$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb loves traveling
Business
Warren, Michigan
Dec 2, 2013

Comfy clean room and nice staff made for a great value.

Comfortable bed and modern shower at a great price. Checked in late and was greeted by friendly staff and an offer of a fresh cup of hot coffee or tea. Our room looked like no one had ever stayed there before. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable room, this is the place. If you are looking for a big breakfast buffet and more amenities, then you'll need to spend more money and go elsewhere. Thanks for a great nights sleep, we'll be back to stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check online with the Old Mission wineries, they offer several events during the off season. We had a great time at the Great Macaroni & Cheese Bake-Off.

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Full Time RVer
Business
United States
Dec 25, 2013

remodeled area

We stayed in the newly remodeled area It's fine, but during the stay, the second bed had old sheets, the sink was loose and the tiled shower puddles water (all construction and maid). The front staff was great as well as the location. We would and probably will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping in downtown Traverse City is fun. Lots of Up North places as well as great wineries, bars, breweries, and lots of Good Eats.

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

Nice for the $

This hotel was clean and centrally located, the staff was reasonable. It was a lil on the high side for amenities offered. But the stay was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food of all sorts w/ in walking

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guangzhou china
Mar 13, 2011

good

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big rapids, mi
Aug 11, 2011

Girls trip

Hotel was very nice and clean as it just been remodeled. Front desk clerk was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newaygo, MI
Aug 6, 2011

Great time

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was updated and our room was really nice. The kids liked the pool and enjoyed breakfast in the morning. The free wi-fi didn't work in our room and we were told they were working on it. Besides that it was a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gun Lake, MI
Aug 5, 2011

lots of space in room

Beds are comfortable, bathroom with new step-in shower very clean, staff was friendly and supporting, breakfast was enough to get you started, rooms have plenty of floor space. For the money I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshasue1
Business
Bay City
Jul 25, 2014

Nice stay, good value

Our room was clean but had a heavy cleaner smell. Beds comfortable. Convenient Traverse City location. Good value for that town in the summer. Limited breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Full Time RVer
Business
Sioux Falls
Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Trip

This is the second year we have stayed in this hotel while in the area visiting relatives during the Holidays. The staff and room were as nice as last year. I suspect its the Summer crowd that gives this a low rating because its really a deal for the money and area and time of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Livin out f the bag
Business
royal oak
Jan 18, 2015

1 NIGHT GET AWAY

This place gives you the value for your money. The lady at the front desk was very fiendly. Upgraded our room at no extra cost. Ignore the swimming pool, it is practically non-existent (unless you are willing to plunge into dried leaves and mud in the water.) Overall, good experience. Breakfast is the standard free breakfast you get with hotel stays - cereal, milk, bread, bagels, orange juice, coffee. Nothing out of the box.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top