$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Motel 6 Traverse City

1 star
View map of 1582 US 31 North, US-31, 50 miles west of I-75, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
80 reviews
Did the right thing

I gave them 5* because we had a what I believe to be an isolated issue and they made it right. It’s... See full review

  • MGM461
  • Mar 24, 2015
Worked great for our needs

It was in a perfect location for us. Also I really appreciate that is has been updated and and in... See full review

  • cje1026
  • Jul 25, 2014
At Motel 6 Traverse City enjoy modern room, pet friendly environment. Relax and enjoy Free Wi-Fi in all rooms. This location has a heated indoor swimming pool & hot tub open year round. Please contact the property for special discount rate.

Motel 6 Traverse City Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Dining

Dairy Queen
Adjacent to property.
Golden Chopsticks
Adjacent to property.
Hooters
Adjacent to property.
Little Ceasars Pizza
Adjacent to property.
Red Mesa Grill
Adjacent to property.
Bob Evans
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Clock
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Pizza Hut
Nearby 1/4 mile.
The Shack
Nearby 1/4 mile.
Wendys
Nearby 1/4 mile.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Traverse City

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adfgh
Milwaukee
Sep 10, 2013

Great place

This was a nice place at a great price close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MGM461
Business
South Haven
Mar 24, 2015

Did the right thing

I gave them 5* because we had a what I believe to be an isolated issue and they made it right. It’s rare when you’re at an establishment and they take accountability for mistakes. I understand mistakes happen nobody is perfect, but own it and fix it which they did, thank you. The check in was a breeze and the attendants were very welcoming and helpful, very nice young men. I read some of the reviews and the negative comments about the staff I didn’t see that at all. For the facility itself it’s in a great location close and convenient to attractions and services. The rooms are very nice with comfy beds, clean newer bathrooms and all the amenities you would expect from a more pricy establishment (i.e. Flat screen TV, nice size newer fridge, Ect). There is an older but nice well kept indoor pool and hot tub which was nice, kind of surprising for a value priced hotel. The grounds are nothing fancy but have plenty of parking and kept clean. All and all we enjoyed are stay and we will defiantly be coming back and look forward to staying. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori C.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Better than a 1 star

I originally stayed here because of the price well I can't tell you how pleasantly surprised I was with the location and the room. I don't know why it's listed as a 1 star. I travel to Traverse City often for my doctors and I now have a new motel to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betsey Bad
Business
Michigan
Aug 26, 2014

something to be desired

I had to pick up the phone at the service counter to call someone to check me in. That was my first sign it may not be a quality stay. There were dried flowers under the desk in the room, leading me to believe the room may not have been cleaned very well. And I think the most upsetting factor was that there wasn't even a coffee pot in the room. That could have made the whole experience better, if I had just had some coffee available. Even bad coffee. Just something. What kind of hotel/motel doesn't have coffee in the room? Maybe I have just been spoiled in the past, but coffee in the room could have gotten them a better rating in my book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr Music
Business
Florida
Aug 20, 2014

Close it down!

Wow...talk about "basic" Poor accommodations. Very uncomfortable. Made me complete a form with address , e-mail, telephone etc??!!! Whats that all about? Been travelling for 35 plus years,. NEVER had to do that! Lock was broken. Had to change rooms. Cancelled second day and went to Best Western. Paid more BUT much more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beemon
Business
Ssm, on
Aug 8, 2014

Average family getaway

You pretty much get what you pay for but I thought it might have been a little over priced for the service we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Clinch park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grand Rapids Family
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 29, 2014

Motel 6

Upon the first night, late night out so couldn't inspect the room. But when we finally got in bed, it was disgusting, full of sand and hair, so gross I couldn't sleep. The next morning I told the hotel front desk and they changed the sheets for the next night I was there. Point is it should of already been done!?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

half a mile south, tons of very nice places to eat and drink

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xyxxcx
Business
Ann Arbor
Jul 27, 2014

Basic motel

An OK basic motel. The room needs a clock and kleenex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cje1026
Business
Lansing, Mi.
Jul 25, 2014

Worked great for our needs

It was in a perfect location for us. Also I really appreciate that is has been updated and and in the rooms there is no carpet which I think is really great, so I don't feel like I am staying with toenail clippings and hair for previous guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Mesa Grill really close and also Cottage, has excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trulalu
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 21, 2014

No Housekeeping

We were only there for 2 nights, but housekeeping never came even after I spoke to them briefly as we left the room for the day. When I told the evening (manager?), at first she was not willing to help; her attitude bordered on being rude. She told me housekeeping was gone for the day, etc. After speaking to her for a few minutes, she offered to bring towels and ultimately ended up helping by making one of the beds. The room was cleaner & brighter than I expected for a Motel 6, but I'm not sure we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jolly Pumpkin on the Old Mission Peninsula was VERY nice. They are a restaurant, winery, brewery & distillery. Not a big fan of wine or beer, I was happy to find a tasting room that serves liquor too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharo
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 8, 2014

Great stay

We had a reservation for 1 night and added a second because everything was perfect. Very comfortable beds, super clean and a great pool and whirlpool. Sharon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bay View All homemade bread.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top