Adjacent to property.
Little Ceasars Pizza
Adjacent to property.
Red Mesa Grill
Adjacent to property.
Bob Evans
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Clock
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Pizza Hut
Nearby 1/4 mile.
The Shack
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Wendys
Nearby 1/4 mile.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Traverse City

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nightmared newlywed
Business
Clearwater, FL
Jul 2, 2012

To be desired

Staff was friendly, but the management is horrible! I reserved a couple of rooms for some friends and family looking for a good deal for my wedding weekend. They would not let my sick mother into her room until I arrived with my credit card. I offered to pay over the phone and come in right away to show my I.D. and everything! She and my 15 year -old brother had to sit outside for an hour before I could speed over there. Then the bathrooms were disgusting! We had to ask for our own cleaners. This motel is NOT worth the savings. I suggest the Super 8 2 minutes down the road if you need to save a buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Memomom
Business
MI
Jun 25, 2012

Home for the weekend.

Would have loved a coffee maker, and a hair dryer. Bed comfort excellent! Nice and clean. Perfect for a busy horse show person who need a good sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

All sorts of fast food available close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steves121
Business
MI
Jun 11, 2012

not bad..

Not bad..Room was clean but floor was bit sticky..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Belvedere
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 4, 2012

Bargain Rates!

I recently stayed here for three nights during a business trip. I have nothing bad to say about the facility or staff at the motel. Though it is known as a lower-end chain, the room was clean and looked like it'd been recently updated with new floors and fixtures. If the room also had a mini-fridge and a coffee machine, I'd give it 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Red Mesa, located within walking distance of the hotel. Schelde's is a better bet for good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lyndsay
Business
Traverse City, MI, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Unhappy with 1-800 customer service

We had a horrible storm the night before and lost power. I booked this reservation around 10:30am and called the hotel to find out when I could check in. Nobody answered so I called the 1-800 and they said the hotel was up and running and the reason why they didn't answer was because they were busy. After driving 20 min to check in...the hotel didn't have power. It would of have been nice for the 1-800 to know there hotel wasn't even open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pizzadad333
Business
Grand Rapids
Dec 19, 2011

Not a bad experience

The motel was not a bad experience, would like to have a continental breakfast but not bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedCustomer
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Waste of money- JUST SAY NO!

I was drawn to this hotel because of the cheap price, but I might as well have slept in my car. Problems: -Dirty, dirty, DIRTY rooms >Dirt and dust on floor and dresser >Weird beetle things on ceiling -Cheap, extremely uncomfortable furnishings >Really hard mattress >Flat pillows -Dirty pool and spa area >greenish water -Poor service >You're greeted by an empty desk with a sign instructing you to call a number for service > The desk area is completely closed off at 11pm and doesn't open until 7 or so in the morning, so you have no way of checking out or getting assistance until then Good things: -It was in Grand Traverse, close to shopping -It was cheap ***And the real kicker: there were other, BETTER places to stay in the same area for the same price or CHEAPER I hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For Black Friday shopping, we waited until 1am to head out, so we didn't have to deal with all of the rude, pushy people and lines at the popular stores. Waiting just an extra hour made for an excellent shopping experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blk Friday shopper
Business
Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Jun 13, 2011

Good place to get some sleep

Regular Black Friday shopper. This is an excellent place to stay if you just want to get some sleep to get ready for the next shopping trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cherry City Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PowderSki
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Feb 16, 2011

Scary gross hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

I stay at a dozen or more hotels a year. This is the WORST hotel I ever stayed at. My girlfriend walks into the bathroom and there were "curly hairs" on the edge of the tub. The walls were paper-thin as I could hear the neighbors come in at 2am and snore all night long. (I got 15 minutes of sleep before a day of skiing) The motel shares a parking lot with a scary "rent by the month hotel". (I think this hotel does the same) The pool and hot tub were filled with yellow water. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eaton Rapids, MI
Jul 26, 2010

Good value in Traverse city

Overall a very good hotel for the price. I would stay there again. Very good location and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top