$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
63 reviews
Michigan autumn trip

The hotel was easy to find, clean and comfortable - a pleasant surprise for the price. See full review

  • John in Columbus Ohio
  • Oct 11, 2014
Winter weekend

Very clean and comfortable. Close to town and activities See full review

  • Warm Blooded
  • Mar 10, 2014
Centrally located Traverse City hotel ideal for vacationing families

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 63
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frugal family travelers
Business
michigan
Jun 13, 2012

graduation party weekend

the staff was courteous and friendly. the room was neat . there are some things i would like to mention. the entry to the rooms is from the outside. the lobby is small and the continental breakfast is basic. the pool area is nice but it's outside. my husband went to the office around 11:00 at night to get some information and the front desk/lobby was closed and the lights were off so we had to wait until the following morning. it's a clean, cheap, no frills place to stay the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jdub55
Business
Lansing
Oct 9, 2011

Traverse City getaway

Howard Johnson, nice location just minutes away from downtown Traverse and not far from many of City's travel spots, rooms were clean and fixtures were in good shape, as hotel has had a recent update. Only thing that might be added is one or two chairs in room. Beds were a little high and made it a bit of a challege to tie shoes in morning. I would visit here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jules B
Business
Hope, MI 48628, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Perfect short stay

We were very pleased with our stay here and we felt we got our moneys worth & my cousin stated the same. It was just what we needed for a quick stay in Traverse City. The rooms were very clean and spacious for four people. The breakfast was a bonus as my sisters stayed at different hotel and paid more with no breakfast included. The breakfast room has a very welcoming feel to it and is a nice place to eat or hang out. One amenity I can think of that is lacking is a pool, but I knew that when I registered, and it was not a going to be a long stay. The remodeling stills feels and looks new, .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mt. Holiday is an affordable and convenient place to ski/snowboard, especially for beginners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickname already taken
Business
North Carolina
Jun 25, 2012

A good value and clean

Motor inn, recently updated with new bathrooms and flat screen TVs. A drive or long walk to the waterfront and downtown Traverse City restaurants. A good value and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpa MJ
Business
Traverse City, Mi
Jan 13, 2013

ho jos

Staff was very polite n helpful. Room was modern n clean overall stay was great. I will stay there if going to TC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newaygo, MI
Aug 6, 2011

Great time

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was updated and our room was really nice. The kids liked the pool and enjoyed breakfast in the morning. The free wi-fi didn't work in our room and we were told they were working on it. Besides that it was a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gun Lake, MI
Aug 5, 2011

lots of space in room

Beds are comfortable, bathroom with new step-in shower very clean, staff was friendly and supporting, breakfast was enough to get you started, rooms have plenty of floor space. For the money I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krispy48651
Business
Houghton Lake, MI
Nov 8, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Howard Johnson's

We needed a place to stay for a couple nights while I was having surgery. We had stayed here before when it was the Heritage House. I didn't plan to go back. But the price was right, the whole place was remodeled, including adding a two story breakfast room with a beautiful fireplace. The breakfast was your usual fare, nothing spectacular, but was very convienient. We had a room with two queen beds and couldn't have been happier, especially for the price. Thanks Ho Jo's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warm Blooded
Business
Naples, Florida
Mar 10, 2014

Winter weekend

Very clean and comfortable. Close to town and activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top