$34 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Motel 6 Traverse City

1 star
1582 US 31 North, US-31, 50 miles west of I-75, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
78 reviews
Worked great for our needs

It was in a perfect location for us. Also I really appreciate that is has been updated and and in... See full review

  • cje1026
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great stay

We had a reservation for 1 night and added a second because everything was perfect. Very... See full review

  • Sharo
  • Jul 8, 2014
At Motel 6 Traverse City enjoy modern room, pet friendly environment. Relax and enjoy Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. This location has a heated indoor swimming pool & hot tub open year round. Please contact the property for special discount rate.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Motel 6 Traverse City Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Dining

Dairy Queen
Adjacent to property.
Golden Chopsticks
Adjacent to property.
Hooters
Adjacent to property.
Little Ceasars Pizza
Adjacent to property.
Red Mesa Grill
Adjacent to property.
Bob Evans
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Clock
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Pizza Hut
Nearby 1/4 mile.
The Shack
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Wendys
Nearby 1/4 mile.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Traverse City

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adfgh
Business
Milwaukee
Sep 10, 2013

Great place

This was a nice place at a great price close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stormang
Business
Traverse City Mi.
Sep 2, 2013

Terrible value

This was the worst value I have ever had at almost any hotel !!Not even a clock in the room, no facial tissue, no lamp, no amenities at all. Very cheap laminate flooring that was filthy. no drawers, One tiny cubby hole as a closet, the bathroom sink did not drain well, upon checking into our room the air conditioner had been set on 60 degrees. the night clerk had NO personality. However the day shift Cathy was as accommodating as she could be and very apologetic. The price with no coffee, shampoo, or even facial tissue was very bad! we were compt for one night due to the lack of cleanliness. I will not choose this hotel again ! A very unhappy customer !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
m a c d m b
Business
White Cloud, MI
Aug 21, 2013

Bedbug

I'm didn't expect much staying at a Hotel 6, but I definitely didn't expect to find a bedbug in the bed next to me!!! It was 2:30am when my boyfriend woke up from not feeling well and I noticed it out of the corner of my eye. We googled it, and to my horror, it was a bedbug! I immediately went to the office to try to notify the office staff and it was closed. The phone used for contacting staff after hours rang and rang and we were unable to contact anyone until morning. Not that I could sleep after that, but if I didn't find the bedbug it wouldn't have been easy anyway because the beds were incredibly hard. I did notice though, while pulling up every sheet on both beds looking for more bedbugs, that the mattresses were fairly new. The hotel had actually been recently renovated with new flooring, beds and paint not too long ago, but it was poorly done and looks cobbled together, in my opinion. Don't expect any amenities here either. Although I know that bedbugs can end up anywhere, I will never stay at this hotel again. I will say though, the hotel did refund our room stay and once they were informed of the bedbug (we saved it in a cup for them), they called the room and asked that I let them know when we were leaving so they could call someone in to clear the room. They told my boyfriend they were going to contact the insurance company to ensure they would get the problem taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gail1971
Business
ravenna, mi
Aug 19, 2013

Family getaway

It was a nice hotel, but there is a run down hotel on each side of it. It would have been nicer if there was a coffee pot in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The casino is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darkgray
Business
Traverse City, Michigan
Aug 4, 2013

What a great deal

This was a last minute decision on my part and I was very glad to get a room at a really good rate. This was a great room, and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roadtriper13
Business
UP, Michigan
May 7, 2013

quick escape

Since the renovations, the rooms are much nicer - a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elle Kay
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 15, 2013

Excellent Value, Convenient Location

This hotel was clean and moderately comfortable, especially for the price. It is in a very good location for getting around town. We didn't spend a lot of daylight hours in the room, but it was a nice clean place to sleep. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to North Peak Brewery for some of the best food in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momma NJ
Business
Grawn, MI
Apr 8, 2013

Cheap room. I guess you get what you bargained for.

I can't complain too much, because this room cost only $39.99 a night....but it wasn't the best. The room was very sparse with harsh fluorescent lighting. Only two flat pillows on the bed and thin blankets made it not the most comfortable night. However, it was super cheap, so it serves a purpose when just needing someplace to crash for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lauren Meridith
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 12, 2013

Gross

This hotel was disgusting. The room had not been cleaned. The under sheet to the bed was paper thin, and didn't even tuck under the mattress. The shower was rusty, and there was no shampoo. Instead it was offered in the vending machine for $2. The door to the room would not shut all the way, and could not be locked. I tried contact staff, but there was no one ever at the front desk or answering the phones. I am not snobby, and don't mind an economy hotel, but this was the grossest place I have ever stayed in, and I will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandy rae
Business
Alma, MI
Feb 11, 2013

You get what you pay for

This hotel is bare bones. It's a bed and a shower, do not expect more than that. The decor is very institutional and not very welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top