$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
61 reviews
Winter weekend

Very clean and comfortable. Close to town and activities See full review

  • Warm Blooded
  • Mar 10, 2014
awesome stay!

Wonderful stay, very clean room and lobby. Just wish they had a bigger continental breakfast. See full review

  • saatkinson88
  • Jan 28, 2014
Centrally located Traverse City hotel ideal for vacationing families

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

44.7601 -85.5814
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 61
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3
Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 26, 2008

Assigned room was sub par

The desk person noted the great rate received for the stay and may have assigned the room accordingly. As I opened the door, I noticed a bullet size hole through the door directly above the lock. Upon entering the room, I found myself walking through spider webs. The room is a non smoking room and it smelled musty. Another small hole was through the ceiling above the table and a larger hole in the toilet area. The air conditioning / heating unit is a poorly install window unit with daylight visible around it. During the 2 night stay, I killed several spiders and a few other insects residing there. The wireless internet service didn't exist. The desk clerk apologized at check-in that television remotes were not in rooms because they had not arrived yet. This room literally stunk, even as just a place to sleep. Don't accept room # 122.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fire hawk
Business
St Ignace, MI, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Nice little motel

Very clean room. Was like an upgraded mom and pop run motel. Front desk staff polite. Only problems I had was the tv remote didn't work and al the buttons wore off the heat controler, and no instructions on how to work it. Kindda a guessing game for climate comfort. But other than those minor things a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guangzhou china
Mar 13, 2011

good

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tasha1123
Business
Saginaw, MI, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better room for theis value!

I was coming to town for a job prospect. I booked my room the day before and was so excited to get a king room for 31.00. When I arrived in town they had just had a huge snow storm and power was out in many places. The Howard Johnson still had power but no wifi or cable. I was lucky to get a room at this price before the rooms were sold out! The room was super clean and the bed was so comfy! We will definitely stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harringtons steak and seafood ! Awesome steak and yummy raspberry creme' brûlée ! You have to try it!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search