$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Motel 6 Traverse City

1 star
View map of 1582 US 31 North, US-31, 50 miles west of I-75, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Traverse City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momma NJ
Business
Grawn, MI
Apr 8, 2013

Cheap room. I guess you get what you bargained for.

I can't complain too much, because this room cost only $39.99 a night....but it wasn't the best. The room was very sparse with harsh fluorescent lighting. Only two flat pillows on the bed and thin blankets made it not the most comfortable night. However, it was super cheap, so it serves a purpose when just needing someplace to crash for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lauren Meridith
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 12, 2013

Gross

This hotel was disgusting. The room had not been cleaned. The under sheet to the bed was paper thin, and didn't even tuck under the mattress. The shower was rusty, and there was no shampoo. Instead it was offered in the vending machine for $2. The door to the room would not shut all the way, and could not be locked. I tried contact staff, but there was no one ever at the front desk or answering the phones. I am not snobby, and don't mind an economy hotel, but this was the grossest place I have ever stayed in, and I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandy rae
Business
Alma, MI
Feb 11, 2013

You get what you pay for

This hotel is bare bones. It's a bed and a shower, do not expect more than that. The decor is very institutional and not very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommyofeight
Business
Flint Mi
Jan 21, 2013

Cheap and Clean

nothing special but for the price great deal pool and spa were clean rooms clean the only downfall was tons of young kids parting there the first night we stayed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bsmith8175
Business
Traverse City Michigan
Nov 14, 2012

Motel 6, Traverse City

Although the place was clean, it was not very comfortable. The bed sounded like I was sleeping on crushed pop cans. There were tiny pack of shampoo in the room and that was it for toiletries. I was not expecting much and certainly did not get much but at least the place was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Red Mesa Grill

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Freddyyy
Business
Kalamazoo
Nov 5, 2012

Off season visit

Everything was very good here. Staff was very helpful when we needed anything. I called ahead to ask for a ground level room, and they were very good about this. Coffee was hot in the morning. THX We will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice Brewerys within a couple of miles. Always good people good food in Traverse City Liked the Iceman race toooo.

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jerry driscoll
Business
canton, mi. 48188
Oct 15, 2012

traverse trip 2012

Rooms have been nicely updatede with newer and flat screen tv's. The entrance is not very welcoming with no one at the counter. Considering that other rooms were going for double the price, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shorts brewery in Belaire was a beatiful drive and a pleasant dining experience

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KNMI
Business
Michigan
Sep 23, 2012

Affordable Weekend Stay

The only toiletries in the room were a couple of bars of handsoap. I did not take shampoo/ conditioner/ lotion/ a hairdryer with me because I assumed they would be available in the room. I called down to the front desk to ask for them. They had a hairdryer I could use and a sample packet of anti-dandruff shampoo (not because I requested anti-dandruff shampoo, but because that was the only kind they had.) No conditioner. I ended up going with out washing my hair. Had I known they would not have had toiletries available, I would have brought my own. They should let people know this somehow. Other than that, the hotel ticked all of the boxes for a wine tasting weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chateau Chantal has an excellent seven course wine dinner. It is not available every night, so you have to chack their website if you interested in going.

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not Picky
Business
Green Bay, Wi
Sep 16, 2012

No frills stay

Absolutely no frills with this motel. No morning breakfast of any kind, no kleenix tissue, only a very small tv. Stayed 2 nights, Thursday was reasonable but Friday was $30 more for the same room with the same ameneties. Probably could have found a motel with atleast continental breakfast for less or same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
topdogg
Business
midland, michigan
Sep 15, 2012

Location, location, location

might not be the perfect place to stay, but it's clean, staff are friendly, and the location is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several dining spots close by

Back to menu Return to top