$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAH2000
Business
Blanchard
Aug 12, 2013

Great location and friendly staff!

We were lucky to find a room in TC for a quick getaway weekend! The location was great and the front desk staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean and quiet. Nothing fancy but very adequate for what we needed. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location if it's the wine tour you are interested in!

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jody loves T.C.
Business
adrian, mi
Aug 31, 2013

vacation

The staff was wonderful, anything we needed they provided with a smile. Very courteous. I will definitely stay here again. Very affordable, clean, and close to downtown area. Loved our stay! The only thing they could do better is to make more coffee in the morning, especially around 8:45-9:00. They kept running out. But that seemed minor compared to the great service and smiles we received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sleeping bear dunes & the Leelanau peninsula. Very close by.

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick The Villan
Business
Michigan
Sep 7, 2013

Great Value !

Hotel has been re-modeled and is an excellent value ! centrally located but will have to drive 5 minutes to downtown - Would stay here again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krispy48651
Business
Houghton Lake, MI
Nov 6, 2013

Great Purchase, Great Price

We stayed at this hotel long before Howard Johnson took over this place. Great upgrades on the rooms and the addition of the breakfast room are fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many places to dine in Traverse City!

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheOtherBrooke
Business
East Lansing, Michigan
Nov 20, 2013

Great Value

Good location, just a short drive from downtown. Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comforable with a coffee maker and mini fridge, very nice shower. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb loves traveling
Business
Warren, Michigan
Dec 2, 2013

Comfy clean room and nice staff made for a great value.

Comfortable bed and modern shower at a great price. Checked in late and was greeted by friendly staff and an offer of a fresh cup of hot coffee or tea. Our room looked like no one had ever stayed there before. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable room, this is the place. If you are looking for a big breakfast buffet and more amenities, then you'll need to spend more money and go elsewhere. Thanks for a great nights sleep, we'll be back to stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check online with the Old Mission wineries, they offer several events during the off season. We had a great time at the Great Macaroni & Cheese Bake-Off.

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Full Time RVer
Business
United States
Dec 25, 2013

remodeled area

We stayed in the newly remodeled area It's fine, but during the stay, the second bed had old sheets, the sink was loose and the tiled shower puddles water (all construction and maid). The front staff was great as well as the location. We would and probably will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping in downtown Traverse City is fun. Lots of Up North places as well as great wineries, bars, breweries, and lots of Good Eats.

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

Nice for the $

This hotel was clean and centrally located, the staff was reasonable. It was a lil on the high side for amenities offered. But the stay was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food of all sorts w/ in walking

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guangzhou china
Mar 13, 2011

good

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big rapids, mi
Aug 11, 2011

Girls trip

Hotel was very nice and clean as it just been remodeled. Front desk clerk was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top